We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Rosscarbery
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a view of the Cathedral but the bells did not seem to ring during the night. The room was very comfortable and clean, plenty of space and comfy beds. The bathroom was also excellent. There were four lifts so we never had to wait for one. We sometimes used the cafeteria for breakfast and sometimes went to the cafe in the Cathedral square which we liked very much and which was cheaper. Also a nice place for a glass of wine in the evening sitting outside watching the world go by. The day we left we had the Menu del dia in the hotel restaurant and thought it was the nicest food we had had during our week in Santander. The staff on reception were all very friendly and helpful. Our only niggle was that we very rarely managed to get wifi reception in our room and had to come down to the foyer to use the Ipad. The location is excellent, very near the bus station and rail station, but we were never disturbed by traffic noise in our room. We were very happy with our choice of hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7Jazzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
thank you so much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    421
    61
    13
    5
See reviews for
269
515
36
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The Bahia is a large comfortable hotel, across the road from what is to be a new cultural centre. The access to the ferry port for cars has moved down the road a little but it's still very close. Rooms with a sea view also currently have a view of the building site but then rooms with a view of the cathedral also come with the sound of the bells chiming the quarter hours. Th restaurant is well appointed, meals are on the expensive side but portions are generous and the breakfast is an extensive buffet. There is also a popular and sometimes very busy cafeteria. Staff are friendly and wi-fi is free and available all over the hotel. For tapas try either the Cafe Royalty two blocks towards the ferry terminal or the bars inside the covered market two blocks the other way towards the marina. The cerveceria 100 a few doors along is very good for beers and sandwiches.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of October, finishing our month long tour of France, Switzerland & Italy and we weren't disappointed. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient, spoke perfect english and had everything ready for our arrival. We had requested a sea view, high floor, not near a lift and we got exactly that. There was some sort of ground work going on across the road but we weren't disturbed by noise and, as we were on the 7th floor it didn't really spoil the view for us. The room was large, spotless and everything worked. We didn't have breakfast but did eat in the restaurant (off the a la carte menu) and the food and service were excellent, no complaints at all. If we return to Santander we will definitely stay here again. We chose to park the car in the hotel's private underground car park (extra charge), accessed via a car elevator, which worked very well and the spaces were generous. There is public underground parking just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a hight floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for only one night after a long sail. Staff were very helpful in finding a place for me to park my van right outside the hotel. The room was large and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast choice was fantastic, freshly squeezed orange juice, lovely fresh fruit and everything you could wish for. Would definitely stay again and probably will on our return journey.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skyewalkerhostel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Well-maintained, very respectable hotel in a central location- within walking distance of the bus and train stations and the ferry/cruise ship docks. The staff is professional and operate without delay or fuss, as in a business hotel. They were expecting me when I checked in and had everything ready for me. I was at the desk for less than a minute during check-in and check-out- one of the fastest I have experienced. This is a great location for a stay in central Santander and is a true 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: On weekends the hotel, which is a popular party spot with local residents, has live bands that play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meatball68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Centre
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights recently. Hotel is very dated, 70's style but staff are all very pleasant, helpful etc. Good selection at breakfast buffet too. We booked a seaview room, although it had a view, it was marred by a construction yard beside the ferry terminal. Rooms were very comfortable. Location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here over a long weekend. Very good location in Santander with a very comfortable room. Convenient cafeteria on the ground floor for an occasional breakfast although I visited other cafes most mornings. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KegsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#10 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#12 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Property: Hotel Bahia Santander
Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing