We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of Carlos III

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlos III
Ash Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was originally a holiday villa for 19 century Spanish & retains all its features & charm. It was like staying at somebody's home with perfect care & comfort. Everything was within walking distance (beach just across the road, shops, bars, restaurants a few minute's walk) & Santander itself just a 5 minute drive away with its shops & bustle. (You could walk, but a car is much easier). El Sardinero is perfect for anyone who likes true holidaying without hassle; sun, sand, sea, food, history/things to see, charming people, children friendly. You could honestly arrive here as a foot passenger & not worry - the bus service is fantastic & help is always on hand. We have been to Carlos 111 three times now & it has never let us down. TIP it has cats - very charming if a little aloof. This time I brought W*****s cat biscuits which were well accepted. Only problem - parking. Would advise once you've found a space, keep it & walk!
Carlos111 has everything - charm, comfort, lovely people &, above all, homeliness.
Going next year? Of course!

Room Tip: Have been on all floors. Each room is different but excellent in its own right. NO LIFT. So ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
28
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights beinging of sept 2013 room was comfortable clean and airy ,staff were very helpful and polite, food was excellent, bus servic( no 1 blue bus to santander ) outside of casino 2.70 euros for couple, the hotel is 2 mins from beach, bars, casino and gardens . very good bus service we had an excellent shopping day into santander we had loooooads of bags but everthing was completly stress free in fact we have allready decided that next year 2014 we are going to stay at carlos the 3rd again

Room Tip: spacious and clean airy rooms windows have shutters even though the hotel is 2 mins from beach , bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. Luckily we asked at the Brittany Ferries reception desk about places to stay, the lady there phoned Don Carlos III hostal to see if there were any vacancies. If you go through Brittany Ferries you get the room quite a bit cheaper than the usual price (45.10euros), and you get a much bigger breakfast! On the first morning we were given a piece of toast each with a cup of coffee, the next day our waitress apologised and gave us each two slices of toast , a glass of orange juice, two slices of cheese (if you eat meat you get one of cheese and one of ham) and a piece of cake- this is the 'ferry' breakfast.
We stayed in room 205 and I would ask for this one again, it was lovely and spacious with a sort of gallery with two cane chairs and small marble table that overlooks the entrance and a view of the sea( sideways).There isn't a lift if people have difficulty with stairs, there are ground floor rooms though. I like the feel of place, old fashioned, but in the best sense, genteel, clean and with very friendly staff. I would recommend Carlos III to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights on the 8th and 9th of April 2013 after sailing on the Pont Aven Brittany ferry from Plymouth. This was a treat to ourselves for our second wedding anniversary.

We walked to the hotel from the ferry port, which is quite a way, but gives you the chance to take in the views. The walk is beautiful, the roads and walkways are clean with no litter and there is always a team of people (council workers) cleaning and emptying bins.

The staff were friendly at the hotel and spoke basic English, the breakfast was good, the room (room 212) was spacious with a view across the bay and the bathroom was complete with a small (half size bath), beday and toilet (shame about the big palm tree outside the window which blocked part of the view).

We found a good supermarket just down the road called LUPA and the casino is only a five minute walk away.
I would definitely recommend this place to stay in.

Santander itself is clean and tidy with lots of shops, restaurants and cafe's. Some speak English but I think it goes a long way with the waiting staff if you try and use Spanish. Almost everything closes at 2pm for siesta time but the city comes alive again around 5pm which sees families with their children out and about and playing in the parks.

Wine is cheap at 1 Euro 80 a glass and the deserts are huge. Frysia is a great restaurant, the pancake with chocolate sauce there is the size of a dinner plate!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janner1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

my family of 4 had just been on a log Brittany ferries cruise! At first we were lost because this hotel was designated at the side of Santander where the beaches were! Once we found it! It was stunning! hugely excited to see our rooms which was in the ground floor 101 and 102! The kids stayed in 102 and us in 101! You got all your essentials and an amazing toilet! It is sad to leave this place and their staff are so heartwarmingly nice! They speak basic English that is good 4 us because we are Asians living in London! Overall a hotel and city never to forget!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeBagtasSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my family of 4. The hotel is set back from the road, so you need to keep an eye out for it. It looks to have been a house that was converted into rooms, but it also could have been just a quirky hotel. Still cool looking. The room became crowded because there were 2 beds and a roll out couch, but for the price, view and convenience, this may have been the bargain of our trip. There was a little porch off the room with a couple chairs that gave a view of the ocean. The bathroom shower was newly remodeled and there was plenty of hot water. Front desk staff were great and always available. Breakfast was included and was pretty substantial with coffee, juice, bread, jam, ham and cheese. This was an all around nice stay and I would easily choose this place again when visiting Santander.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bstosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

If you want a hotel, with all it's amenities and services, you will be very disappointed. And it's more for grownups than it is for kids. But if you want a quiet room in a nice hostel, you'll love it. It's safe, clean, and staffed by exceptionally nice people. But keep it a secret, alright? Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeeQueEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.1 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
898 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#9 of 32 in Santander
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos III

Property: Carlos III
Address: Avenida Reina Victoria 135, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Santander
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the year 1918 is a charming 2-star Hostal. The property is located in the Sardinero, between the Gran Casino de Santander and the Palace of La Magdalena, near the beach and only 2 kilometres from the city centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing