We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good rooms and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palacio del Mar
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Santander
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“good rooms and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel needs refurbishment to be brought up to standards but it is clean, spacious and good service. It is a bit far from bars at night but it is 5 minutes and 5 euros taxi away. It is just outside the football stadium and close to the sardinero beach.The decor at the bar is outdate to a more modern views. Rooms are ok, outdate perhaps but good. Price was not bad at all and it is quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    65
    62
    33
    24
See reviews for
63
78
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went with a little apprehension after reading the reviews. We were so happy we chose this hotel as everything about it was great! Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, the waiter in the downstairs bar was fantastic his name was Augustine, after the first night he had the glasses and Rioja waiting for my husband and cousin before we reached the bottom of the stairs! The bus service from near the hotel was so convenient €1.20 wherever you wanted to go. We took the bus into town centre and a taxi back twice a day for the total of €21 a day for four. The restaurants/cafes were brilliant. Tasty Santander was a cafe in the shopping centre area, we had 8 small ciabatta rolls with chicken mayo and cheese and ham, large portion of nachos with three sauces, 2 large beers 2 fresh orange and cola light all for €21!! Evening meals we ate in the town at different restaurants but one in particular was called Alaska very clean and good basic food, steak and chips chicken toasted sandwiches etc. again reasonably priced. The staff everywhere we went were so friendly. Very little British people it was mostly Spanish. Locals and visitors. We have stayed in 5 star hotels in London and there was dust and quite worn carpets. The room in palacio del mar 315 (ours) 311(my cousin) were massive we had a huge bathroom and separate toilet with bidet, two separate doors to the balcony, the comfiest beds ever, spotless towels, minibar was so reasonable we had orange juice, 2 colas, 2 waters and were charged under €10. We paid under £60 per couple per night, okay the carpets and curtains could be replaced but for that money what do some people expect? In today's monetary climate I'm in no doubt there are thousands of properties in Santander and all over the world that could be renovated but if they are clean and comfortable surely that's the most important thing? I'm sure if we had been short of shampoo, shower gel etc they would have given us more? However most people normally take there own anyway? I would definately go back to Santander and would have no hesitation in booking palacio del mar again. As for the air con we never had any need for it as in October the temperature was perfect.

Room Tip: A corner room, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauBell60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I fully agree with the last comment. This place is called a Palace? What a joke! Place needs s revamp quick, service is mediocre, breakfast? The worst we have encountered!, it is not properly located, far away from most tourist sites. Place is clean, rooms are good size, but this hotel doesn't deserve more than one star.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santander hotels

Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Let's keep to the basics based on a two night stay in mid May, 2113:
Rooms: Large with a surprisingly cramped bathroom. No English TV channels. Clean tile floors ( no carpet). No refills for shampoo or soap.
Hallways: Dark, stained and worn carpeting.
AC: they don't turn the AC on until June; do not know when they turn on the heat!
Staff: helpful but they did not speak much English.
Common rooms: The lobby was decorated with Toreador suits and animal prints. The lounge was filed with African taxidermy -- elephant head, zebra skins, and antelope skulls.
Breakfast: edible but modest and poorly presented.
Elevators: Two elevators. Only one in service the majority of time. NONE in service for several evening hors one night.
Location: about a 4Euro cab ride to the city center. About a ten minute walk to the northern end of the beach.
To describe this as a three star hotel is generous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very large comfortable rooms. Easily reached by bus from the centre of town - bus number 1 which takes the scenic route to the hotel. Otherwise you can take bus C1/6 (quick route) from outside the town hall to the hotel. The gym facilities are good and are located just behind the hotel. There is a bar (just behind the hotel) which has music and salsa dancing at the weekend. Breakfast is primarily continental, for a fraction of the B&B cost we would suggest taking breakfast elsewhere. The beach is a 5 minute stroll away. Restaurants tend to open at 2100 hrs including the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: High floor for a chance of a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewardess56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had trouble finding it as we only had a sat nav and it didn't show on it. Eventually a kind policeman gave a map and directions. From the outside the hotel looked a bit grim, but inside it was delightful. The receptionist was friendly and the room was much more than expected. In fact it was a suite. It was a pity we couldn't stay longer, but had to catch a ferry the next day. The only downside was when we went down to the bar it was very cold and almost empty so we decided to go out and find somewhere for a drink and to eat. Breakfast was totally self service with plenty of choice. The ferry was about 10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#16 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio del Mar

Property: Hotel Palacio del Mar
Address: Avenida Cantabria 5 | El Sardinero, 39012 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive hotel lies just 150 m from Santanders famous Sardinero Beach. Its luxurious, spacious rooms can accommodate up to 5 people.Communal areas at the Sercotel Suite Hotel Palacio del Mar are stylish and inviting - providing the perfect place to sit and chat with friends or business associates. Enjoy evenings in the piano bar which has an African theme, creating a unique atmosphere for your visit to Cantabria. Meanwhile, the on-site restaurant allows you to dine in a maritime-themed setting.As a hotel guest, you enjoy free access to the adjacent sports centre. Work out in the centres gym, spend a session in the sauna and take a dip in the covered swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palacio del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Del Mar Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing