We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the City and Port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is in the north of Santander near the port. Very near the Brittany Ferries Terminal.
We booked in as the location was very good as we had a morning crossing.
The rooms are very good, typical Spanish large comfortable beds, breakfast expensive but the have a cafe for coffee and snax before boarding the boat.
The restaurant is very good but we walked into the city to eat.

Room Tip: We chose one overlooking the harbour but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our room was very large and had a great view of the Cathedral. The hotel was very near the port so for us was excellent.
The breakfast was great and very tasty. It was easy to access the old town and the sea front

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your opinion, is very important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room for one night only was on 7th floor, overlooking the cathedral. It was large , very clean and comfortable, with a very well equiped bathroom, all marble, and lots of "products"!
A huge comfortable bed, and a quiet room was ideal as a pre ferry nights sleep.
4 lifts always available, never had to wait.
We used their carpark too, a reasonable 15 euros extra per night.
We didnt use the restaurant, so cant comment, as breakfast was an extra 17 euros, and there are so many cafes very nearby, serving coffee and croissant for about 2 euros.
We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room on 7th floor overlooking the cathedral was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyjMoraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a view of the Cathedral but the bells did not seem to ring during the night. The room was very comfortable and clean, plenty of space and comfy beds. The bathroom was also excellent. There were four lifts so we never had to wait for one. We sometimes used the cafeteria for breakfast and sometimes went to the cafe in the Cathedral square which we liked very much and which was cheaper. Also a nice place for a glass of wine in the evening sitting outside watching the world go by. The day we left we had the Menu del dia in the hotel restaurant and thought it was the nicest food we had had during our week in Santander. The staff on reception were all very friendly and helpful. Our only niggle was that we very rarely managed to get wifi reception in our room and had to come down to the foyer to use the Ipad. The location is excellent, very near the bus station and rail station, but we were never disturbed by traffic noise in our room. We were very happy with our choice of hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Jazzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

thank you so much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Bahia is a large comfortable hotel, across the road from what is to be a new cultural centre. The access to the ferry port for cars has moved down the road a little but it's still very close. Rooms with a sea view also currently have a view of the building site but then rooms with a view of the cathedral also come with the sound of the bells chiming the quarter hours. Th restaurant is well appointed, meals are on the expensive side but portions are generous and the breakfast is an extensive buffet. There is also a popular and sometimes very busy cafeteria. Staff are friendly and wi-fi is free and available all over the hotel. For tapas try either the Cafe Royalty two blocks towards the ferry terminal or the bars inside the covered market two blocks the other way towards the marina. The cerveceria 100 a few doors along is very good for beers and sandwiches.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of October, finishing our month long tour of France, Switzerland & Italy and we weren't disappointed. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient, spoke perfect english and had everything ready for our arrival. We had requested a sea view, high floor, not near a lift and we got exactly that. There was some sort of ground work going on across the road but we weren't disturbed by noise and, as we were on the 7th floor it didn't really spoil the view for us. The room was large, spotless and everything worked. We didn't have breakfast but did eat in the restaurant (off the a la carte menu) and the food and service were excellent, no complaints at all. If we return to Santander we will definitely stay here again. We chose to park the car in the hotel's private underground car park (extra charge), accessed via a car elevator, which worked very well and the spaces were generous. There is public underground parking just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a hight floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for only one night after a long sail. Staff were very helpful in finding a place for me to park my van right outside the hotel. The room was large and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast choice was fantastic, freshly squeezed orange juice, lovely fresh fruit and everything you could wish for. Would definitely stay again and probably will on our return journey.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank skyewalkerhostel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#8 of 32 in Santander
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#6 of 32 in Santander
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range: $84 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing