We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap Finistere

Cap Finistere
Ranked #137 of 629 Restaurants in Santander
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cap Finistere is a car ferry running between Santander and Portsmouth The ferry Bretagne runs between Portsmouth and St Malo. The French run offers magnificent cuisine. The run from santander is horribly different.cuisine.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Big improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having eaten in this restaurant perhaps half a dozen times, we were so disappointed on our last trip, some 20 months ago, that we wrote a letter of complaint to Brittany Ferries.. We are delighted to say that the standard of food and service has greatly improved. We had a delicious lunch of smoked salmon followed by sole meuniere and a good crisp Muscadet. A large coffee and a brandy set us up for the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pammietennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Bucking Bronco from Bilbao”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The return trip from our 17 day Tour of Iberia was to end with a "cruise" on Cap Finistere, one of Brittany Ferries ships. First of all I have previously noted that this ship is way smaller than it's sister Pont Aven and possibly an easier trip can be had upon that, I may find out sometime.
The approach to the ferry outside of Bilbao, is signposted , but only just, the sat-nav struggled with all of the new and changed roads, and the sign "ferry" only appeared near to the destination, but with absolutely no sign of "Brittany Ferries" until you were inside the terminal surroundings.
Loading seemed to take quite a while but eventually we were on and found the cabin, same as the outward journey, easy peasy, but unfortunately not ready!!!
After a breather in the bar to get the heart rate down, and after climbing up from the bowels of the ship, it was going a bit I can tell you. An announcement in three languages, Spanish last, French first, eventually told us the Deck 7 cabins were al last ready. Good!!!
Dinner in the restaurant was booked by the cabin chap as we had First Class cabins, no Commodore class on this boat I might add.
The weather was a tad "choppy" as we left the harbour and gradually got worse as we travelled north towards the Bay of Biscay, reducing all passengers firstly to staggering, then some to being cabin ridden. I met a couple during the evening carrying their suitcases. "Leaving us already" I asked chirpily, but no they had changed to an inside cabin to try and fend of the lady's sickness. I saw them the next morning and it may have worked as she looked much brighter, but by then the seas had calmed somewhat. Rule one take some propriety seasickness pills with you as you can not get them on this tub.
We gave up on dinner as my wife despite her pills did not fancy eating and retired to our cabin.
Little sleep was had that night, but we were both rewarded with an absolutely marvellous breakfast the following morning, made so much better as it was done for us, no toast machine in sight. and all served at the table, Whoopee!!!!
A reasonable "Beouff Bourignon" was had at the Salad Bar on deck 10 for about a fiver at lunchtime.
So back to Blighty we are, tired, exhausted and happy after our trip of 17 nights, 2500 miles, ten hotels, and many more bars and restaurants, some very good, but wishing the return trip was a little better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great meal, bad smell in the cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I travelled from Santander to Portsmouth in April 2012. We ate in the restaurant, and the food was great, terrific service, good wine, and reasonable price for four adults who wanted to eat up-market. One of us uses a wheelchair, the crew were most welcoming and accommodating.

However, our meal was affected because we experienced a foul smell in the disabled cabin. Has anybody else had experience of a bad smell in their cabin, whilst travelling on Brittany Ferry Cap Finistere? If so, please tell me about it. I am collecting data and hope to discuss it with their senior managers.

mr_paul_mchugh@hotmail.com

Cheers

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_McHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap Finistere also viewed

 
Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 

Been to Cap Finistere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing