We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away if nonsmoker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay away if nonsmoker”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

the sign "hotél sin humo" in the lift must be a joke, the smell in the room proved otherwise. I tried to change rooms, but that was said to be impossible because it was fully booked. Although I later found out that at least three of my colleagues managed to change. You can't sleep with open window, unless you're one of the lucky few that are not affected by the very noisy boulevard just in front of the hotel. From the roof you've got a nice view on the refinery and internet is free (if you have the patience to wait 5 minutes for the login-page to load, and at least the same amount for every subsequent page). The service during breakfast is very fast in taking away your plates and cutlery, but very slow in serving you the drinks you ordered. I think you'll get my point....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petjannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    286
    102
    18
    14
See reviews for
63
282
34
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I stayed at the Silken Atlantida recently for a short vacation. It is easily reachable from the Tenerife Norte Airport within 15 min by taxi for about 16 Euro. The rooms are nice and spacious, also nice and clean bathrooms. Free internet although very very slow. I mean: really slow. ;-)

The staff is there but not really caring about guests so I always felt like disturbing them with my requests. Some things are just strange, for example during breakfast I got to get some more orange juice and when I came back my half full plate was gone but the empty coffee cup was still there. The breakfast buffet is good, especially fresh croissants, local cheese, a variaty of really fresh juices.

The air conditioning in the hotel was set to uncomfortably cold temperatures, in the room I switched it off as soon as I entered.

To get to downtown Santa Cruz be prepared for a walk of about 15 minutes. It isn't really very centrally located.

The hotel has 9 floors with a fitness, sauna and sun terrace floor on the 9th level. The elevators are transparent and on the outside front of the building, so you'll have a marvelous view going up.

Next to the hotel there is a Shell gas station with a little shop which is convenient if you'd like to avoid the overpriced offering of the mini bar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kruemelmonster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Arrived after 30 hours of flying to a very modern, clean and nice hotel. For 40 Euros we upgraded to a Jr suite, which was very large and had a sitting room.
Staff very friendly---a very good value!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahKBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed in this hotel on the New Year's Eve. Although the rooms and reception area were clean, the hotel lacked certain soul. It is a high-rise concrete building, quite conveniently located, but rather geared for business travellers.

The reception lady was not very responsive and the restaurant was closed due to the holiday. Finally I was able to get some room service dining but the service was not the best.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanMartinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I chose this hotel because it appeared to have the things I look for when travelling on business; free (or included) internet, a room where I space to work and a gym. I booked a junior suite which was OK. The room was spacious but poorly furnished, and s the hotel is at the junction of two busy roads noisy, even with all the windows closed.
The gym is not worthy if the name, they have one very elderly treadmill, one very elderly step machine and a worn multi-gym with one station. - that’s it. There is however two hot tubs and a sauna cubical if that's your thing.
The most irritating of many irritating things was the ‘complimentary’ wifi that had been advertised. There is no complimentary WIFI it’s simply a lie - there is complimentary web browsing but if you want to do anything else you would expect to be automatic (such as send or receive email via outlook for example) you have to pay. It's not a lot - €6 a day but it is the principle of being deceived that annoyed me. Even if you want the ‘free’ web browsing you need to go through a lengthy and annoying login process that involves you registering with their service provider and after several steps receiving a text message with a code on you mobile phone. This has to be done again each day.
Restaurant and the room service food was bad. I received the wrong food a couple of times during my five night stay, but I complained the second time and this was put right efficiently and politely. Generally though the staff were rude and gave the impression that they could not be bothered.
If you want an indication of my overall level of satisfaction with this hotel I can do no better than Inform you that I had planed to remain for the weekend after my business trip and explore the Island, but after a week I did not want to spend a day longer than necessary in this hotel, even with someone else paying the bill, so I checked out on the Friday and flew home. I recommend that you do not check in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Business_Traveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My wife, 13 month old daughter and I stayed here for 11 days and it was great! We had a Junior Suite Silken Club. The room was very spacious with independent living room. This room was at the executive floor with a free 24hr complementary coffe and pastry bar. I had a couple of business meetings while on vacation and the executive lounge was awesome. If you want to feel like in your own Condo this is the place to go. Location was fantastic, right across two Malls and el Corte Ingles... We will go back there next time guaranteed

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalvEtrofnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I went here in the winter, and the poor weather that week may have skewed my view of the hotel and of Santa Cruz in general. The hotel is located in the new financial district of Santa Cruz. The location has an advantage in that it is near to the bus station and there is easy (if initially confusing) access to the Autopista.

The disadvantage is that you don't really feel quite part of the life of the city here. It is near the lido (not really feasible during the week I was there) and the architecturally-impressive Auditoria. It is also near to some buildings which are real eyesores such as two very ugly tower blocks, but to be fair Santa Cruz does have a mix of architecture going from characterful to extremely ugly and that's just the way it is.

There is a restaurant in the hotel but we did not use it. There is also a 'piano bar' but it's not someone tinkling the ivories on a piano, he's playing an electric organ and I thought this was a little bit cheesy. The bar is OK and service good, but not very atmospheric - the decor gives it a cold effect rather than cosy.

You notice the slightly cut-off feel at night if you are eating out. There are not many restaurants and bars in the vicinity. There is a little bar just a few doors away on the same street, but not open everyday, and most of the time we ended up eating and drinking in the shopping centre nearby - not El Corte Ingles but a nearby mall with a food court. The range of restaurants within the shopping centre were fine, but to a European, eating out in a mall regularly feels a little 'plastic', like you're not really getting a sense of the regular nightlife of the city.

Our room was very comfortable but a little dark: the window was facing out onto other building. Our bed was huge - it had to be at least 6ft wide, possibly 7. Bathroom was very comfortable and the cleaners were generous about topping up the toiletries every day. There was a distinct humming noise from other people's airconditioning audible in the bedroom - we had aircon but I had no need to use it - so bring earplugs unless you are used to the sound.

If you are paying for the hotel yourself rather than on business, and meaning to hire a car, bear in mind that you will have to pay for the carpark for every day you use it. Parking in the city is difficult in general but you may possibly find some free parking near to the lido - I have no idea how safe it would be at night for your car, however.

There is a gym onsite but don't expect anything extensive, we are talking about a few machines, maybe 4 or 5. The jacuzzis were good.

We had a few problems while we were there related to rough winter weather - I suspect worse than it usually is as I have been to Northern Tenerife at this time of year before. There was strong winds as well as heavy rain, and probably because of that, both of the external lifts were broken for a couple of days - I think after that they got one lift working. This meant we had to go up 6 flights of stairs regularly during that time. We would have used the jacuzzis more often but did not feel like dragging ourself up the stairs to the top floor in order to visit them.

If it hadn't been for the lifts being broken, I would have given the hotel 4 stars, since overall it was a very comfortable and clean hotel and the service was fine, even if I wasn't mad about the location.

  • Liked — Huge bed, good bathroom with generous freebies
  • Disliked — Location and the broken lifts!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz de Tenerife hotels
1.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,739 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Colon Rambla
Hotel Colon Rambla
#2 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
928 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taburiente
Hotel Taburiente
#6 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
#8 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz

Property: Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
Address: Avenida Tres de Mayo | (corner of Aurea Díaz Flores), 38005 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Silken Atlantida, located in the new financial and commercial center of the city of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, the capital of the largest of the Canary Islands and on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Santa Cruz is an ideal city for walking and shopping, know, love the island cuisine and enjoy the best cultural programming.The Hotel has 144 rooms, which are distributed in 96 comfort, 8 deluxe, 8 junior suites, and a total of 32 rooms on the executive floor "Silken Club." These rooms with great space, light and modern decoration. All offer shower massage, choice of amenities, free safe, free wireless, digital television and double or queen size bed and planta Silken Club also has a separate hall with free Wi Fi internet connection, 24 hours coffee, tea, milk, fresh fruit and pastries, as well as daily newspaper, shoe shine and a pillow menu. A unique product in the capital of Tenerife.The Hotel has seven conference rooms with capacity for up to 400 people, all of them very versatile and equipped with the most modern technology.The Hotel has a Gastrobar where you can enjoy a refreshing suggestive with a selection of wines and champagnes.There is an excellent relaxation area to start or end the day in the hotel terrace where you can enjoy our jacuzzis, saunas, fitness-center or in the solarium, while you can see the best view of the city, likewise, also has ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz De Tenerife
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing