We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we chose this hotel”
Review of Hotel Trovador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Trovador
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glad we chose this hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Two of us had an excellent week's stay at the Trovador. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious with everything one might need. There was a good choice for breakfast and evening meal although occasionally the food was cold. Wi-Fi worked fine and was free (but only works in reception). Lovely rooftop terrace with plenty of loungers and chairs and good views. However the best thing about the Trovador is its location. It is a few minutes walk from the bus station so when you want to go out for the day it's really simple. It's also right in the centre of town (the old part) and only a few minutes from the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maw285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    50
    49
    13
    15
See reviews for
11
60
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and has a great location. Wi-Fi is terrible...
The breakfast is good except of the dry bread...
Reception always helps in any issue!
Recommended!!
Yyyyyyyy6yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gomichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plzen, Plzensky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Location: very good, near to city center, very quiet
Breakfast: terrible, uneatable, low quality
Room: very clean, cleaning every day, no cockroaches, safe for 1.5 € per night, very soft mattress - uncomfortable

GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MiriamOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Old fashioned look about it, very small life, rooms are clean with a nice balcony, but the TV was black and white and looked like something from the early 70s (only worked once, although that was enough) and bizarrely there was a radio in the wall, which made the TV look modern. Breakfast was fair, but virtually the same everyday.
Hotel is well located though.

Room Tip: Possibly go a higher floor, the upper floors had a nicer look about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidestep41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went to Puerto de la Cruz on my own for a sunshine break. I was really pleased on arrival at the Trovador to find it very attractively decorated, a lovely and spacious clean room and the Receptionist very welcoming and the staff were helpful (very nice man on the bar/restaurant), except not many people spoke English - sorry to mention that. I felt very safe on my own and it was only a 100 yards or so from the central square with lots of nice bars. If I returned to Puerto, I would be happy to stay at this hotel again. It was excellent value for money. However, there was no hairdryer in the room so my hair was a mess most of the time, and the food was OK, but nice dining room :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GaileLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights on B& B basis. The hotel is extremely basic and very tired with an older clientele predominantly German. The breakfast does not vary, but can't comment on the other meals. The staff, however were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Appin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#44 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#36 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#62 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Manolito Hotel
Don Manolito Hotel
#41 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trovador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trovador

Property: Hotel Trovador
Address: Lugar Puerto Viejo 40, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trovador 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Trovador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trovador Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Trovador Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing