We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great hotel located a short walk from the port/sea front in Santa Cruz. The pool area is lovely and very peaceful, with helpful staff. On a couple of days the weather was overcast so we decided to use the Spa - would highly recommend. The Spa included a hydro-pool with various stations, relaxation room, sauna, steam room, ice station, plunge pool and various aromatharepy showers.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but did use the bar which provided entertainment on some evenings. Nice place to relax after exploring in the day and joining in with the festivities of the Santa Cruz Carnival.
Only annoyance was the banging caused by other guests letting their doors slam shut - was woken up quite a few times by this!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenSouthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

We received a very warm welcome and the reception staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our first room was not what we were expecting but we were moved with no fuss at all. We would have liked the pool to be open earlier in the mornings but once open, it's a nice area to sit and relax and the pool is kept at a good temperature. The only problem we found was that getting served at the pool or main bar was a challenge, even when they weren't busy and there was a long wait once we had ordered.
Gym facilities were very good. There were a few things not working in the spa and it was disappointing that was not pointed out before we paid as some of the things were the main purpose of my visit but what was there was good.
An excellent location, with good access on foot in Santa Cruz and very quick access to the main routes in a car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Amazing stay, really friendly staff, excellent facilities. We got upgraded free of charge and our stay was fantastic. Location is walking distance to the city centre. Pools, spa, gym all impecable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deychh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Menceyl and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on Tripadvisor; it is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations of an enjoyable holiday experience under the sun of Tenerife.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their genuine kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Moreover we are very pleased to read that you appreciated the beauty of our installations as well as our location, in a quiet residential area still just a few steps away from the Casco Antiguo and its array of shopping and dining options.

Thank you once again for your visit and very kind recommendation to TripAdvisor’s readers; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We only spent one night in this hotel last November but I completely loved it and I wish I could stay longer. I really have nothing bad to say.. The room was proper nice hotel room with all the facilities, very comfortable big bed and a very big balcony. The surrounding area was beautiful green garden, very relaxing. The breakfast was fantastic and one could even have caviar and champagne if they wanted. Also the price for this small paradise was very low compare to what we have paid in some other (quite creepy) hotels around Europe. Maybe because it was out of season, I don't know..
The location of the hotel was good too, right next to a big and beautiful park. Away from the centre but the town is so small anyway it is not far to walk at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days in early March 2014. The standard of the public areas of the Hotel was high but the rooms wre disappointing. Despite being in a suposedly De-Luxe room the small room had only one chair. Are you expected to take it in turns to sit down? The blacony was very small and in the first room we were allocated non-existant. The breakfast was good appart from one waiter who refused to bring tea and just grunted and pointed at the buffet. The Dinner was of acceptable but not high quality but was priced at about double that of neighbouring restaurants.
Entertainment was unpredictable being provided on some evenings but not on others. Unfortunately the entertainment was in a semi-outdoor location meaning that you had to endure other gusets smoking if you wished to listen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank craftycat314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, we are glad to take your comments into consideration in order to improve the level of our services.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with the room we accommodated you in and would like to take the opportunity to point out that a full description of our accommodations. Including their size, is available on our website and as you can see our rooms have a balcony or window, we encourage you for future occasions to make a request prior to arrival so as to guarantee the room that best meets your holiday needs and wishes.

Moreover, we took good note of your comment on our service at breakfast and sincerely apologize; we can only assume that this must have been some kind of misunderstanding as we do serve hot drinks at the table.

Our hotel does not provide a full animation program like other hotels of our brand; however we do provide all guests in the room with a full program on what is going on in Santa Cruz on a daily basis.

In Spain smoking is allowed everywhere outdoors with the only exception being for children playgrounds and hospitals ‘entrances, we lament the inconveniences caused.

On the other hand, we are glad to hear that you appreciated the beauty of our public areas that are designed to offer an oasis of relaxation in the heart of Santa Cruz.

Thank you once again for your comments, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is really nice and clean and facilities are good, however, they are short cutting on a few details such as quality of towels - not what you'd expect. Most of the staff were helpful & friendly but we had a couple of bad experiences.

As others have said, the balconies are nice but poorly designed and offer of privacy from your neighbours. Not the fault of the hotel, but something to be aware of - there were a couple of weddings taking place during our stay and the large groups were extremely noisy, and acting like they owned the place - left us feeling a bit like we were 2nd class/in the way (and needed ear plugs!).

The food was ok, but lots of lovely places to eat near by.

Overall pretty good, but not sure we'd be rushing back...

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MovinToTheCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We sincerely regret reading the inconveniences caused by the two events that took place during your stay and your comments have been forwarded to our management onsite so as to make the adjustments required for all our guests to fully enjoy their stay at our hotel.

The genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff being one of our main strengths, we lament hearing your comment on a “couple of bad experiences”; at IBEROSTAR we want to ensure a friendly and professional approach to all our valued guests; we find it very sad to read that we were not successful on this occasion and commit to do our utmost to assure that any situation that does not meet excellence is being corrected; however we are glad to read that you found that majority of our staff were helpful and friendly.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the beauty of our newly refurbished hotel and the quality of our facilities.

Once more thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area; your constructive remarks will certainly help us to quickly improve the aspects you mentioned; thanks again for the courtesy of your time, we all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a beautiful hotel pleasant staff Lovely bedroom we had a suite didn't like the heavy doors leading to the toilet and bathroom and be careful if the floor gets wet can be slippery, the grounds to the hotel splendid so relaxing , we enjoyed our breakfast very well organised from staff to. The food, we didn't stay for evening meal has we liked to go and walk and choose a restaurant ourselves, all in all a very pleasant time for a city holiday

Room Tip: Nice walk into the town through the park opposite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey; it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, this is always our goal.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the beauty of our hotel and accommodations as well as the quality of our breakfast buffets.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Santa Cruz; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
39.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
40.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,757 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,959 reviews
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
39.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range: $118 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is the most emblematic hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Witness to the radiance that Tenerife inspires in the most famous travellers on Earth, the Grand Hotel Mencey is now a fusion of styles that combines a respect for history and hotel tradition with the latest in services and facilities that a modern traveller will appreciate. The hotel features La Cocina del Mencey, a culinary space where you can experience all kinds of gastronomic offers; SPA Sensations with more than 4,500 m² of space for you to take some well-deserved care of body and mind; a luxury fitness centre with yoga and Pilates classes, as well as paddle tennis courts; and spaces full of elegance, an imposing architecture and unique services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing