We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place to Stay without doubt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As FairCityFrasie says and as an honorary member of the "Rodney Travel Club" I fully agree with his comments.
Having been subjected to a variety of cardboard boxes, rough sleeping accommodation and other general health hazards purporting to be accommodation throughout Europe this was luxury with a capital L.
Its a comfortable clean and well appointed hotel.
I would certainly take my partner there and that says it all.
The location is ideal close to the centre but quiet for a good nights sleep.
The bedroom walls appear to be snore proof and passed the Innes Test easily.
There is a variety of cafes bars close by where you can obtain breakfast at a very reasonable price.
In fact eating out and drinking in Santander was very reasonable with a nice bar just around the corner from the hotel where local beer was priced at 1 euro a pint.
Would I stay here again YES
Would I recommend this Hotel Yes
Have I any criticism of the Hotel NO

Room Tip: All rooms are good with either a sea or city view just ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citydetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The "Rodney Travel Club" were on another 4-Day excursion and picked the Bahia for our tour of Santander and Bilbao. The lads' expectation of hotels is always high based on the "Rodney" boys' preferences for style and previous experiences all over Europe. The Bahia was no dissappointment. It is only a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from the bus terminus accross the road from the railway station. It smacks of class when you enter the lobby. We were delighted to be checked-in with a minimum of fuss even although we had arrived well before the designated earliest check-in time. The rooms were great too with all we could have expected and they overlooked the main Cathedral at the back of the hotel. Only a short walk from the Bahia was the shopping district, the market and the "entertainment" area full of cafes, bars, restaurants and ice-cream shops. Our evening excursions were only ever a short walk away (something most important to the "Rodney" boys), even more important on the way home at the end of the evening. The prescribed "Endless March" this year took place on our first day. We walked along the harbourfront past the marina, along the west beach, around the peninsula and finally along to the Sardinero (well-heeled and one of the cleanest, most manicured beaches we've come accross) for a well-earned beer.....then the long march back to the Bahia. On the second day we took a bus to Bilbao where we enjoyed the Guggenheim, strolling along the riverside and around the old town - easy and great day out from the Bahia. We did not use the bar, the cafe or the restaurant in the Bahia as the clientele tended to be older and of a different style to the "Rodney" boys. Overall the Bahia hit the spot and met our high expectations - we did not really come accross another centrally-located hotel in Santander that matches the Bahia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Situated just minutes walk from the bus terminal and the main train and Feve line stations Hotel Bahia is in an excellent location for a stay in Santander. We arrived slightly before the check in times but reception staff were welcoming and spoke good English and allowed us to check in early. We had not upgraded to a sea view as for one night stay we did not feel this necessary and we were allocated a room on the 6th floor with a City view which we thought was better. The room was enormous, plenty of space, even a separate 'dressing area'. The huge marbled bathroom lacked nothing and the shower was hot and powerful. The whole place shouts streamlined and efficient. There was always someone on hand at reception, no queues, for information. We spent the whole day walking right along the coast passing the various beaches, up around the Palacio de la Magdalena and onto the Playa del Sardinero before turning up towards the football stadium and back to the Hotel through the City. That evening we walked to the old fishing quarter for a meal and would recommend doing this. We would definitely stay at Hotel Bahia again, not just for it's location, but also for the much needed good night sleep in one of the most comfortable beds ever..

Room Tip: We were not disappointed with our City view room (417) on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a long weekend at the Bahia. The reception staff were very helpful and sorted out a couple of minor issues very promptly. The room was - WOW! Floor to ceiling windows on two walls with great views of the bay of Santander. We were on the 10th floor with a sea view room. We didn't eat in the Restaurant just had coffee in the cafe. There are a few really nice bars round the corner and The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shopping and restaurants etc. The bus stop is nearby and we took a bus round the bay to the beaches - the stop past the Casino. Only 2.2 euros each. We had a lovely walk back stopping at cafes on the way. Loved Santander. Would return.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a sea view. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyboo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We only stated at this hotel for one evening when visiting Santander and wanted a central location for our trip. We could literally walk fom the train station to the hotel , in 3 minutes. The location was perfect for visiting the rown. We were on the 8th floor with a sea view in a spacious room with extra comfy beds and a gorgeous marble bathroom. Friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet to have included in your room. The decor is status quo and slightly vintage but the cleanliness is perfect. Santander was amazing and defenetely worth the visit when going to the north of spain!!

Room Tip: High floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Hotel Bahia is just across the road from the ferry terminal and extremely close to all the main amenities of the city. We stayed there after crossing from Portsmouth. The rooms are large and comfortable and staff were very welcoming. Unfortunately the dinner in the restaurant was a bit of a disappointment and if we stay there again we will go into town as there seemed to be a lot of promising restaurants. Breakfast was good. We would certainly go to Hotel Bahia again.

Room Tip: We had a good view of the Ferry Terminal, and, although it was across a main road, it was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinión.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two separate nights at this very good hotel. We had stayed here before in 2011. It is conveniently located right across from the ferry terminal - if you are on foot - and a short drive from the vehicle access to the ferry from Britain.

The staff are friendly and attentive and the rooms are enormous - the breakfast is very generous and should please everyone.

On the first of our two recent stays here my wife had an accident with the hairdryer in the bathroom - it fell off the wall and and landed on her right little finger causing the tendons in the upper joint to be damaged. The reception staff swiftly called for an ambulance and she was taken immediately to the A&E at the local hospital where, upon presentation of her ECHI card, she was given excellent attention. Much better than any A&E in the UK!

If your destination is Santander the only place to stay is Hotel La Bahía. Congratulations to don Sergio Peón and his staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as the other side looks on to the Cathedral which is a bit glum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion , we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
933 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#10 of 32 in Santander
856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range: $75 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing