We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Cheerful - Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartamentos Alta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Alta
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful - Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

We booked our stay at Alta via Alpharooms as it seemed to have the best price and included Breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist - in fact all the staff we encountered (including the night receptionist at 4am!) were very friendly.

The hotel is very dated and could do with a little bit of sprucing up - if only some new duvet and chair covers! - but for a cheap stay within walking distance of everything you need in Puerto de la Cruz it was fine. We aimed to be out at night at bars and restaurants and were sightseeing during the day so we were only looking for a place to sleep.

The breakfast was as expected for €3 (included in our booking) - some cereals, bread, cheap meat and cheese and horrible juice -but for the price we couldn't complain and there are plenty of options nearby or with the in-room kitchen and local shops and cafes you can always eat out or in-room. They also do a paid for English Breakfast, Sandwiches and meals.

The apartment was large and generally comfortable and clean. Decor was dated and basic but in good repair. One tip on hot water - turn up the boiler to max (in the cupboard over the sink) if you want enough hot water for 2 or more reasonable length showers. The beds were not that comfortable and were quite lumpy they also have sheets instead of duvets. The apartment did not have Air Conditioning which was fine for December but is probably quite hot in the summer! We left the window open but it did get quite noisy once cars and buses started in the morning. Our balcony had good views of La Teide and the sea.

The 2 Sun Terraces and outdoor (non-heated) pool are not very private (next to the bar and on the main walkway into the hotel). Car parking is €5 per day - but only for small cars due to very tight under building parking (we had a VW Polo and it was a bit tight!)

Very short walk to the main sights in the city and the late night bars and clubs. About 10 to 15 minutes to Plaza del Charco (don't eat on the square - head down the side streets such as Cruz Verde) and a further 15-20 minutes to Loro Parque (or get the free train).

If you just want a place to sleep and are not fussy - don't waste your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    55
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
84
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Well where do i start ..... When i arrived with my mum and nan we where greated by a lovely Lady i didnt catch her name but she was very welcoming and very friendly throught our stay !!. There is a lift suitable for everyone and it came in handy as my nan struggles with stairs as she has ashma. When we got to our room we was amazed at the size of the living room/ kitchette which was very spaceous and homely. The belcony was very big and the view we had was oppersite a shopping centre which has a supermarket in there which was very good.You can also see the mountain on a clear day on your right hand side . The room was cleaned EVERYDAY and we had new towels everday , beds where changed twice a week, we where gobsmacked as we have never had this before so 10/10

On the 3rd floor there is a little terrace which you can go down and ask for the key and happily sunbath as there are about 8 sunbeds up there. The swimming pool was very clean and tidy and the maintance man was always there if we needed him.

The location was in a good spot as i said above the supermarket was 5 min walk literally across the road, the beach was a walk down a mini hill and very peaceful. there are a number of resturants but i would ADVISE you NOT to go to a resturant called TIC-TACS as we went there and was served off prawns which i was mortified about also the chef came from another resturant and i would say its very run down and should be closed.

On our stay we visited the lido which is less than 10 mins walk from the Alta and the water is fresh sea water and we watched it fill up and on looks the sea.

If you like animals or just a good day out i would defently suggest Loro Park it was amazing and such a lovely experience to see al the animals and they have such high class shows !!! you can catch the little train directly from down the road to Loro Park and back again.

Overall Fantastic Hoilday Loved It !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenLipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london nw9
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

This place was fab, its ideally located, and the main supermarket is across the road, u have lovley views of the sea on both sides of the balcony. The hotel staff couldnt have been more helpful. The only downside to it is the beach or lack of, they say black sand but its more gravel. The lido was great too, was €3.50 to get in and u wernt allowed to take yr own sun brollys, you then had to pay another €1.50m for it, but it was amazing.
One place not to go and eat is Tic Tac's around the corner, tried to give my daughter prawns that were off...... potential holiday belly there but luckily she knew they smelt wrong.
I would suggest anyone go here, loved it, would definatly go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndiloo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

We spent a night at the Apartamentos Alta in early November. It was pretty much the only place with vacancies in Puerto de la Cruz that night, and after 3 hours of searching we were happy to have just found somewhere to stay the night. But it was better than just somewhere, for the same price as a hostel - 15 Euros (75 for 5 people) we got a bright, fresh feeling appartment which really was amazing value - we were expecting it to be a lot more expensive. It was fairly simple, but it truly was a really pleasant stay there. The appartment was very spacious - easily enough room to sleep 5 people, complete with living room, kitchen/lounge and balcony. There was also a swimming pool, and parking available in a garage for 5 Euros a night. We only spent 1 night there as were travelling back home the following afternoon, but it was a very comfortable place to recharge after a busy time in Tenerife.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We needed somewhere reasonably central, and this fitted the bill, however it was only good as a base. The pool is tiny and the water came to my shoulders at it's deepest. We needed to travel to Loro Parque, which was absolutely amazing, definitely recommend it, especially the sea lion show. There is a free train in the town to the park, at the end of the high road. We saw a Fiesta, which was great and the shopping is brill. Lots of street traders, all good humoured, but if you make eye contact they follow you for ages. the golden man on the wall was good. Didnt go to the laguna, too expensive but looked very good and nearby. A great four days, but that was the location not the hotel.
The cafe is shut if the staff have a day off, so we didnt know and expected some coffee after a day out. The beach is very close, swimming a bit treacherous because of the rocks. Parking, you need to be very skilled with a head for heights, the hill down to the spaces is very steep and costs 5euro a day!
Supermarkets were very close by, with a shopping centre opposite, and in every side road.
If you are looking solely for a room, because the balcony was tiny, then it is ideal, if you want a hotel holiday this isn't the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily-Anne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Have been going to Puerto for 20 years and have stayed it several places. This was our first visit to the Alta and found it to be very good value for what we paid. We had a two bedroom apartment on the 8th floor. It was very clean and as we were out a lot of the time was suitable for our needs. The rooms were large and staff were very helpful. There was three adults and we never had any problems with the electricity or hot water and never run out even though we had showers straight away after each other. The only thing I felt we could of used was a shelf in the bathroom to put our toiletries. There was hardly any noise of an evening and have stayed in other apartments that were considerably more noisy. It is very central to all the amenities of the resort. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicelyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Stayed in 2 bed apartment with two friends.
Rooms clean but lacking furnishings.
The list of items that spoiled our stay includes
Water heater for apartment located in kitchen cupboard leaked, and only supplied enough hot water for one shower, with a wait of 2 hours before the next.
Oven in cooker did not work, along with only 3 out of 4 boiling rings.
Toilet pan not fixed to the floor
No clothes hooks in bathroom or bedroom.
Some power points faulty (unable to insert plug).
Only one easy chair and settee in lounge.
Bar restaurant very good when open.
We all agreed that there was probably better accomodation in the average prison.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#36 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#39 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Pl...
#53 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Alta

Property: Apartamentos Alta
Address: Avenida Aguilar y Quesada s/n, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Alta 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Alta Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartamentos Alta Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing