We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for a week in Jan '14. The hotel is beautiful and very well equipped - although we didn't use the spa or pool. Our room, on the fourth floor, at the back of the hotel, had a balcony with a view over the city to the sea, comfortable, spacious beds and a large shower room - alas no bath. It was also pleasantly quiet. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast offered a very wide range of options. We only ate there on one evening, preferring to eat in a variety of local restaurants. Our one meal there was not the best experience though - it took 3 attempts before we got the food we had ordered. The restaurant manager did come to apologise. We also had one or two hiccoughs with housekeeping, but nothing that was more than a minor irritant. All in all we found the hotel welcoming and comfortable. We were in Santa Cruz to go to the music festival. If we ever return we will probably stay at the Mencey again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Mandy,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey for your visit to Santa Cruz de Tenerife and for the time you spent out of your day to share your feedback on your stay; No one better than our guests can give us the appropriate insights for us to improve our services and enhance our future guests’ experiences among us.

We lament reading the imperfections of service you encountered during your stay and passed them to our heads of departments for their information so as to guarantee an impeccable service in every single department of our hotel.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and rest during their holiday among us.

Moreover, we are glad to read that you felt well cared after by our staff and that you found our hotel “welcoming and comfortable”.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and would be delighted to accommodate you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in October 2013 for a couple days as a wee getaway and was not disappointed.

Service - My flight arrived late at night meaning we didn't arrive til round 1am. As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted by a very helpful gentlemen who carried our luggage to our rooms after we checked in. Simple and quick check in. The look of the hotel was beautiful, very clean and modern with hints of old Spanish culture.

Location - The hotel is situated on a main road near the centre of Santa Cruz. Only 10 mins walk to the sea front and plenty of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area. My boyfriend is from Tenerife so knew a few more local spots to go and visit, but overall a good location.

Room - We stayed in a standard double room and the space available was great. Big double bed, the bathroom was spotless and great shower! The view however was facing a block of flats and could see into some locals living rooms but we were out most of the day so didn't bother us that much. The room was serviced everyday and done to a very high standard.

Food - We had breakfast included in our booking and a good selection of food was available. Big open dining area with very helpful staff.

Pool/Garden - We only used the pool a couple of times during our stay but it was very relaxing and quiet which is exactly what we needed after long days exploring the island. There is also a large garden surrounding the pool and hotel which is maintained to perfection and great to look at while having a coffee at the bar.

Definitely worth looking at if you want to book a long weekend away and willing to spend a little more money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferA_EDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and reviews like yours, outlining your satisfaction with our staff, amenities and ambience, are truly inspiring to our dedicated team.

Moreover, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests, and with our overall installations thoroughly maintained by our housekeeping and gardening teams.

We also thank you for your highlight on our location, in a quiet residential area of Santa Cruz but within a short walking distance to the lively city’s many attractions and on our breakfast buffet with its wide variety of hot and cold, salty and sweet options in order to please all palates, we are glad to read that we could conquer yours.

Once again, thank you for your visit and very kind recommendation; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week in the beginning of January 14.

When we arrived there was some kind of problem with our booking, however the reception handled the situation in a good matter.

We had a doubleroom with a garden view. Nice and big room, with a spacious bathroom. Nice balcony with sun until late evening. Loved the pool area, available sun beds the whole day. A little difficult to get service by the pool. Nice restaurant by the pool but the first day I got undercooked chicken, really raw. First time in my life i sent the food out. They got my a new food, but no excuses and no compensation. Eitherway the other days we ate there the food was ok.

We ate dinner one evening at the hotel, but we would not recommend the restaurant there. Its ok food and ok atmosphere, but there are so many other restaurants with delicious food and fantastic atmosphere in this city, so we would rather recommend people checking them out.

The breakfast is fantastic, with iberian ham and cava, fresh fruit, everything at least we love. Would recommend this hotel to others traveling to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannekristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey; we always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We took good note of your comments on our restaurant and pool bar and passed them to our heads of departments in order to revise and improve and apologize for the less than perfect dining experiences you had on this particular day; on the other hand we are glad to read your satisfaction with the other meals you had in our restaurant and we thank you for your highlight on our breakfast buffet where guests can savor a wide array of top quality salty and sweet options.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday in our hotel.

Once more thank you for your time and kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services; We look forward to serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at he hotel from 4 to 11 of January. It was a very pleasant and relaxed stay. The hotel building is very beautiful and clean. We had a double room with garden view. It was very clean and big enough. So was the bathroom. There was also a balcony with plenty of sunshine in the afternoon. Location was o.k.: a ten minutes'walk to the city center and a nice park near the hotel.
Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of good food. We also enjoyed a very good dinner in the evening. Staff was very friendly and helpful everywhere: reception, restaurant, bar...
My husband went several times to the gym, which is free of charge, and he liked it very much and found it good quality.
As our flight was very late in the evening we asked to keep our room until six. This was possible for an extra charge of 39 euros. We did so as this was very convenient for us.
Santa Cruz is a very nice city to visit. If we come back we 'll certainly stay at the Mencey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaZonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Erika,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving it.

Moreover, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in , since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the quality of our fitness room as well as the location of our hotel, within a short walking distance to the lively Santa Cruz yet in a tranquil residential area to ensure a perfect rest to our guests.

Thank you again for your valuable time; It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tenerife and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a pity! I had stayed in this hotel years ago, the rooms and several other things definitely needed some work done, but the entrance and the magnificent veranda had a powerful magic, an extraordinary elegance, you felt you were in the twenties, it was a dream. Well, maybe it was, because all of that is gone forever . A silly project transformed it into just another five stars hotel, it is not unique any more. Whatever damage could be made was made. Any finesse is gone. The real disaster is the veranda, still there, beautiful, but its soul was destroyed.
My room is white, ALL white, with no personality whatsoever. Oh, it has a huge black lamp and a black and white photo/painting (I would rather not look at it to check). And the practical details: in order to turn the bedside light on or off you must get out of bed, because you cannot reach the switch. The Internet connection is beyond ridiculous, you have to type in your very complicated codes every five minutes, very irritating. Service at the swimming pool bar is SO slow!
Breakfast is outstanding though, and it is a very good hotel, in the way that a lady might still be beautiful after too much surgery and Botox . What a shame! This is so sad.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Paolo,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey for your holidays in Santa Cruz de Tenerife and for the time you took out of your day to share your personal impressions on your recent stay among us.

We lament reading your disappointment with the complete refurbishment of our hotel, however we would like to point out that after its renovation in 2011, the hotel has become a reference in Tenerife for aspects such as hospitality, luxury and elegance as well as for its gastronomic cuisine and cooking class room.; Moreover, all rooms and lounges have maintained their 40’ 50’s feel with recovered antiquities and original artworks.

Furthermore, we took good note of your comment on the service by our pool bar and passed it on to our head of department for revision and improvement.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our breakfast buffet offer because in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local and international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics; We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and would be delighted to accommodate you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Mencey for one week in the beginning of January.

When we arrived there was some kind of mixup with our booking, however the reception handled the situation in a good matter.

Hotel building is beautiful, clean and nicely decorated. The hotel might be a bit hard to find as they don't mention the name anywhere.

We had a doubleroom with a garden view. The room was very clean, quiet and big enough. Bathroom was spacious and smart. A special note for the extremely comfortable and large bed. There was also a balcony, but we didn't use it.
Large flat TV on the wall with around 60 channels, but only a few in English. Luckily they have BloombergTV, which is my favorite.

The pool area was our favorite place where we spent most of our time. Nice big pool, but the service (drinks) was a bit slow. We ate lunch at the pool bar every day, and enjoyed most of the dishes. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel gym is free of charge and good quality. There are treadmills etc, but also free weights. They have barbells, dumbells and a Smith where you can do some heavier lifting (squats, bench press etc). We hit the gym almost every day and were able to do a satisfying workout for all body parts "bodybuilding style".

We had one rainy day during our vacation and that's when we decided to visit the hotel SPA. It costs 15 euros and it's worth going! Very clean, modern and versatile. There are different pools, saunas and relaxation areas. Very enjoyable.

Not much to complain about. Biggest complaint is that most of the staff don't speak English. For example it was quite a pain to order from the room service. I definitely recommend learning some basics in Spanish before going.

Other things worth mentioning:

- Extremely friendly staff
- Good location, just 10 min walk to the city centrum
- Grocery store just a few minutes away
- Very nice park next to the hotel
- Casino downstairs. There are slot machines, table games and also live poker
- WiFi is free of charge, but a bit slow. Works also at the pool area.
- Hotel SPA offers treatments like massages and facials. My fiancee was pleased with the quality, price was reasonable
- On top of the gym, on the roof, there are two paddle courts (almost like Tennis). Very fun activity, recommended!
- Breakfast is fantastic! Very good selection of everything. Nice to start of the day with a glass of Cava

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vesa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Vesa,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. It is always rewarding to read that our guests have enjoyed their holidays among us.

We are delighted to read your satisfaction with the comfort and cleanliness of your accommodation as well as the beauty of our overall installations; the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is an architectural jewel declared a cultural heritage site and renown throughout Spain for its high gastronomic cuisine and the levels of service provided to its guests, it is very rewarding to read that you appreciated these aspects of your stay in our hotel.

Once more, thank you for your visit and valuable time; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and would be enchanted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tenerife.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis, so are unable to comment on the quality of the dinners. We thought breakfast was good, unlike other recent reviews, with a good selection of fresh fruit. We sometimes had to queue to get in the dining room at peak time (around 10 a.m.), but for no longer than five minutes. The bedroom was lovely with comfortable beds and was tastefully decorated in black and white. It was kept spotlessly clean, as was the hotel in general. Husband commented on the excellent quality of the fitness suite. The location was convenient and within easy reach of the main shopping area. Santa Cruz is a great city to visit. We were there for New Year and so saw the spectacular fire works. Great beach about 10/15 minutes drive away. I encountered no problems with the free WiFi and used it daily. Would definitely recommend and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LundyHouseOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey for your New Year’s holidays in Santa Cruz and for spending part of your time to share your feedback; we are delighted to read that you had a “relaxing and comfortable stay” among us.

Moreover, we thank you for your highlight on our breakfast buffet as we strive to prepare a wide variety of high quality gastronomic delights in order to please all palates, we are glad to read that we were successful on this occasion.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday in our hotel.

Last but not least, at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, our guests can use the 4,630m2 of fabulous facilities for sports, including a fully-equipped gym with personal trainer, paddle tennis courts, a hall for special activities, and a wellness center with a thermal circuit covering more than 2,000m2, we are glad to read that your husband took full advantage of our installations.

Once again, thank you for your time and very kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
39.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
40.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,757 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,959 reviews
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
39.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range: $118 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is the most emblematic hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Witness to the radiance that Tenerife inspires in the most famous travellers on Earth, the Grand Hotel Mencey is now a fusion of styles that combines a respect for history and hotel tradition with the latest in services and facilities that a modern traveller will appreciate. The hotel features La Cocina del Mencey, a culinary space where you can experience all kinds of gastronomic offers; SPA Sensations with more than 4,500 m² of space for you to take some well-deserved care of body and mind; a luxury fitness centre with yoga and Pilates classes, as well as paddle tennis courts; and spaces full of elegance, an imposing architecture and unique services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing