We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service could be better at 5-Star Hotel Mencey in Santa Cruz de Tenerife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service could be better at 5-Star Hotel Mencey in Santa Cruz de Tenerife”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has all the appearance of a 5-star hotel. It has some beautiful old colonial architecture and decor and is very clean and well maintained. The location was good, about 10 minutes walk from the city centre with a good transport service and taxi fares were very reasonable. However, we stayed 2 nights in August and felt the service left a lot to be desired. First of all, after checking in, we were disappointed to be given a twin bedroom having asked for a double! Having said that, the beds and room were very comfortable. Breakfast, which was buffet style, was good with plenty of choice of both hot and cold fare, a great selection of breads, cheeses and fruit. Bar service and restaurant service was extremely slow and delivered more often with a scowl than a smile. However, the leisure centre was excellent and run by a very efficient and friendly young woman. We had no complaints with the cleaning staff either. The attitude of staff generally was average whereas we expected it to be exceptional. With a few tweaks and more attention to staff training, this hotel could certainly be first class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pod1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    482
    144
    46
    25
See reviews for
296
793
77
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We only stayed one night but we arrived at 9AM and they allowed us to check in. Location was great for walking all over the old district, pedestrian streets, and all of the parks. Our only complaint was the air conditioning. We could only cool our room down if we closed the door to the hall/bathroom. Then there was no ventilation in the bathroom and it developed a musty smell that was problematic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmerwilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from Hotel Mencey after staying there with my boyfriend for a week. (We're 21 & 27) A stunning hotel, very spacious and quiet. We stayed in a room overlooking the pool which was fab as we got the sun on the balcony from about 3pm until the sun set behind the mountains at around 7ish.

We didnt want to go somewhere loud and full of drunks! So we picked this place as it seemed to tick all the boxes for us as a couple.
The city had very little tourism, was slow paced and very relaxing. Nearly everything is within walking distance excluding the closest sand beach (which was 20mins away in a taxi).

Due to the area not revolving around tourism not many locals spoke good English but this added to the charm. As we don't speak Spanish this did make meal time challenging (and menus were all in Spanish) but we easily got by. Our favourite restaurants were De Canio 3 & Mauma. Whilst on the subject of food, the evening meals in the hotel were based on an A La Carte menu with literally no choice - you get what your given and have to empty your wallet of 75euros per person! The menu, on the only evening we went, included one sitting of cabbage puree and another sitting of octopus.

The pool was always quiet and always had an attendant who was a perfectionist in his handling of the area!! - The water was warm due to the sun being on it all day long.

Would have given this hotel 5 stars if there hadnt had been a few minor issues which didnt affect the holiday.

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrading the to Superior room as this room is quiet, overlooking the pool & mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from Hotel Mencey and it was just perfect for a relaxing week in the sun.

There are no issues over sunbeds, as soon as someone leaves the attendant removes the towels.

The Hotel is beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in a room overlooking the courtyard and it was very quiet.

As previously mentioned on other reviews the staff are so helpful. There is a mix of younger staff who work on reception and mature staff who work in the restaurant and bar, they cannot do enough to ensure your stay is stress free. Ask the barman to suggest a Gin, his creations in what looks like a small fishbowl are a piece of art.

If you are there for a week or less I would book half board, it is good value and the food is lovely but you only get two choices for starter and main.

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HStewarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fabulous palacial hotel. A true 5 star, Hotel staff were very helpful and could not do enough for you.Food was brilliant - had half board - liked the fact we could change the evening meal to a lunchtime meal without any fuss. Bed- the biggest we have ever stayed in - made our king size at home look like a single! Pool was salt water - much better than chlorine - had a wooden decking which smelt lovely - like in a sauna .Good gym - free to hotel guests. Nice City to walk round in the evenings and beautiful big park nearby for walking with family and children etc. If no car - easy to get to beach - a 10 minute walk to bus then 20 mins to nice beach for 1e 5 cents.
if i had to say 1 way to improve at hotel - it is for the staff in the bar and restaurant to serve drinks quicker-
i would definately recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isobel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Beautifully refurbished: great breakfast; comfortable, clean, spacious, modern and altogether fabulous rooms; wonderful grounds and facilities, pool, gym, etc.; perfect location; very good value for a hotel of this quality; and, on the whole exceedingly pleasant staff.

Only two very minor issues throughout our six night stay, the cover for the bathroom light fell down during the night which gave us a bit of a shock but this was rectified the next day with no problem at all. Also, we did attempt one evening to have dinner in the bar area but one of the barman seemed in a thoroughly bad mood, muttering, slamming things down and completely ignoring us so needless to say we went elsewhere. I must stress that this was the exception not the rule, the rest of the staff we encountered were delightful, in particular the two young ladies on reception who really warrant special mention as they were so welcoming and friendly.

In terms of parking we just found spaces on the roads around the hotel and had no problem doing this at all so avoided the 16 Euros charge per day which was a bonus and I must also mention the Tagodor restaurant opposite the hotel's entrance which served delicious authentic food. You can't book and it's always full, mostly with locals, but well worth stopping by to see if there is a table free. One last thing - don't leave Tenerife without trying a local coffee called cortado leche leche (that isn't incorrectly typed, it is leche leche) - yum!

Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Still can't believe how lucky we were to chance upon and stay for five nights at this most excellent hotel. Everything was of the highest specification and order. The breakfast buffet was quite exquisite and we had such a peaceful and tranquil start to each day eating the delicious, beautifully presented food as we sat on the terrace. The staff were extremely kind and helpful, giving us personal service in the form of driving directions to some stunning locations of which we would otherwise have been unaware. The bedroom was furnished and decorated to the highest standard, very comfortable beds. We had requested a sea view and were happy to discover we had this with a balcony. We found the central location excellent, there are many shops and fabulous places to eat, and to visit within easy walking distance. Car parking was easy and stress free as the hotel has a car park or there is ample free street parking all around the hotel. The pool is absolutely beautiful, so too are the surrounding restaurant and poolside bar. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and fully intend to visit again with members of my family.

Room Tip: I would choose overlooking the pool next time, it looks beautiful from that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz de Tenerife
17.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,512 reviews
39.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
41.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,306 reviews
41.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,781 reviews
39.4 mi away
Tagoro Family & Fun Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
Address: Calle Doctor Jose Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is, without a doubt, the best five-star luxury hotel in Tenerife. Fully renovated, the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is great for who come to Santa Cruz de Tenerife to enjoy thehotel's spa & wellness centre, taste the delectable food prepared at the Cooking Classroom and attend fun events. Iconic hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey is full of character. It was the hotel of choice of the most fascinating figures of the twentieth century and today features the latest technological devices and equipment. More than 4,500m² for your wellbeing. The SPA Sensations offers spa and wellness facilities like no other spa in Santa Cruz: thermal area with sauna, foot bath, Turkish bath, dry heat, float tank, hydrotherapy pool, water well, whirlpool bath, sensation shower, relaxing room, 14 massage and treatment booths, fitness room with state-of-the-art machines, Pilates, yoga... The best spa in Santa Cruz can be found at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey. Colonial architecture. The hotel's contemporary style draws inspiration from the finest architectural styles of the Canaries. The halls, suites, restaurants, pools and casino are all enjoyable spaces with the smartest urban design. Suites with the ideal sleeping environment. Staying at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey ensures a good night's sleep in the suites of the best five-star hotel in Tenerife. Luxury and great amenities in a style that evokes the glamour of the 50s. 11 function rooms. Up to 6,000m² for events in a unique setting in Santa Cruz. With the latest technological equipment and our attentive staff, the success of your event is guaranteed at IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts. Premium Wi-Fi. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection - 3.5Mb in up to six devices - to use during your stay. Cooking Classroom. All the culinary pleasures is what guests find at the Cooking Classroom, a unique space for foodies in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. It offers cooking lessons, master classes and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing