We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Real
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Gloucester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with excellent views”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We (my husband, father and I) stayed here for one night in May 2014 on arrival in Santander after a ferry crossing from Portsmouth.

The hotel was easy to find (in fact, we could see it from the ferry when we were approaching Santander as it is situated on a hill overlooking the Sardinero beach area of Santander) and there is free parking on site.

The hotel was built in the early part of the 20th century, and it has been well maintained with many antiques, and although the hotel had modern lifts, we preferred to use the quaint old lift, though it was a bit of squeeze with our luggage!

Lara, the lady on check in, was very friendly and helpful and check in was very effiicient.

We were allocated a large room on the 1st floor with a balcony overlooking palm trees, the gardens and the sea. There was a double bed for my husband and me and a single bed for my father.

We had a large bathroom with a toilet, bidet, sinks and an excellent over bath shower. There was a good range of toiletries and a hairdryer, which I did not use, as I always take my own.

Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast the next morning was taken in a very light and airy room on the lower ground floor, which led on to the gardens. There was an excellent choice of foods and plenty to eat, with the staff constantly replenishing the dishes when they became empty. There was also delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, which was very refreshing. The waiting staff were very friendly and gave service with a smile.

We had an excellent dinner in the very sophisticated dining room at the hotel. There was a wide choice of items on the menu and a good wine list. The service was, of course, impeccable yet friendly.

The hotel has spa faciities, but we did not use them so are unable to comment.

We shall definitely stay at this hotel again, should we ever go back to Santander. Therefore, anybody arriving into Santander from the ferry from Portsmouth who wants to stay in a beautiful hotel and made to feel special, then look no further than the Eurostars Real Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room wigth a balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    277
    125
    49
    41
See reviews for
149
451
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 326, large room, good size bathroom, balcony with a sea view. The service was good and staff helpful. The building is a vestige of a past era and probably struggling to keep up the appearances, still the room comes complete with a choice of 4 types of pillows. It would have been the perfect stay had we had been given the advertised wifi! Other minor down side was there is no kettle in the room which isn't a continental thing to have but this time I missed it. Although, there is a restaurant in the hotel it was rather pricey but the terrace is inviting had it been warmer! Green, leafy neighbourhood in a quiet part of town, about 20mins to the old quarters.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank delphine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a pet friendly room and enjoyed being upgraded to a room with a sea view. Staff were very friendly and nothing was any bother to them. The room was spacious and clean with a large bed. We had a good nights sleep. Pity we only stayed one night as we would have enjoyed more. Hotel is set in a nice residential area.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a lovely classical hotel in the old style on the top of the hill overlooking the town. So lovely in every way. There is a bar/lounge where you can order an early simple meal, an English tea and mixed drinks. The bedroom, bath and public rooms were all restored in the nicest of ways and made us feel we were living a luxurious life style. The beautiful grounds were well kept. What a pleasure this place is. If you do go down the hill into town, you may want to take a taxi up the hill on your return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Hotel Real is how good hotels used to be. A great location with views on three sides, the hotel oozes old style charm and comfort. We had a dog friendly room, very comfortably furnished with brown furniture. We didn't eat in the restaurant but indulged in what my wife thinks of as greater luxury-room service. The bar was a haven of quiet and comfort. Breakfast was fine, although coffee came out of a machine. The large surrounding garden and being located in a residential area assured peace and quiet.
The only negative was that in the morning, the hot water was just tepid-too cold for a bath or shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fupi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Real no more than a month ago, while enjoying a short weekend trip coming from Bilbao. The hotel itself is perfectly located, with easy access to all major touristic attractions in Santander. The rooms are big, clean and perfectly optimized to ensure 100% comfort; the beds are also big and very comfortable. We felt at home! And not to mention the view! If you plan on booking a room at Hotel Real, be sure to ask for a superior floor room with view over the bay or sea view. It's breathtaking! The staff was extremely friendly and willing to help with everything we needed. We had a perfect getaway and we'll be returning there for sure in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior floor room with view over the bay or sea view. It's breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at hotel real on our way back to cartagena , the hotel is in a lovely spot and the view from our room was stunning ,the room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable , after 24 hrs on the ferry and a lousy crossing we needed it. Free parking was a bonus compared to some of the other hotels charges, the only reason i have give it four stars is that i like a cooked breakfast and at 21.50euros per person it was very very poor, cold bacon, old fried overcooked eggs,or scrambled powdered egg not what i expected from a 5 star hotel All was buffet style so that was it .The continental breakfast was a much better choice . I would not hesitate to stay again next time we go back to the U.K but would skip breakfast.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#12 of 32 in Santander
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#6 of 32 in Santander
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#8 of 32 in Santander
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Property: Eurostars Hotel Real
Address: Avenida Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#7 Business Hotel in Santander
#8 Family Hotel in Santander
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing