We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lucky accident ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Hierbita

La Hierbita
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lucky accident ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We got here by accident, but it was tasty and pleasant surprise ... We will be back! We could have a local food by good recommendation of stuff ... nice and friendly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    405
    158
    89
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"lovely Canary House"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The food was less than mediocre,the bread which had been reheated actually split my gums.This is a throwback to the 70s and not worth the trouble.Lentils,chicken,chickpeas,grilled fish all presented in a very basic manner as one may serve their children after school.This is what they call Canary food!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Inedible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch. The place was recommended by locals. It was a rainy day. Inside chilly. We had several items, some of which were inedible like the escaldon. The main courses were goat and beef. The food was salty and overseasoned. I left my dishes after three bites. I usually eat everything. The bread was old, between humid and dry. We left with a bad aftertaste and hungry. Service was sweet though.

Helpful?
Thank Domi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
244 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Decent tapa restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant offers a wide variety of typical Canarian dishes, from which you can easily compose your own tapa-like menu.
On the table you'll immediately find bread, toasts and tasty mojo verde and rojo.
We chose 4 different plates to share between the two of us: a plate of Spanish ham, queso asado (baked cheese) which went very well with the mojo, gambas al ajillo (shrimps in a spicy garlic sauce) and calamar asado a la plancha (fresh inkfish) and had enough after this.
With a beer, 2 bottles of sparkling water and 2 glasses of good local red wine, this tasty meal costed us 55 euro.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank harmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, España
Level Contributor
217 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We normally avoid restaurants which have people on the street trying to drum up trade however we decided to make an exception for La Hierbita because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and I'm really glad we did.
The restaurant is in an amazingly labyrinthine: it is in a wonderful old Canarian building.
There are many tasty local dishes on the menu and they have some good local wines.
The service was professional and friendly.
Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hierbita also viewed

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Been to La Hierbita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing