We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with pool and welness( in case it rains), super location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel with pool and welness( in case it rains), super location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked via booking.com , wanted to stay for 2 nights, and we decided to stay for 4 nights. wanted to go to la gomerra, but tenerif was so nice we decided to stay
home of one of the oldest carnavals in europe, they partied for about 10 days(our hotel was outside the buzz)

great view on the central courtyard, out-looking to the pool.

great breakfast buffet that you can have included in your booking.com for under 120 EUR a night, per room. By car you are in 8km to a very nice sandy beach, san Andres
clean, style, in front of the biggest park of Santa cruz, 8 min walk to main shopping street.
mostly older clientèle in their 60's, occasional a bus of tourists, great staff(LUIS), friendly folks

breakfast otherwise is 18 eur pp, there is a great coffee shop, 3 minutes walk (2nd street on the right if you take a left coming out of the hotel) called MisenPlace, where you can eat for half of the price (although not the same selection of foods)
Casino in basement

Room Tip: go for the courtyard view, not the street side, 304 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsLoneranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey. The heads of departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your comments with our team. Your positive and encouraging words motivated us to keep on working with joy and enthusiasm.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the breakfasts excellent and the staff nice. Excellent service and culinary highlights are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their brilliance we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the stunning views, the value for money and the location, were satisfactory to you.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I must say we were all enchanted to have you at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey. We trust it will not be long before you will be back with us for another visit. We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention and, we look forward to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    483
    144
    46
    25
See reviews for
297
796
77
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Grand old colonial hotel which is as good as any I have ever stopped in. We had three days in Santa Cruz before heading to the south of the island. We chose the hotel purely on price using one of the travel websites and booked 11 months in advance. We couldn't believe the standard of the hotel when we arrived - turned out someone messed up the pricing on the hotel booking system. The hotel honoured the prices and were very gracious in the way they dealt with the matter.

Breakfasts were great - plenty of choice whatever type of breakfast you like. We ate lunch one day - good food at a reasonable price. The only criticism would be the dinner menu, nothing at all to suit a vegetarian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Roger,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We took good note of your comments regarding the menu at dinner for vegetarians and we will certainly take it into account. Nevertheless, in the future we invite you to immediately inform us if something is not to your entire satisfaction or if we can help in any way to make your stay with us even more enjoyable because we would then be able to offer a satisfactory solution for your grieves. We are always willing to satisfy all palates and therefore, our chef would have done his utmost to supply a suiting solution straight away.

Moreover, it is very pleasant that you have fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we could fulfill your expectations as a five-star establishment. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are proud that we could make our goal with you.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tenerife.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey is located in a peaceful residential area in the heart of the old quarter in Santa Cruz Tenerife. The Colonial style hotel focus on the business travel segment with its 261 recently refurbished deluxe rooms. We were given a warm welcome by all the staff and especially Ricardo and Lina on reception were so helpful each time we saw them. I had booked a junior suite for my wife and I to have a week in the sun and we had a very nice spacious room on the 1st floor overlooking the central courtyard which was very quiet. We found the bedroom and lounge spotlessly clean in fact the entire hotel was immaculate. The suite had a separate WC to the bath and power shower with twin sinks between the two rooms. A settee 2 lounge chairs and a coffee table were on one side of the room and a desk and chair between them and the large 6ft bed. The bed was the only disappointment as it was so hard and as I suffer with a bad back could not sleep comfortablely in it. Ricardo at reception was extremely helpful and let me view 4 other suites to see if I could find a softer bed to suit my needs. Sadly none were, so they arranged to have extra duvets put onto the bed which made a big difference. Two French doors opened onto its own terrace overlooking the courtyard and one had two chairs and a coffee table. The hotel has a casino, business centre, free Wi Fi, spa and outdoor pool. We found the food in the hotel to be excellent and the buffet breakfast had a large selection of hot and cold food with freshly baked bread, rolls and pastries.
As you turn left out of the hotel and cross the Rambla General Franco road there is a large park the Garcia Sanabria. This has many benches to sit and walking paths through it were the locals bring their children and walk their dogs. If you stroll through to the opposite end of the park you will have a choice of streets that will take you to the main shopping area and down to the marina. On a street called Calle Castillo you will find the most delightful patisserie called Palmelita which has an awesome choice of freshly made cakes and light snacks which we enjoyed frequently with a nice coffee or cold beer. If you want to see the original capital of Tenerife which is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site take a tram up to La Laguna. It’s only a few euros and you can arrange a free tour of the most important buildings with all their past history via the tourist office. It’s best to get the hotel to book in advance if you want an English speaking guide. We chose Santa Cruz in the north of Tenerife as we wanted to be away from the overcrowded commercial south. However as the mountain range is pretty close the weather is more likely to get more clouds. So you could be lazing by the pool in full sun one minute and overshadowed by cloud the next. If you decide to stay in Santa Cruz I don’t think you could find a better hotel than the Grand Hotel Mencey for its location, service and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PH&LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that our spectacular hotel has astounded you with its excellent location. We hope you will have the opportunity to be back for another visit and delight yourself with the exquisite cuisine, personalized service and truly dreamlike suites and rooms.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “If you decide to stay in Santa Cruz I don’t think you could find a better hotel than the Grand Hotel Mencey for its location, service and friendly staff “show us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a night in the hotel as a birthday gift. A girlie day out shopping and a night in the hotel. Fab decor, the juxtaposition of old and new is excellent. Lovely room, fantastic breakfast. The best bit for me was the Gin and Tonic... Has to be the best on the island, well worth a drive to Santa Cruz for the pleasure. A barman who knew what he was talking about and was really interesting. I believe they also do a taster option ... That's next on my "to do" list.

Room Tip: Make time for a leisurely breakfast, great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ann,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

Declared a cultural heritage site and completely renovated in 2011, the Iberostar Grand Mencey in Santa Cruz de Tenerife is in a class of its own, not only renowned in the Canary Islands but also throughout all of Spain. Being an architectural jewel, this hotel combines urban luxury with the modern concepts of VIP guests, Wellness & SPA, business and vacation travel, conventions, the beach, and relaxation. We are enchanted you enjoyed it´s lovely rooms and facilities.

We are also very glad to read that you liked indulging in our abundant breakfast buffet. We strive to delight all palates and we find it wonderful to have conquest yours. Moreover, we thank you for highlighting the delicately preparation of the gin tonics offered at our bar by our outstanding staff. We will certainly congratulate them for their great professionalism.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to receiving you in the future.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is primarily a business hotel with tourists arriving mainly at weekends. The reception area is impressive and the staff there were pleasant and efficient; I have seen comments about aloofness but this should be seen in the context of a business hotel. We had a room overlooking the pool, having noted comments about noise from the road. It wasa good size, with plenty of storage space and a nice bathroom. Decor is minimalist but had a bright and clean feel and the room was well kept by a very pleasant lady. We heard very little noise from adjoining rooms (they were occupied) or from the corridor.
Breakfast was buffet style with a good range of hot and cold food; there was no "egg station" for omelettes etc but there was always scrambled egg plus a "guest" egg, usually some sort of tortilla or hard boiled. Getting a coffee sometimes took a while but overall it was a good experience and staff were very friendly.
We did not use the restaurant for other meals; it is reputedly one of the best on the island but with prices to match. We like to eat around and there are many good value restaurants in the city, including the Tagoror which is opposite the hotel entance. The small bar next door is also good for a quick snack - particularly liked their tortilla with onion.
There is a nice outdoor pool and gym, neither very busy during our stay.
The location deserves a mention. If you cross the road and walk through the delightful Parque Garcia Sanabria you are at the edge of the shopping area. If you want to explore outside Santa Cruz, the bus station is about 30 minutes walk from the hotel, near a large Corte Ingles store; buy a Bonobus ticket (15 euro) which gets you a discount; fares are then very cheap by English standards and we found the service reliable.
We enjoyed both the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Stuart,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

As you wrote that you enjoyed the excellent location, the bright and clean room, as well as the efforts of our outstanding staff and the abundant breakfast buffet, we know you took some beautiful holiday memories back home, and to us this is part of our goal.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was incredibly disappointed with the level of customer service we experienced at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey. From the moment we checked in we found the staff at the front desk unhelpful, unfriendly and unapproachable! On arrival our room smelled like a sewer and when we brought this to the attention of the staff they seemed uninterested and confrontational, we were eventually moved to another without so much as an apology.

The surroundings of the hotel itself are very nice but unfortunately this was the only element in keeping with it's 5 star rating. After spending over €1000 for our week we found it very disappointing to have an additional charge of €15 each applied every time we wanted to gain access to the indoor heated pool/spa (didn't know about this prior to arrival). On the second day of our stay my wife enquired about booking a treatment but was promptly informed that there was no availability for the entire week - no offer of cancellation etc.

All in all, it's a terrible shame as this has the potential to be a wonderful hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MickC-KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputatio Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mick,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

That you have not fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we couldn´t meet your expectations as a five-star establishment is very unfortunate. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are very sorry that we couldn´t make our goal with you. However, we discussed your comments thoroughly with the heads of our different departments and we apologize if we have provided services that are below our standards or for any inconvenience which might have happened to you during your stay in our house.

Having undergone a total refurbishment, the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey is now a modern and magnificent 5-star urban complex built in stunning colonial-style architecture of the Canary Islands, from which you can experience all the marvels that the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Santa Cruz has to offer, open to the sea and brimming with attractions to visit. We are glad that our spectacular hotel has astounded you with its excellent location. We hope you will have the opportunity to be back for another visit and delight yourself with the exquisite cuisine, personalized service and truly dreamlike suites and rooms.

We are really sorry that this time we could not make our goal and we would be delighted to may serve you again to demonstrate that we strive to offer splendid holidays.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this property, rooms were excellent, spacious and the staff did a lot more than the average city hotel for the customer. This is my first choice hotel for Santa Cruz which is a nice city with good shopping and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrt246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey was such an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

That you have fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we could fulfill your expectations as a five-star establishment is very pleasant. Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. At the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey it is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts.

We will be delighted to welcome you back.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
41.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,312 reviews
41.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
39.4 mi away
Tagoro Family & Fun Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is, without a doubt, the best five-star luxury hotel in Tenerife. Fully renovated, the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is great for who come to Santa Cruz de Tenerife to enjoy thehotel's spa & wellness centre, taste the delectable food prepared at the Cooking Classroom and attend fun events. Iconic hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is full of character. It was the hotel of choice of the most fascinating figures of the twentieth century and today features the latest technological devices and equipment. More than 4,500m² for your wellbeing. The SPA Sensations offers spa and wellness facilities like no other spa in Santa Cruz: thermal area with sauna, foot bath, Turkish bath, dry heat, float tank, hydrotherapy pool, water well, whirlpool bath, sensation shower, relaxing room, 14 massage and treatment booths, fitness room with state-of-the-art machines, Pilates, yoga... The best spa in Santa Cruz can be found at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. Colonial architecture. The hotel's contemporary style draws inspiration from the finest architectural styles of the Canaries. The halls, suites, restaurants, pools and casino are all enjoyable spaces with the smartest urban design. Suites with the ideal sleeping environment. Staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey ensures a good night's sleep in the suites of the best five-star hotel in Tenerife. Luxury and great amenities in a style that evokes the glamour of the 50s. 11 function rooms. Up to 6,000m² for events in a unique setting in Santa Cruz. With the latest technological equipment and our attentive staff, the success of your event is guaranteed at IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts. Premium Wi-Fi. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection - 3.5Mb in up to six devices - to use during your stay. Cooking Classroom. All the culinary pleasures is what guests find at the Cooking Classroom, a unique space for foodies in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. It offers cooking lessons, master classes and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing