We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Definate Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colon Rambla

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Colon Rambla
Certificate of Excellence
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Definate Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

My partner and I stayed one night at the Colon Rambla, initally given a room which was smoking and had a linguring smell of smoke - but recpetion were happy to change us to room 202 which had a pool view and lots of space (lounge, kitchen, bathroom, balcony, large bedroom) although this up grade cost us €3.60 for the night !!!

Hotel clean and quiet very good value slight disapointment would be breakfast but we were a little late down and it had been busy so not much choice left.

Its a lovely 10 minute walk into the heart of Santa Cruz and the pool was lovely. Also just around the corner is the best restaurant in Santa Cruz (but discreet) perfect for romance. See my restaurant review la cazvela. Will definately be back to both hotel and restaurant the best member of staff was the young lady on the front desk very helpful and accomodating a real asset to the company.

Room Tip: Request Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loadlift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Colon_Rambla, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colon Rambla, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear client,

From Hotel Colón Rambla we want to thank you for the comments posted on Tripadvisor. Your opinion on this site is extremely helpful for other travellers and an excellent opportunity to share your experience in the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us should you need anything we can do for you on your next stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mayka Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    220
    52
    8
    11
See reviews for
73
246
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Colón Rambla for leisure, and it was really splendid. I chose this hotel on the basis of other reviews, and definitely I did the perfect choice. Rooms were big enough, with a nice swimming pool view. Once I ordered the room service and I had a private lunch on my balcony facing the garden and the pool, with a really good sunset. The hotel staff really helps you on anything you may need. Very good value for breakfast: high quality products, different coffe types and excellent atmosphere"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Colon_Rambla, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colon Rambla, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear client,

We want to thank you for the comments so positive posted on Tripadvisor, which are very important for us to offer you a better service and they are very useful too for other clients which visit this website.

In case you have any further suggestions they will be very appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mayka Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed last week at the Hotel Colon again for a business trip. Travelling around the world for business, I value the delicate balance btw efficiency, professionalism and location with the charm, familiarity and fine treatment of the Hotel Colom. A medium family business hotel, with outstanding rooms and top location, the swiming pool and the fine treatement from the employees make you feel like being in a small family while staying working abroad. A small oasis of calm in our busy lifes.

Pictures reflect reality, but be sure you pick up the renovated ones looking to the pool. Let me also thanks the genuine and top service from the reception on our millions of request. Trully thanks for a great business week in canary islands. You really make it trully special.

Thakns again, we will be back for business or family trip.

Room Tip: Look in advacne and ask for the new rooms to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cayuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

When we entered our suite for the first time my heart sank. The suite badly needed painting which made it seem like a room in a seedy one star hotel on the wrong side of the tracks, even though the lobby area downstairs was very presentable, and the staff accommodating. The other problem was the traffic noise. The hotel is beside a very busy street so at no time can you open the windows, and even with the windows closed I needed to use my ear plugs. On the other side of the hotel is a school so forget the possibility of an afternoon nap at this hotel.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank wittottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

"Very nice room and high quality standards. Room looking onto the garden
and pool quite cozy, with free wifi if you book directly on the hotel
website. Good value for breakfast and helfpulf staff"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTHONYJWILLIAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Colon_Rambla, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colon Rambla, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Mr. Williams,

We want to thank you for the comments posted on TripAdvisor, which are very important for us to offer you a better service.

In case you have any further suggestions they will be very appreciated.

Kind regards,

Mayka Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Arrived at hotel and instantly realised that some extremely clever photography had taken place for brochure/internet shots. Hoped the rooms would be better than reception area but was bitterly disappointed.

Good points- rooms massive- had lounge, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a proper double bed which was very comfy.

Bad points- not all rooms were contemporary- many were very dated and shabby. Bar was often closed. Breakfast selection was poor. No cushions on pool sunbeds- very uncomfortable. Also no towels provided for use round the pool (so take your own and cushions if you can get them in the case haha!!) Sleep disturbed by heavy traffic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Colon_Rambla, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Colon Rambla, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Sir,

We want to thank you for the comments posted on TripAdvisor, which are very important for us to offer you a better service.

We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. The reception area has just been opened in 2010, and is completely new. Photographies published on Tripadvisor reflect exactly how the reception area looks like. Indeed, according to clients’ remarks, this is one of the most impressive areas of the hotel. I regret you had another impression, but I can assure that the only change to the photography published on Tripadvisor is the type of flowers at the entrance (we have replaced them).

Since 2010 the hotel has been in process of refurbishing all rooms. We have now completed up to 85% of the rooms. For a better comfort of our clientes, we have installed double glazing windows on our rooms. Unfortunately, if you’ve visited the city during Carnival, even double glazing do not completely isolate rooms from outside noise.

We apologize for the inconvenience of not having the bar open at any time. The bar is not run by the hotel, but by the same company that runs the restaurant. We have worked to obtain a commitment from the restaurant management in order to have the bar open for the whole day.

We have been including in our breafkast buffet all what our clients have demanded. The buffet comprises coffee, tea, milk, infusions, orange juice, pineapple juice, multifruit juice, assortment of yogurts, boiled eggs, scramble eggs, sausages, baicon, grated tomato, olive oil, sliced tomatoes, gouda cheese, canary islands’ fresh cheese, chorizo, turkey, ham, assortment of breads, assortment of pastries and different types of fruits.

If you have any further suggestions to include on our breakfast we would be very grateful if you could contact us. Being a small hotel enables us to deliver an almost personalized assistance to our clients.

The reception provides towels for the swimming pool. We regret that we have not properly informed you at due time.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay

We are looking forward to seeing you again at the hotel

Kind regards,

Mayka Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and it was clean and comfortable however the noise from the traffic on a very busy road was dreadful. We changed rooms and the staff were very helpful but after a very poor night we changed hotels. Also the buffet breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Colon_Rambla, Director Comercial at Hotel Colon Rambla, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Mrs. Emily,

We want to thank you for the comments posted on TripAdvisor, which are very important for us to offer you a better service.

We apologize for the problem you had with the noise. I want to inform you that we are proceeding to install double glazed windows for a better comfort of our clients.

We have been including in our breafkast buffet all what our clients have demanded. The buffet comprises coffee, tea, milk, infusions, orange juice, pineapple juice, assortment of yogurts, boiled eggs, scramble eggs, sausages, baicon, grated tomato, olive oil, sliced tomatoes, gouda cheese, canary islands’ fresh cheese, chorizo, turkey, ham, assortment of breads, assortment of pastries and different types of fruits.

If you have any further suggestions to include on our breakfast we would be very grateful if you could contact us. Being a small hotel enables us to deliver an almost personalized assistance to our clients.

We are looking forward to hearing from you

Kind regards,

Camilo Bel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz de Tenerife hotels
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
Silken Atlantida Santa Cruz
#4 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Tenerife
NH Tenerife
#3 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taburiente
Hotel Taburiente
#6 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
Hotel Escuela Santa Cruz
#8 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Rambla

Property: Hotel Colon Rambla
Address: Calle Viera y Clavijo 49, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colon Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tenerife's Santa Cruz, this elegant hotel features free Wi-Fi and has an outdoor pool and charming gardens. The Colon Rambla is fronted by an impressive glass wall which continues around to the garden and outdoor terrace. From the spacious interiors, you can enjoy the pleasant views over the Ramblas, which the hotel faces. Air-conditioned rooms have a plasma satellite TV, a minibar and a pillow menu. Non-smoking rooms and a laundry service are available. You can enjoy the hotel's outdoor pool, terrace and pretty gardens, as well as the restaurant and bar with terrace. There are also several function rooms for meetings and celebrations. The 24-hour reception can also organise car hire and parking. Conveniently located next to the Garcia Sanabria Park and the Patos Square, you can browse the surroundings and enjoy these lovely areas of Santa Cruz. In addition, the Colon Rambla is only 2 minutes from the port and under 10 minutes to the fabulous Teresitas Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colon Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Rambla Tenerife/Santa Cruz De Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing