We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good, not even quite so”
Review of Mauma - CLOSED

Mauma
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a new young project that combines social and business. A pizzeria school, where learn, grow, share, and enjoy pizza is possible. In La Ecologica you can enjoy the best artesanal pizzas, with fine dough and ecological ingredients coming from local producers. We offer you too salads, pasta and the best original desserts. Young people with difficulties are learning in the kitchen an the room. Somos un nuevo proyecto que auna lo social y lo empresarial. Una pizzeria escuela, donde aprender, crecer, compartir y disfrutar de la pizza. En La Ecologica se puede disfrutar de las mejores pizzas artesanales, con masa fina e ingredientes ecologicos. Te ofrecemos tambien ensaladas, pastas y los mejores postres originales.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good, not even quite so”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very seldom do I genuinely dislike any food in any restaurant. This was one of the few. The goat cheese in the starter was fried until chewy (maybe that was the point of the "caramelized" cheese, dunno), and the salad under it was just lame. The main course, the prawn-salmon tagliatelle was supposed to come with "creamy pesto sauce" -- it was only oily, not creamy, the prawns were not fresh, and the dominant taste was, well, just unpleasant and very greasy. Did not want to try desserts. This was the only bad food I had in whole Santa Cruz in a week. It almost seems the other reviews must be for some other restaurant, but the name, pictures, and address all match. Trip Advisor ratings are usually very reliable, but something is wrong here; absolutely no match between the TA reviews and the actual experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4x1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good dining!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided to spend our New Year here after trying the food earlier in the week.Lucky to get a seat as the place was full.Our first visit was fantastic,only 2 other tables.New Year slightly less impressive but none the less very good(maybe due to the fact that it was full to capacity,one particularly large group which seemed to be a little late and a bit rowdy).Good value as the price for the menu included the drinks throughout,as the service was slightly slower we did not feel as though they were rushing to save on the alcohol or simply that they they were backed up due to the amount of people.All in all a very pleasant New Year in a very pleasant environment.Worth the effort.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“20 out of 10!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a night in Santa Cruz. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we went to look for Mauma. We found it but it was closed during the day. Since we were unable to book a table for night we emailed when we got back to the hotel. Marta replied promptly and our table was all sorted. The food was absolutely superb and very reasonably priced. Maurice is a great chef. I began to wish I lived there after having the tart tatin! We met Marta and Maurice who are so welcoming and friendly. We may only be able to visit Santa Cruz one or two nights a year but this will definitely be our first stop every time. I would say to anyone visiting Santa Cruz that loves good food and good company, that this is a place not to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank heatherad_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superb all round”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Excellent place - great, friendly service and great food. My wife described the steak as "perfect" which speaks volumes! Had the pleasure of meeting the owners who are great company - Maurice does the cooking and rarely ventures "front of house" so I think we were honoured! Highly recommended place. Great food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Full points !!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Modern looking and nicely furnished little restaurant with excellent food and service,
Simply a must for all food lovers visiting Santa Cruz ! You will get a gourmet like food with reasonable price.

We loved everything in this place, the atmosphere , the furnishing, the food, the waiter, the cook etc

And their cheese cake is to die for !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pirjo_Jari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauma also viewed

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing