We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just arrived - impressions not good!”
Review of Silken Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silken Rio Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Room with sea view - yes - but soooo small can't fit in 2 people and 2 cases. Verandah - hmmmm - so small one person can fit on it if they stand sideways and breath in.
Asked for larger room.
Nope!
Staff give service with a snarl.
The guest room on the website that we though we were getting is actually a 'mini suite' and if you want it it is rather a lot of extra euros per night. Was so cross decided not to eat at hotel or give them any other custom.
Would suggest you avoid this place. There seem to be lots of other hotels near here, not all of them can be like this!
PS - parking - they suggest paid in next block, but there is free parking out the front of the hotel. Seems to be OK. Will probably find wheel clamped tomorrow!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms all seem to be smaller than the others, and only have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowshopperAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Customer,

Our rooms are divided between standard rooms and junior suite rooms. Obviously, these rooms are larger and more luxurious so the price is a little higher.

We regret you did not enjoy our restaurant because the food and service are excellent.

About parking, we can not guarantee the security of your car but, I must say, we've never had any problems of this type. In any case we have a garage available to customers who need it.

We hope to welcome you again,

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 603 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and my husband have stayed at Silken Rio hotel for 4 days. The location is unbeatable with stunning views of Sardinero beach, so make sure you ask for a room overlooking the ocean. The people at the reception were very polite and helpul and we were satisfied by the service provided. The room had a nice size and the bed was comfortable. One minor issue was that the hotel doesn't have double beds in the rooms overlooking the ocean, but we didn't mind as the twin beds were adjacent to each other. The room was spotless clean and the cleaning staff meticulous. The bathroom had a nice size and was fully equipped with bath tab, hair dryer (dental and shaving kits were also offered).

The breakfast was rich and included choices that could satisfy anyone, ranging from classic milk and cereals to more traditional spanish taste like iberian ham. Scrabled eggs, bacon, cooked vegetables, yogurt, fruits, juices and desserts were also available.
The food in the hotel restaurant is first class. We had a delicious three course dinner with memorable desserts (treats for both the mouth and the eyes).

The city centre is within walking distance (half an hour) but buses are also available (we didn't use them).
A drawback was the slow internet in the room (you couldn't watch a youtube video without interruption).

Overall a very nice experience. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greekguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por sus excelentes comentarios acerca de nuestras instalaciones y servicios. Como bien dice, merece la pena reservar una habitación con vistas al mar, ya que el paisaje es de lo más espectacular a la par que relajante.

Nuestro desayuno es muy variado e intentamos que la oferta sea ámplia para poder satisfacer los gustos de todos nuestros clientes.

En el restaurante también cuidamos todos los detalles y nuestra carta mantiene una relación calidad-precio muy buena.

Es cierto que no nos encontramos en el centro de la ciudad pero, como bien habrán podido comprobar, el servicio de autobuses funciona muy bien y con mucha frecuencia.

En cuanto al tema del wifi comentarle que nuestro servicio de conexión gratuito funciona correctamente para aplicaciones sencillas, navegar por internet, etc. Si usted desea ver videos o hacer video conferencias puede solicitar nuestro wifi Premium que dispone de un ancho de banda mayor y es especial para esos casos.

Esperamos, como no, volver a verles muy pronto en nuestro establecimiento.
Un cordial saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. What a beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of the city. We had a room overlooking the ocean (Rm 207). Fabulous view with the soothing sound of the surf. Our room was very good size, extremely comfortable, great linens, comfortable bed. Big bathroom, too! Very nice reception staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel so you will have a view. The "07" rooms seem a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your best opinions about our hotel.

Thank you very much for recommend us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is situated opposite the beach and we had beautiful views across the bay.It is very clean with good size rooms. There is a bus stop very close with lots of buses which take you to the centre for the shops or restaurants.The hotel staff are extremely helpful and explained what we could see and do on our short visit. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we had no problem using the free wifi. We did however think that the prices of the drinks in the rooms minbar were far too expensive

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the beach but high enough to not be disturbed by the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your best opinions about our hotel. No doubt we'll be seeing you soon.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The lovely view is the main attraction of this hotel. The facilities are nice enough, and much better value for money than San Sebastian. The only drawback was the fact that they gave a couple two single beds, claiming that none of the ocean view rooms (for which one pays a premium) have double beds, which is not the best for couples.

Room Tip: The hotel staff tells us there are no ocean view rooms with double beds - don't bother paying ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our deluxe rooms have spectacular views of the beach of Sardinero but, as you said, they have all two singles beds together. No doubt that we will consider your suggestions for future hotel renovations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were in Santander for a friend's wedding, and stayed at the Silken Rio for 7 nights. We had a sea view room on the 5th floor and lovely weather - the views are fantastic. Helpful staff although as mentioned below the check-in process seems very slow compared to other places.

The breakfast was great, and it's very easy to get to the town centre on the bus (although we eat very well at some of the places close to the hotel too.)

The only downside for me was the terrible wi-fi - on the 5th floor at least it was impossible to access the hotel's network. As of July 12th this was still a problem - perhaps the hotel should check wi-fi access throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: The sea-view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphin599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Customer,

We are glad that your stay was satisfactory and you enjoyed the wonderful views offered our rooms.

We have just install a faster internet service which perfectly meets all the needs of our customers.

We hope that you could enjoy it on your next visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A great hotel with a view of the wide beach of the Bay of Biscay. The hotel's location is very convenient for exploring the historic city center, but there is no problem at all to get from him on the bus. We managed to get to the city center on foot the magnificent waterfront. In the surrounding there are attractions such as the Maritime Museum, the park on the peninsula of Magdalena with playgrounds and a small zoo, the palace in 1912, the summer residence of King Alfonso XIII, in which Santander has become a popular holiday resort. By no complaints about the room, confused one - too small, but very comfortable with a large bathroom. No breakfast, no lunch did not order, eat in the city. Very decent hotel. Advise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vadimbykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our hotel is located in the beaches zone, the best area in Santander but as you comment there are a lot of buses to go to the center town and there is also a lovely promenade if you want to go on food.

Our breakfast and our restaurant are really good so we invite you to check them in your next visit.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.5 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
689 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
450 reviews
1 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#6 of 32 in Santander
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Rio Hotel

Address: Avenida Reina Victoria 153 | Avenida Reina Victoria 153, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range: $45 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Rio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disfrute de las mas espectaculares vistas al mar Cantabrico a escasos 20 metros de las playas del Sardinero. El Hotel Silken Rio , ubicado en un edificio emblematico de arquitectura clasica, situado en el Paseo que une el centro historico y de negocios de la ciudad con la Plaza Italia , punto neuralgico del veraneo Santanderino . Hotel de 4 estrellas con 89 habitaciones redecoradas y Suites que reflejan el estilo senorial de la ciudad. Tanto el viajero de negocios como el que viene a disfrutar de la ciudad encontrara en la ubicacion del Hotel una situacion inmejorable , junto al Gran Casino , el Palacio de la Magdalena y muy cercano al Palacio de Congresos . El Restaurante, reconocido como uno de los mejores de la ciudad ofrece una cocina tradicional en un marco incomparable y exclusivo . WI-FI gratuito en todo el hotel, Cafeteria , Garaje a 200 metros , Salones para reuniones y celebraciones con luz natural y capacidad hasta 150 personas . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silken Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Rio Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing