We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Racket!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having been re-accomodated to the Florida Plaza from the Luabay Florida for no explicable reason, we didn't mind at first since it was a move up from 2 star to three and the Plaza was better situated, being half way between the beach and the resort centre. We arrived in the early hours of a Saturday morning and after an undisturbed sleep we enjoyed 2 days of peaceful sunbathing by day, enjoying the breathtaking view of Mount Teide from our balcony, and checking out the local area in the evening. But this transpired to be the calm before the storm. At precisely 8.10 am on the Monday morning we were rudely awoken by local workman cutting up tiles with what soundedlike a very loud chainsaw!! This racket continued until about 4.30 pm, and went on every weekday of the next two weeks (except one day) making it impossible to remain in our apartment for any length of time and certainly put paid to any lie-ins. There was no apology from hotel staff for the obvious inconvenience.
There was a brief respite between 4.30 and 5.30 before the local boys started up there football in the square below until around 9pm. Again an absolute racket which prevented any attempts at a peaceful evening on the balcony during the week.
Shame because otherwise this accomodation was very good. Great rooftop pool, well-equipped apartments and a good standard of cleaning. But if you are planning to stay there in the near future I suggest you ensure the tile-cutting has stopped and be prepared for the racket in the evnings from the local boys.

Room Tip: Get one west facing with a view of Mount Teide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Andrew, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you were satisfied with hotel and the cleanliness overall. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the construction work outside our hotel. Unfortunately, it is not in our hands and we are very sorry that it disturbed your holidays. We would love to welcome you back at our hotel some other time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 526 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

The rooms are really basic but were cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. The restaurant and bar were closed when we visited but there are cafes and restaurants nearby. The walls are quite thin as you could hear other people in their rooms late at night. I was on the second floor so could hear the sun longers being moved on the roof. I think next time I'll opt for something a bit more comfortable, with a better view (as I could see into other people's home) from the terrace balcony.

The beach is a short walk away and the location felt quite safe. The staff were helpful and polite but I think next time I would spend a bit more for luxury, comfort and a better view.

Room Tip: These apartments are in a town surrounded by other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cyn467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive comment about our staff, they will be happy to hear that you were satisfied with their service. Your feedback about the rooms and the noise will be forwarded and looked into. It would be great to welcome you at our apartments again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My visit to Puerto de la Cruz was not my first visit to Tenerife, but the first one to the North of the isle. The South is newer in terms of accommodations, so Puerto de la Cruz does not feature the same type of ocean-view, big-terraced studios. So, for a North establishment, Apartamentos Florida Plaza are one of the best. I have booked the Apartramentos Florida with Booking.com, but I was transferred to the higher-end Florida Plaza (three keys instead of two). I was pleased with my stay and with the level of service. While my girlfriend enjoyed the hard beds, I did not, but upon telling the receptionist they immediately provided me with a sponge matelasse. The apartments are clean, and their furnishing is good, apart from the lack of a microwave oven and kettle. In any case, it was a good stay, and should Apartamentos Florida Plaza decide to undergo a refurbishment, they would become an amazing location indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virgiliupop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were slightly worried after reading some of the reviews on here. Nevertheless, we booked the apartments.

The apartments are situated in a very good location, close to Plaza de Charcol, and about a ten minute walk from Playa Jardin which is the beach we found to be the best. There is a beach slightly closer which my boyfriend liked but I found too hot to relax at. Lagos martinez is about a fifteen minute walk from the apartments.

The room itself was very clean on arrival, and rooms were cleaned daily, even though we were told that they would be cleaned every two days. So we were very happy with this. Towels were clean and had no holes (as we read on one review on here) and were changed every two days. The apartment came with a fridge, oven, hobs, sink and all the pots and pans we needed. There was no toaster or kettle but we didn't find that this was a problem as we used the job to heat water and made toast using pans.

The bathroom was very clean and we were very pleased with this.

Our only problems were that we had asked for a double bed, but we're given twin beds, but we simply pushed these together and that was fine. We also asked for a balcony overlooking pool/sea but were given ones overlooking one of the side roads. This wasn't a problem however, as we preferred being in a quieter spot of the hotel and having meals on the balcony without feeling that we were being watched!

The hotel has no air conditioning in the rooms but this was not really a problem for us as we left the balcony door open as we were on the second floor and had a nice breeze. On two of the days we were this this posed a problem as there was some building work going on nearby and they would start drilling at 8am on the dot. Was quite annoying but at least it got us up and ready to make the most of the day.

The hotel pool is on the roof and although I only visited it once, I found it to be very nice and very tranquil up there. Great views also with el teide behind you.

To sum up, I would recommend these apartments. They were very clean, hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It is in a great location and the pool is a nice place to relax at!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aswiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have just spent a week in a balcony apartment, and have had a wonderful time in this fab resort. The apartment block is beautiful with marble everywhere, the rooms were a little basic, but comfortable, clean and staff were helpful.The balcony meant we could keep the doors open and enjoy the breeze and the friendly hustle and bustle of the spanish singers in a near by bar, the fun not going on too late, so we still got plenty of sleep.
The position of the apartments meant we were able to watch the world go by, enjoying the antics of the locals and their dogs, without being on top of everything. Dont leave it too late to try the cakes in the corner shop cos you need all week to sample them, and the very drinkable local wine from the mini market opposite for £1.80 The apartments are just a short walk from many restaurants, including the lively playa del charco, or the harbour where you can go downstairs to the Pomador to eat with the waves crashing just feet from the windows. If you dont want to go far, the roof top pool is very handy, or playa jardin is a quick walk down to family beaches, with sangria, food and loos. If you want to put in a bit more exercise, the playa bollulo is a gorgeous walk past the harbour, up the hill, through the banana plantations, and is well worth the effort as hardly anyone else found it. It also had a cafe (loos were a bit scary, but a minor negative). We followed the signs and walked from the back of the Hotel Maritimo to the San Pedro Mirador which was hard, but amazing so well worth it, and had a brilliant trip using the very cheap local bus service which can take you anywhere on the island, so we chose to go to Aguamansa, La Caldera where there is a variety of grades of forest walks, the more challenging with jaw dropping views of Tiede, and the Oratava valley, but not for the vertically challenged!. After that you deserve a chill out day, and the Lago Martinez does exactly that with loads of pools and water features for just £3.50 inc. loungers. It was so nice, and there was so much to do, we would definately go back.

Room Tip: definately pay that little bit more for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jill186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I travelled here with a friend last April and was expecting a dirt and poor hotel for the price we paid but...this hotel was spotless, modern looking and the staff were very friendlt. The area is a lil quiet but resturants are beautiful and everyone is extremelly friendly. We found a few late night bars and clubs and had a great time. There was not many English but this suited us fine as English was spoken by many of the locals. The area is breathtaking!

The suanchill bar is worth a visit, a lot of fun and they have events. the cocktails are gorgeous!

The pools along the side of the beach, well rocks are worth a visit, we were very disapointed as we only found these on our last day but looked amazing!!!

We have no faults with this hotel and would visit again if the opportunity came abut! please do not believe poor ratings, if you are looking for a clean, friendly hassle free stay then book and have a good holiday
.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank catjones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We booked with Sunshine.co Abta registered in May 2011 for the Florida Apartments, which we knew were very suitable for my disability. as we had stayed there over 20 times before. On arrival we were told they were not able to accommodate us and we had been booked into the Florida Plaza. We complained and explained this apartment was not suitable for disabilies I had but were told by the receptionist, we were lucky as the Plaza was a higher registered hotel. We did not find it was worth the star rating it had, carpets were dirty, bed linen was very poor, and I had to have my bed cover changed as it was badly stained. The bath panel was rusty, and in a poor state also the balcony furniture was a very poor quality and also rusty. Complaints were made, but without any assistance apart from rusty panel on bath being painted over with a rubbery paint solution. It was very noisy as we were in the furthest room from the lift, but nearest the bars which closed very late at night and were extremely noisy. We would never use this company again as when we complained they were not at all helpful, and we discovered that they do not actually book the rooms/hotel this is done with a local unregistered ABTA company who do not want to know about complaints. I would advise anyone thinking of booking to read the small print very very carefully, or like us you will not have a comeback even though the company you pay your money and get your tickets from are ABTA.The ones they use are not registered.

Room Tip: If you want quite holiday, dont stay at the Florida Plaza. If you want a balcony to sit out on you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 458Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments and suggestions help us improve our facilities, we hope to see you again at our hotels in Tenerife to offer you the best service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#60 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#55 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
153 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Trovador
Hotel Trovador
#47 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza

Address: Lugar Puerto Viejo 30, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $42 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Canarian construction and its good location offer a charming and relaxing holiday. The Be Smart Florida Plaza Apartments are ideally located right in the heart of the old town of Puerto de la Cruz city, close to the Bus Stop. Just 100 meters from the center of Puerto de la Cruz and 20 km. From Tenerife North Airport. The property has a nice outdoor pool (heated in winter) with a solarium offering fantastic views of the city. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Florida Plaza Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing