We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our holiday fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Made our holiday fabulous!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Loved this apartment for the price paid!

10 minutes from the beach, right in the centre of town, amazing location!

Had breakfast on our balcony every day! Clean rooms, had a triple room and plenty of space. Cleaned regularly, no problems there.

Great little cooking area, which we never used as so many fabulous restaurants nearby! Good little corner shop just near the apartments too.

Pool is on the roof, looked lovely! But we spent all our time at the beach as it was so close.

Staff were friendly, we also hired a car from just across the road. Only a five min walk from the bus stop which runs to take you to either airport.

All in all, we were pleasantly surprised, and delighted with our week holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluescarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay. It is great to know you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and were satisfied with your room and our facilities. It would be great to welcome you at the Luabay Florida Plaza again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    134
    154
    71
    51
See reviews for
58
284
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aichach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong you cannot expect much for 30 € a night. But I would never book this place again.
Positive:
Cheap - as you might have guessed
Has cooking facility (which we never used, because eating out is cheap and brilliant in Puerto de la Cruz)
Location: you are more or less in the middle of town

Negative:
Cleaning staff does not respect "do not disturb" sign
Room had a small amount of ants (tiny ants and very few - but still annoying)
You can count the bed springs every night. The beds are very noisy and not too stable.
The room is not cleaned very often, if you do not hit the timing of the cleaning staff. I have the feeling that they pass your room once and then, if it is occupied - they do not care for it anymore on the same day.
If the room is cleaned the cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. It is roughly clean, but don't look too close. (but this is the case in most 3 star places, I guess)
Noise: the walls are made of wallpaper and the hotel being in the middle of town does not help the matter - bring proper ear plugs.

So all in all it was quite a not so bad experience - but none I would repeat and none I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you really go there - try to get a room in the second floor. They have a proper balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andal1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will be sure to look into the negative points you are mentioning and follow up your complaints to improve our guests’ experience at our hotel. We hope that nonetheless you enjoyed your visit and had a relaxing holiday. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again and show you that improvements are being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After reading the various reviews for this apartment complex I was a little concerned about what we would find when we arrived there, however this proved to be completely unfounded. Yes it is older but it is located in the old part of Puerto de la Cruz so a little away from the more modern, characterless tourist area but very close to many traditional restaurants, bars, bus station, main square etc. We cannot fault the staff or cleanliness of the rooms and found it to be very quiet (apart from some early morning door banging, which is a common compliant from travellers anywhere). The studio room was basic but adequate to meet our needs. The kitchen area allowed us the freedom to have breakfast when we wanted it and to cook a simple evening meal when we were too tired to venture out. My only criticism would be the very thin pillows but we solved this by placing the spare blankets under them. All in all we found it excellent value for money and would recommend it to anyone who likes to be a little away from the main tourist area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieAnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and thoughts about our apartments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our staff and overall cleanliness. Your feedback about the pillows is very helpful and we will consider it for improvements. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A very basic apartment complex, the rooms were adequate and that is all. the staff and service was fine, i would say that with a little more research a bit better more recent and comfortable accommodation could be found. Old and tired.

Room Tip: if you are not able to choose you room on site insist on a virtual tour before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having just got back today from a week of nightmare, when we arrived the staff was friendly, thats the only good thing i can say about it. The room was very noisy, you could here all the time people flushing their toilets, there were little bugs in the room, the cleaners did come in reguarly but all i could see them doing was making the beds, we asked for a balcony as our view was houses, but they never had any spare, The swimming pool once we found it, was on the roof, and it was like an iceburg, freezing cold, the restaurant was never open, there is no bar in there so had to venture out, when we complained about one of the beds, nothing happened!!! I do not consider it being value for money at all, There was hardly any English people at all, and then we get told it is the time that the Germans go and they don't like the English people. The only enjoyable thing was getting the bus into Las Americas which is fantastic, the whole experience was very disheartening and would never ever go back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suenic40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our hotel and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will help us improve in the future. The complaints will be forwarded to the respective departments so they can find ways and measures of improvement. We are not aware of any kind of racism towards any of our guests, neither from or staff nor or guests. It would be great if you would give us a chance to show you that improvements are being made and would come back to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we booked this hotel, we just booked the cheapest one we found on hotels.com. This being the case, we were very happily surprise to find that the hotel was a lot better than we expected! OK, so it's not a five star hotel, but for a three star, it was just great. We rented a studio apartment, which was spaceous and equipped with everything we needed for making our own food, and being comfortable.

Also, a huge plus is the fantastic staff; extremely helpful, speak very well english, and the cleaning staff were also helpful, lovely, and did a great job.

The location is spot on! You have a supermercado only one minute away, great restaurants and bodegas just around the corner, and no noise in the night.

Only one thing bad to say about this place.. The beds are quite.. firm. Us travelling as a couple, we were a bit disappointed to find two double beds in our room, but we just put them together, no problem.

If you're looking for a super-excellent, high class, fancy hotel, this is not for you. If you, on the other hand, are looking for a charming place with good standars, nice staff and great location, this is definately where you want to stay!

Will absolutely go back sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linn-Serenne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Linn, thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you and your partner had a good time and were satisfied with our hotel and staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass your comment about the beds on to the respective department. We hope we can welcome you at our hotel again in the future. Thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stayed there on self catering basis.
the room was good enough. Clean spacious enough with balcony.
The plug behind the fridge was not working so we had to move them to different plug and there was no hair dryer or wi fi , but cannot complain for the price.
it was very good shower tho you can have hot shower as many as you want anytime.
the apartment was close to centre where square is and also to beach,but its not noisy.
probably coz i avoid going during school holiday.
it was very nice holiday thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crunchgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing holiday. Your feedback about the hairdryer and wi-fi will be passed on to the responsible departments so that they can work on improvements. It would be great to welcome you again on another occasion in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#39 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#59 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#54 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#58 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#62 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#31 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza

Property: Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Address: Lugar Puerto Viejo 30, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Canarian construction and its good location offer a charming and relaxing holiday. The Be Smart Florida Plaza Apartments are ideally located right in the heart of the old town of Puerto de la Cruz city, close to the Bus Stop. Just 100 meters from the center of Puerto de la Cruz and 20 km. From Tenerife North Airport. The property has a nice outdoor pool (heated in winter) with a solarium offering fantastic views of the city. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Florida Plaza Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing