We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stopped at this hotel for one night in January 2013, I was early at check in and was informed that the room booked had a problem, I was immediately allocated a suite with all amenities.
The service was excellent, the choice of breakfast is outstanding, the staff were very helpful and for me the location is great as it is within 15 minutes walking to the center of Santa Cruz de Tenerife.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Roger,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    482
    144
    46
    25
See reviews for
296
793
77
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I checked in at 4-30 with wife and told our room not ready could we wait 15 mins. Err no i couldn't soi asked what room was ready and told a suite available so i paid for this.

In most other 5 star hotels this would have been done free. That said a Great hotel in good location. Although room not that big. Manuel very helpful, suite was ok size but not that large.

Breakfast was good and buffet style.

So a bit aggrieved at paying extra but this off set by winning well over hotel cost in their casino !

Will stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loadlift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We take in consideration all your comments because we are convinced that listening to our clients is the best way to achieve their satisfaction.

We are happy to read that you were lucky in the casino, congratulations! Further, it is pleasant that you enjoyed our fantastic facilities, our plentiful breakfast buffet, and the outstanding service of our first class staff. We will certainly inform them, especially Manuel, about your praising comments regarding their professional and helpful attitude.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest possible convenience, to leave a good and lasting impression.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

From friendly concierge services, to a perfect room. I have nothing but positives to say about our experience here. Great location with a nice walk through the park before you get into the shopping area of downtown.

Room Tip: If I did it again, I'd get a courtyard view...not as nice, but a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kensills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to keep your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and we are delighted to have been successful on this occasion.

As it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms that are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We are also very happy that you outlined the friendliness of our outstanding staff. We will congratulate them for their professionalism and friendliness which made your stay more enjoyable.

Further, it is nice to know that you enjoyed the park and shopping area downtown. In Iberostar we do our best to offer comfortable accommodation in great settings and with very nice surroundings to add pleasure to your holidays. It fills us with satisfaction that you took some beautiful memories of your stay back home.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you once again on your next visit to Tenerife.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The weather was very wet when we stayed, so I don’t think we saw either Santa Cruz or the hotel at its best!

We parked in the hotel’s designated area of the underground multi-storey car park, which had access to the hotel grounds at the back. There was an extra charge for parking, but it was convenient and the entrance/exit procedures worked well.
On arrival, quite late in the evening, the receptionist on duty didn’t give the impression that our arrival was expected (despite having booked well in advance, and having had an e-mail from the hotel confirming the booking a few days before arrival). He seemed quite curt (although this may have been a language issue) and we were not shown to our room. However, other than the arrival, the reception staff were very helpful.

The room and bathroom were spacious and well equipped. (I think it was called a ‘deluxe garden view’.) The décor was quite minimalist – mainly white, with a bit of black and a wooden floor. We had a garden view but no balcony. Housekeeping was good.

The grounds of the hotel were immaculately kept, and also had some interesting terrapins!
We used the pool a couple of times (trying to have a swim between the rain showers, but not necessarily succeeding). It is a rectangular pool with good depth, and was kept very clean (despite the weather). The pool attendant (who also gives out towels) seemed to stay at his post all day, even when it was raining heavily!
The interior public areas of the hotel are very grand in style, and also very well kept.

We had booked on a bed & breakfast basis, but chose to eat in the hotel every evening - from the bar menu on our first night, and in the restaurant on the other three nights of our stay. The restaurant has an elegant and welcoming atmosphere, and we thought both the quality of the table d’hote dinner and the service were excellent.
The buffet breakfast was also very good, with a wide range of choices, kept well replenished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel is newly refurnished and this is done really beautiful in light colors. The SPA and fitness center is really nice. Built with modern architecture in concrete and up-to-equipment. It is 15 euro per person to enter the SPA, even for guests, but it was worth it. Outside pool area is also nice, but to few sunbeds.

We got upgraded to a junior suite on the corner overlooking the city. A beautiful room in white and light colors. Jacuzzi bath tube and separate shower. Negative is AC not running when key is not left in the slot next to the door. The amenities are also not particular good and towels are outworn.

However, worst part was the service in the restaurant. We got the wrong starters and got them before we had a chance to order wine. No one asked us if we wanted dessert, and it took 20 mins to pay. Table next to us asked for dessert 4 times and got the bill instead. They had enough waiters, but they were badly organized and had no clue want to do. Highly recommend to eat somewhere outside the hotel - nice area down at the harbor.

You have to keep in mind that this is a CITY hotel. Not a resort. The city is nice with a lot of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to fulfill all your expectations.

We pay the finest attention to detail when it comes to remarkably prepared food and unmatched service. We are very sorry that you did not experience a gastronomic holiday to the Canarias Islands like none other. This is why we took good note of your comments related to the service in our restaurant. We passed your constructive critics to the maître in order to revise and if possible improve the organization. However, we would like to point out that the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths, both in guest surveys as in internet portals. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests and we are sorry that on this occasion exceptionally we were not up to our high quality standards.

On the other hand, it is very enjoyable that you enjoyed our sublime location and that you highlighted the wonderful surroundings. In Iberostar we strive to offer fantastic accommodation in unbeatable settings and delightful areas. It is fantastic to read that this was a satisfying part of your stay.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for having so precisely described the beauty of our hotel, rooms and facilities, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our design, created to make your stay as comfortable and special as possible.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve the points you mentioned. Hoping to may receive you again in the future, we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, wishing we can change through it your opinion.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed over here over the Christmas holiday. The facility is beautiful and the staff very accommodating. The rooms are clean and modern. It is close to everything. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with only good holiday memories.

We are satisfied to read that we were successful in many of our services. As you wrote that you enjoyed the excellent location, the spotlessness of the modern facilities and the efforts of our outstanding staff we know you took some beautiful holiday memories back home, and to us this is part of our goal.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed in many Iberostar hotels which have been excellent Again this Iberostar hotel is extremely impressive and has been recently refurbished. There is a small swimming pool area and a spa (extra charge even for guests). The reception staff were efficient. We had a superior room which was minimalist in design. The room was a good size with a large comfortable double bed. The linen was spotless as was the room. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. The dining room was very attractive. Unfortunately there are some problems with this hotel in comparison to other 5 star hotels that we have stayed in.
1. On arrival there was no welcome drink or cold towel to refresh you.
2. The parking was difficult to find as was the way from the car park to the hotel reception. You have to pay to park your car in the car park which appears penny pinching to me.
3. There was no complimentary water in the room or any fruit bowl which is normal in a 5 star hotel.
4. There was a fridge with small (50cl) bottles of water at a charge of 4.50 euros which we felt was expensive.
5. There was no turn down service in the evening to refresh the room. Again standard in most hotels these days.
6. We asked for two extra pillows which did not come until we went down to reception to ask what had happened to them
My impression of the hotel was that it had a cold atmosphere with the staff not looking very happy in their work. I would not stay at the Iberostar Mencey again.

Room Tip: Get a superior room as the standard rooms looked very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which are greatly appreciated. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We took good note of the lacks you outlined and we will do our best to surprise you positively if you decide to honor us with a new visit in the future. However, for coming occasions, we invite you to contact our reception with any request or special wish you might have. We do our utmost to fulfill or even exceed guest expectation. Therefore, our staff will certainly do whatever is in their hands to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We deeply regret not to have been informed about your grievances because many of them could have been remedied straight away.

On the other hand, it fills us with proud to read that you find the cleanliness excellent and the staff efficient. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of praising mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the impressive design, the attractive dining room and the recent refurbishment, were satisfactory to you.

Hoping to may receive you again in the future, we assure you in advance our most caring dedication, wishing we can change through it your opinion.

Our kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,512 reviews
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
41.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,306 reviews
41.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,782 reviews
39.4 mi away
Tagoro Family & Fun Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is, without a doubt, the best five-star luxury hotel in Tenerife. Fully renovated, the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is great for who come to Santa Cruz de Tenerife to enjoy thehotel's spa & wellness centre, taste the delectable food prepared at the Cooking Classroom and attend fun events. Iconic hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is full of character. It was the hotel of choice of the most fascinating figures of the twentieth century and today features the latest technological devices and equipment. More than 4,500m² for your wellbeing. The SPA Sensations offers spa and wellness facilities like no other spa in Santa Cruz: thermal area with sauna, foot bath, Turkish bath, dry heat, float tank, hydrotherapy pool, water well, whirlpool bath, sensation shower, relaxing room, 14 massage and treatment booths, fitness room with state-of-the-art machines, Pilates, yoga... The best spa in Santa Cruz can be found at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. Colonial architecture. The hotel's contemporary style draws inspiration from the finest architectural styles of the Canaries. The halls, suites, restaurants, pools and casino are all enjoyable spaces with the smartest urban design. Suites with the ideal sleeping environment. Staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey ensures a good night's sleep in the suites of the best five-star hotel in Tenerife. Luxury and great amenities in a style that evokes the glamour of the 50s. 11 function rooms. Up to 6,000m² for events in a unique setting in Santa Cruz. With the latest technological equipment and our attentive staff, the success of your event is guaranteed at IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts. Premium Wi-Fi. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection - 3.5Mb in up to six devices - to use during your stay. Cooking Classroom. All the culinary pleasures is what guests find at the Cooking Classroom, a unique space for foodies in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. It offers cooking lessons, master classes and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing