We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must Go To" Restaurant in Santa Cruz”
Review of Mauma - CLOSED

Mauma
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a new young project that combines social and business. A pizzeria school, where learn, grow, share, and enjoy pizza is possible. In La Ecologica you can enjoy the best artesanal pizzas, with fine dough and ecological ingredients coming from local producers. We offer you too salads, pasta and the best original desserts. Young people with difficulties are learning in the kitchen an the room. Somos un nuevo proyecto que auna lo social y lo empresarial. Una pizzeria escuela, donde aprender, crecer, compartir y disfrutar de la pizza. En La Ecologica se puede disfrutar de las mejores pizzas artesanales, con masa fina e ingredientes ecologicos. Te ofrecemos tambien ensaladas, pastas y los mejores postres originales.
Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A "Must Go To" Restaurant in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This welcoming, comfortable, stylish and elegant small (about 20 covers) restaurant, located in the central part of the city, serves excellent international/mediterranean style cuisine at affordable prices. I know because on a recent trip to Santa Cruz my wife and I were so impressed that we ate there four times - twice for lunch and twice in the evening. Starters were priced at 5€ to 8€, main courses at 10.25€ to 14.50€ and puddings at 5€. At lunchtimes there was also a three course 12.50€ menu of the day. Every dish we had was well cooked, well presented and professionally served. In addition the wine list offered a good range of Spanish wines at not expensive prices.
It became obvious that the Scotish owner/chef, his Canarian wife and their staff enjoyed what they were doing and were dedicated to ensuring that every customer enjoyed their food and had an enjoyable dining experience.
We shall certainly go again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inmigrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
2 reviews
“Excellent food, lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really enjoyed the food here, its a cozy restaurant with nice decor - not too pricey either. The waiter was pleasant and looked after us well. I would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great people”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We followed the recommendations from Trip Advisor, and we were very happy we did! Mauma was a great little find. Maurice, the head chef, was an extremely informative and helpful host. My wife was pregnant at the time and he could not have been more accommodating and easygoing about tweaking the menu to help my wife. The food was top-class. We were in Santa Cruz for six nights and ate there twice. We love our food, so that should be testament enough!! Just go there and enjoy. Waiting staff were lovely and good at their jobs. Best of luck to both Maurice and his lovely wife. Keep up the good work!! Orla & Colin from Ireland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinandOrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Tremble before cod!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Mauma is a real find and a good example of Tripadvisor getting something right. Exceedingly friendly and helpful staff (including a chatty ex-pat Scot in the kitchen) make for a convivial evening. The food is faultless and extremely generous (I defy anyone to finish the portion of Cod). The apple tart tatin was a revelation and at €4, an absolute steal. In fact the whole experience was ridiculously inexpensive. We never go back to the same restaurant twice when on holiday and yet we made an exception here. That says it all really!


Helpful?
Thank Psychogenic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little gem in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was looking for a good restaurant to spend New Years Eve in Santa Cruz and Mauma met and exceeded my expectations.
An e-mail reservation worked just fine and was absolutely required as Mauma is a small place with approx. 20 seats. They opened in time at 20:00 which we saw as we walked by to check out the modern but comfy interiour.
Staff speaks Spanish and English and was very helpful in explaining the different dishes.
The menu was small but offered a good variety of food. My home made prawn spring rolls were divine as was the salad with warm goat cheese. After having finished our main courses (fantastic filets) as well as a great dessert (warm chocolade cake to die for) we needed a coffee and a walk. We had both as the waitress also patiently explained where best to enjoy the fireworks and where to party afterwards.
If you are looking for modern and international food of high quality AND great service you are right here. It is not cheap but worth the price. Also we felt very welcome and at home as it is not one of those posh places where you feel uncomfortable.
A definite recommendation if you are on Tenerife!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HHDeern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauma also viewed

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing