We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
74
135
50
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
135
50
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel school minute walk from the centre great hotel english language channels hotel is located junior suite minibar tenerife city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 286 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2018

Hotel Escuela is very comfortable, clean and everything was beyond my expectations. The room was big and airy, clean, and nicely decorated. The staff was professional and helpful, the breakfast was also pretty good.

The only major downside here is the location. The hotel was relatively far from city centre where the major attractions are. Public transit (mostly tram) was a little far by walking distance. It's located up on a hill, and climbing it every time was really frustrating. It was also a little disappointing they have a policy against food deliveries from the outside - Which I needed at nights.

Room tip: Just remember your floor! Room 205 isn't on the second floor as expected!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Avidor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

The hotel is a spectacular example of modernist architecture of the 60s. The people working here are sincerely helpful and fun to talk to but... As soon as we walked out of its doors we encountered abuses which have been so serious that we are determined never to revisit these islands. At the beach men with fake IDs trying to gouge us for a €2 parking charge with racist and insulting language. In town an apparently "hipster" bar charging €16 for two very mediocre gin and tonics; a few yards down the road, a mediocre tapas bar charging €44 for a very mediocre lunch made up of two plates, "raciones" and a few glasses of wine - London prices for sub-motorway service station food. A message to the people of Tenerife:
"cuando no vuelven las turistas no seas soprendido. En hoy dia no es posible robar la gente sin que dan cuenta y pasan el mensaje a sus colegas!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnParker-Rees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

the hotel in the central area is great for those who want to spend a quiet holiday but close to the center. Clean room and friendly staff. Good breakfast complete with everything. Beautiful pool offering moments of relax.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is operated by hotel school stuff, hence the name. You wouldn't know that. I'm a hotel school grad myself and I have only the highest marks for this hotel! The layout is generous with a huge garden in the atrium of the rooms wing. The view onto city and harbor is interesting. Beds are great, but what blows it out of the water are the bathrooms! Huge and well setup with tub, separate shower and great amenities! Service staff is friendly and prompt; just some of the front desk staff never got up from behind their computer until you stood exactly in from of them. That seemed a bit careless. But all in all: I'd go back in a heart beat. Excellent value for the money!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank cocotravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento M, Marketing Digital at Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Dear Coco T


Thank you very much for your comments. :)

We hope to see you again very soon.

Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Went to see Aerosmith at Estadio Heliodoro Rodriguez Lopez so booked this hotel as it is literally across the road and provides parking.
I knew it was a 'hotel school' so my expectations weren't high. The staff were all very polite, the reception area is pleasant but the rooms are grim. Dark, dindgy and smell musty. No tea/coffee making facilities and the mini bar is padlocked. Unlike most hotels you can't charge anything to your room. The bar closes at 11.30 pm and as Aerosmith were playing until midnight it would have been nice if the closing time had been extended, we did ask but were told it was a business hotel. Seriously, one of the biggest rock bands in the world playing on your door step on a Saturday night, I doubt many of the hotel guests were on business.
The hotel served its purpose of a bed for a few hours before we drove home to the south of the island and because of its location to the stadium I would stay here again. Hopefully next time some improvements will have been made to the rooms.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank nichaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento M, Marketing Digital at Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017


Dear Customer

We regret that your experience has not been to your liking. We would like to thank you for your comments, your opinion is very important to us.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Thank you

Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews