We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff, Hotel ok”
Review of Hotel Taburiente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taburiente
la Palma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rude staff, Hotel ok”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

How shall I start. Nice hotel but seriously angry at the receptionist who totally ruined my birthday weekend! Her name was Conchi and I have never ever been spoken too in that way she spoke to me and not the sort of thing should be said to a paying client! We checked out after this which ruined my Birthday. Thanks. She spoke to me like a piece of trash who didn't fit into her clientele. I was reading my book in the hotel lobby on a sofa lying on it but with my feet on the floor(there are four or five sofas, so I was not hogging them). She precluded I was sleeping on the sofa and I said that was clever considering i am reading and said again again go to your room if you want to sleep. My reply was I am reading if I want to sleep i will go to my room. Then she asked me If I was a guest well why tell me to go to my room if so. Sorry I have shaved head and don't fit in to your narrow minded logic. Thanks again for everything will never feel like going back and talked to like a piece of rubbish!!!!!!!!! Thanks again for the wonderful birthday .Looks like i am not the first reviewer who had there b'day ruined

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superone1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    241
    105
    38
    18
See reviews for
66
200
49
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed here for three nights and found this Hotel which is 3 star to be as good as many 4 star properties I have stayed in.The reception staff are excellent and the rooms etc are clean. Individually controlled air con was excellent as it was 90 outside. The breakfast was fine. The location was good 5 min walk to main drag of shops. Laptop available at reception. Booked thru Bookings.com and got room B&B for 73Euros per night. Overall very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I went up to Santa Cruz from the South of Tenerife for the international dog show and must say for the second year now the Hotel and its staff have been superb. Well done guys! I give it a five star rating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night for his birthday, we had been on the hotels website and thought the hotel had a modern, funky look to it.

One of the reasons we chose this hotels was the fact that you had the option for a double or a twin bedded room. We had confirmation for a double via email.
When we arrived and went to our room we had been allocated a twin. We spoke to reception to be told that double rooms were fully booked by a very rude member of staff who couldnt care less. we tried explaining we had booked one of t hem but he just shrugged and said no!!

The rooms are a nice size with very nice bathrooms. I tried to plug my hairdryer and straightners in with an adapter and no plug sockets would work?! Luckily the plug on my straightners with a screw driver can be pulled apart tomake European. One over thing i found nasty was the white stains all over the black chair.

We had breakfast included which was below average, very cold food all round. I dont expect it to be hot at a buffet but not cold.

All in all its not a bad hotel, i wouldnt return again though due to the rudeness of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senses28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Well located, small boutique hotel. Maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre. Breakfast buffet was good. Underground parking was available for €6 a night. Parking on the street was difficult to find, but not totally impossible if you persevere! Free wi-fi was available in the lobby, but from the room I was able to connect to a nearby unsecured network. A few criticisms: I booked online, but never received a confirmation by email. I had to phone the hotel to confirm the booking. I also sent the hotel an email enquiring about parking. Again, they never replied and I had to phone instead.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mambero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We have just spent four nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Check in was quick and efficient. Our "superior" room on the third floor was comfortable, large, recently refurbished, well furnished with separate seating area and with a big en suite shower room. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. The public areas were well furnished and comfortable with a separate small lounge for smokers.
I cannot comment on the restaurants (there are two) as we ate out every evening.
The location is ideal - opposite a very pleasant park and within relatively easy walking distance of the main shopping areas and other points of interest.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a vist to Santa Cruz. The hotel has three stars but I would rate it very close to four stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inmigrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

The Hotel Taburiente is not that easy to find if you're in a car, so best ask them for directions if you are driving in from the airport. It does have a garage underneath which is tricky to negotiate and costs a few euros a night but it's like gold dust to find a garage around here and parking in the street is very difficult. There's a little place you can stop the car to unload but the hotel is on a very narrow street. All the streets are really narrow. No kidding, hire a very, very small car!!!!

So that's the car aspect of it. Outside it looks a bit dull. But they've really gone to town on the interior decor and it's hard to believe it's only 3 star. Nobody to take your luggage etc. to your room but the women on the reception speak English and try very hard to help.

We thought a lot of their clientele must be business. Lots of places to sit around downstairs, and a trendy looking little bar. The bedroom comfortable - the double bed was 2 singles pushed together.... but NO full length mirror! whoa! The reading lights could have been brighter. But generally it was a large and pleasant room.

There's a restaurant in the hotel called GOM. We liked this and thought it was well up to other capital city standards and prices not as high as we expected. Again a nice trendy decor. Breakfast was in a little breakfast bar. It wasn't bad, although the "hot" dishes (eggs, bacon, etc) looked as if they had been waiting around a while. I have had better breakfasts. Coffee was from a machine - urgh!

The place was clean and they had big dishes of free bananas - one of the specialities of Tenerife. The hotel is directly opposite a beautiful park, well worth strolling or sitting in. It's pretty handy for shops, etc. and also the sea. Santa Cruz isn't that big a place. We found it quiet.

Only one negative thing, an item was left behind in a room and the chambermaid acted as if we were trying to get her to give up the secrets of Fort Knox. Really unhelpful and kept us waiting for ages. I didn't leave a tip. But all the other staff were very nice and helpful.

So in general I recommend this hotel. It's value and nice looking, good location, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reflectorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz de Tenerife hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
535 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
#4 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
#8 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taburiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taburiente

Property: Hotel Taburiente
Address: Dr. Jose Navieras 24-A, 38001 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taburiente 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre of Santa Cruz and in front of its green heart, the García Sanabria's Park. Hotel frequented by independent travellers and business people. Kind atmosphere and best ratio price-quality in town is the philosophy of the company. Charming ground floor with conventions, business meetings and celebrations centre for up to 400 people but also a few corners to have a quiet tea or drink and have a chat. If you want to escape from massive tourism and live in a real city, Santa Cruz is just one hour far from the tourism centres and nearer than any place from the “musts” of Tenerife (El Teide; Loro Parque; Las Teresitas). Swimming pool, jacuzzi and solarium on the terrace. The best beach of the island is 7 km far. Inside the hotel you will also find one of the most famous restaurants of the city: GOM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Taburiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taburiente Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing