We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base”
Review of NH Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good base”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I was swiftly checked in by the helpful clerk who also assisted me with places to see and provided a map.

I went up to my room and noticed in the hallway that it smelled like someone was smoking. The clerk was very helpful and changed my room to a different floor when I mentioned that I smelled cigarette smoke (which makes me feel sick). I really appreciated the gesture and it made me feel like a valued customer.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast which I enjoyed - sweet and savory. If you book before the morning, it costs €9 which was reasonable considering you could have gone up for the buffet numerous times. I noticed that most if it's clients were business travellers which made the area a little formal than I would have liked.

Also the freebies in the bathroom - never seen a free razor! It seems like they have taken more care choosing stuff that their customers would like. I also loved the smell of the soap but as the bar of soap was small it didn't last long.

Its very centrally located, walking distance to everything in town. If you love architecture, don't miss the brilliant opera house which looks and feels like Sydney opera house. If you get a chance, explore the north coast, there's a stunning black rock natural pool that only the locals know...ssshhhh!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    269
    56
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
203
46
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

on arrival my wife and I were not surprised that the hotel rates four stars as we were impressed. however after four nights there we gradually reduced our level of satisfaction to two stars. firstly the hotel is clean, bright, well situated and staff efficient and helpful but....although the air conditioning in reception keeps the place cool, in the rooms it takes many hours to reduce the temperature to reasonable levels. the room was ok but certainly not spacious with a small wall mounted tv (we agreed to upgrade to a superior room on arrival at a cost of fifteen euros a night and this was well worth the extra money). we were also annoyed that there was only one tiny bar of soap in the bathroom (which was so soft it barely lasted one shower) and had to ask reception for more each day. the other annoyance was that, although the two cups which were supplied with the coffee maker were washed and dried each day, supplies of tea, coffee and milk were not replaced and, again, we had to ask reception to organise this. finally a plus point: we were impressed with the breakfast buffet (offered at half price if ordered the night before).

Room Tip: rooms looking out to the street are better than those looking over the back side which are dark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When it comes to NH it's hard to find bad things, but still, I wouldn't rate it with "very good". I don't know why... i guess it's because it doesn't offer me the "home" feeling, but just the feeling of a cold hotel.

The location of the hotel was excellent - in the center of Santa Cruz. The thing is that there's not too much to do in Santa Cruz, unless you did a good planning upfront and you have a car to do stuff. The beach is around 20 minutes away by car - I don't know how to reach it by public transport, so I can't tell you too much. Santa Cruz itself is quite an industrial town with a huge harbour, but it offers a great access to the north of the island which is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank BogdanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I like the NH style, always classy, modern with an attention to details, well the Santa Cruz NH tenerife did not fail to suit this standard. Very well located in a quite stree, nice breakfast with a small selection too with plenty of choice of quality product , staff was very friendly and there is an underground garage for the car
Room were not big but very confortable, stylish interior,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenitoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The NH in Santa Cruz de Tenerife (capital of the island) is perfectly located in the center of the town. Rooms are spacious, nice bathroom and good beds. Shopping is close by. Unfortunately the whirlpool was not working when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saikorianer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Living in the South of Tenerife we booked this hotel for a birthday night in the Capital so knew the location was perfect. However for anyone wanting to explore Santa Cruz you really could not find a better location for staying in the city and the night life.

The hotel is of a good standard and I would have rated it excellent if all the facilities had been running. We had expected to chill in the hot tub on the roof terrace in the aftenoon but it was on its side empty and looked like it had been this way for many moons! Also plans for an chill out drink on the roof terrace before dinner were also not possible as the bar was not open and neither was the lobby bar. However not to be detered we took a chilled bottle and sitting on the roof watching the light go down and the city light up was still pretty amazing!

The rooms are furnished to a good standard and spotlessly clean and the beds very comfy however a smoke detector flashing directly above the bed kept us giggling like school girls in a disco. The only tip for the room would be to put a mirror above the dressing table rather than a picture for the benefit of the ladies trying to get ready and made up. Other than that very comfortable rooms!

The reception staff we met were very friendly and helpful with everyone we saw them dealing with. We decided to book breakfast but I would not bother with this on another stay as it was not really value for money and considering all the surrounding places not worth been tied to the hotel for.

Would certainly return and the location is so close to the area of Calle La Nuria with all its fab restaurants and bars and the hotel so reasonable that I would reccommend to anyone wanting a night in the capital!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front will have more interesting views but may suffer from more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel!!! Best!
Blank numbers. Convenient. Beautiful. Hotel comfortable. Bathrooms one of the purest which met for the experience to travel. The personnel speaks different languages. Wi-fi without problems, both in a lobby and in number.

Good location.
Nearby the central streets, there are a lot of restaurants, shops. In the evenings live music plays, it is a lot of various representations, show.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
930 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
#4 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
535 reviews
40.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,157 reviews
18.6 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Tenerife

Property: NH Tenerife
Address: Candelaria Esquina Doctor Allart | La Candelaria, 38003 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Tenerife is a three-star hotel located in the heart of lively Santa Cruz de Tenerife. The NH Tenerife is just a few steps away from some of Santa Cruz’s most exciting attractions, including the harbor, the auditorium and many of the city’s best museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NH Tenerife Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing