We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Sea Interpalace
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Overall I would describe the hotel as shabby and not chic. It is badly in need of updating. Poor decor, particularly in communal areas. The stairs carpet, for example was very worn and stained. Not what would you expect from 4*. The rooms were clean, but air con completely ineffective and very uncomfortable beds. Our towels were not changed for a week. The staff were lovely, but they did laugh when we reported a huge cockroach in my daughters' room. The food was poor, especially for vegetarians. Not much variety, ok if you like chips! The dining area was very hot and stuffy, seemingly no air con. The pool area was small, much smaller than it looks on the pics and the 'rules' were all disregarded, which begged the question, why have rules? The life guard spent most of his time on the phone. However rules for the all inclusive food availability were strictly adhered to. Pizza, for example was only available as part of all inclusive at set times. Most odd. The advertised all inclusive snacks was my biggest bug bear. Listed as available were sandwiches, burgers, pizza, pastries and ice cream. However, a few grotty rolls, some plastic ham and cheese, occasional pizza and some dubious hot dogs were all that was in fact on offer. Other facilities on offer were mini-golf and tennis. We had fun, but the mini golf course was in dire need of repair and only five battered clubs available. For tennis only three racquets available. The beach was a half hour walk down very steep steps, not suitable for buggies or wheelchairs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was really looking forward to this much-needed holiday with friends after a very busy summer at work. Although I was not expecting a luxury resort, I thought at least we could expect a certain standard of service and cleanliness from a supposedly four star hotel. Unfortunately I was wrong, and our trip was beset with problems from the outset.

The Interpalace hotel is one of three hotels in the Blue Sea 'resort' along with Bonaza Palace and the Hotel Canarife, which are across the road from the Interpalace. This is the reason the Interpalace hotel can be classed as four star, because it takes into account the facilities available at all hotels combined. However when you check in you probably won't be told about them, you'll be expected to find out yourself or by talking to other guests.

The Interpalace is very dated and badly maintained. The hotel's own website claims is has been recently refurbished, but there was little or no evidence of that.

Carpets in communal areas are threadbare, coming away from stair treads and covered in massive stains and watermarks. One of the lifts had doors that didn't fully close (potential for kids getting their fingers trapped) and a musty smell was present throughout the hotel.

Our rooms looked ok when we arrived, but dated and unpleasant smelling. Air conditioning wasn't working at all in one room and rattled but not much else in the other. We reported the problem straight away to reception, who put it on a very long maintenance list. Most of the entries, like ours, were marked A/C at the end.

Neither of our rooms were cleaned on the first day and we weren't given any fresh towels. Reception managed to give us two large towels and two hand towels between four people.

The next day we happened to have a problem with the room safe. Again we reported to reception and at the same time asked about the air conditioning. We were told that there was one handyman for all three hotels, so he probably wouldn't be able to sort anything for us that day. Unsuprisingly, our air conditioning never did get fixed. But we were given a fan for the room the day before we left.

The pool area at the Interpalace is very cramped and even out of high season there are not enough sun loungers. The pool area at Bonaza is better and we spent most of our days there.

The poolside at the interpalace is filthy and bins are left overflowing and half eaten snack bar food and drinks are left strewn around. We went down to the pool one night to sit outside and have a drink that we'd got from the downstairs bar and there were half eaten burgers and all sorts left out for the vermin to enjoy overnight. very hygienic when you're going to be walking about in bare feet the next day...

At two star places I've stayed at I've seen them jet wash the pool areas at night, but that definitely didn't happen once while we were at the interpalace. The cup holders on sunloungers were covered in dirt and grime and i found in them, on various days: fruit stones, cigarette butts and chewing gum. nice!

I didn't see anyone check the pool for chlorine levels etc while we were there, and my friend bought home a potentially sight-threatening eye infection. So swim at your own risk, or think about wearing goggles!

The food was terrible, as per other recent reviews on here. My friend Simbaland's review gives more info.

This isn't a case of being snobbish or picky or wanting food 'like you get at home', it's that they are trying to please too many different palates and not getting it right for anyone. Surely the best thing to do is cook a few simple choices and do it well, and make it look appealing, rather than a half-baked attempt at four or five main courses that look and taste terrible.

But for me the worst thing about the hotel was when there was a full water and power cut on our last day. Aside from the fact we couldn't use the bathroom etc in the hotel, it made the hotel a potential death trap.

The corridors were pitch black, there was no emergency lighting and fire exit signs were not illuminated. You could honestly barely see your hand in front of your face. on the ground floor staff had propped open fire doors with chairs to try and let some light in. Had there actually been a fire it could have been disasterous. Fire doors are there to stop fires spreading....

Couple that with the darkness, no clear route to the fire exits and the fact the carpets were baggy and a trip hazard you could potentially have had pandemonium if the hotel needed to be evacuated; people tripping up in the dark and so on. I know that's slightly melodramatic, but these things do and have happened.

It's true you get what you pay for, but this holiday wasn't bargain basement and I expect to be able to eat and drink at the hotel if i've paid all inclusive.

If you can get this hotel at a rock bottom price, are prepared to live on a meagre diet and don't mind about cleanliness you'll be ok. Otherwise, forget it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have just returned home after 2 weeks at this hotel and it was the worst holiday we have had in 30 years and have been all over the world in this time. Prison food would probably be better then we had at this place. It was the same food every day chips, fish, chicken, salad & paella. Oh and plenty olives great if your Spanish. The food that was there was never hot and the bread was always rock hard. The drinks were cheap & nasty spirits and barely drinkable. The entertainment was the same thing every night with the resident entertainers trying there best but was very repetitive same as the food. Rooms were not up to much carpets and bedding threadbare and dirty. Rooms only cleaned if asked to be cleaned and beds were only changed once in 2 weeks and that was because we stripped beds off ourself and threw the bedding on floor. We were all inclusive but when we asked for a picnic when we went on day out we were told that it wasn't included in price and we would have to pay 3 euros!!!!! If you aren't fussy with food and cleanliness then this is a cheap holiday to go for but be warned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have booked a last minute holiday through lowcostholiday and the flight was to Tenerife South. On arrival we had over 1h journey to Tenerife NORTH!
The hotel decor is stuck in the 70's, and for a 4 star hotel (I seriously question it!) the food is poorly made i.e. dried chicken, pasta overcooked, dried and hard bread not to mention more...
The rooms have a good size but the corridor on the 5th floor smells damp and when you ask for the room to be made the only thing they do is the bed...
The guests in the hotel do not help - not a hint of glam!!!
Basically if you are looking for cheap holidays with very low expectations then this is the place to go.
The only good thing is that certain members at reception were very friendly and helpful (Domingo and Jose); rather than this I'd not recommend it to any one.


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scorpio300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from this hotel we stayed in the bonanza palace beautiful hotel yes rooms were bit older fashioned but huge rooms clean hotel hallways and reception areas were lovely and always clean this could be good hotel if they made food better nothing was ever hot all Luke warm def not 4 star snacks were awful lots to choose from drinks and salad stuff and sweets but hot food and snacks were awful and entertainment was pretty poor had good holiday loro parque is a must fab day out but def wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is definitely not 4 star by british standards. But Maltese hotels are the same, with a high rating which is not appropriate to UK standards so I sort of knew what to expect.
The hotel is 'tired', carpets are dirty and worn out and out door key was on one of the cheap key rings - not the usual hotel type.
We booked through the internet company On the beach and it was VERY cheap, it was on Watchdog last week and we had no problems at all. One point - would recommend not going for transfers but hire a car for the week which worked out about the same price and then we could do what we wanted. We heard people say they had to wait ages for their transfer whereas we just got our car (which was abit worn out, but thats the company) and off we went and it was easy - motorway all round the island to P de la Cruz.
Well now the hotel - yes there are not many sunbeds but i was happy to sit on a chair in the bar area in the shade. My daughter went to the local beach every day which she loved but it was a long walk up hill of the way back but she didn;t mind, and I stayed in the hotel area, which was fine.
The food is very average but we found enough to eat, especially the salads and desserts were brilliant. We did go out for a local pizza one night which was good and a nice meal on the last night as a treat. But we found the hotel food perfectly acceptable. And to be able to get drinks all day, coffee, beer and soft drinks as well as alcholic was great. OK it was just down by the pool but it was no problem for us.
There is one review really slating the drinks etc - but you are told that they are local drinks and not brands - but what do you expect.
We had a lovely week and drove up the mountain and then up to the north of the island to the lighthouse - so we saw more by having a car. We didn't go to the Parque although it does look good. The lagoon is supposed to be lovely but why pay when you have a pool and a free beach!
We enjoyed our holiday, perhaps would not go back to this hotel but would revisit the area.

Room Tip: Our room had a sea view - even number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I fancied a low cost getaway for our 4th wedding anniversary. We'd read the reviews about the Interpalace so knew it wasn't going to be UK 4*, but thought we were pretty well prepared.
The accommodation was fine, we were given a mountain (road) view room, which had twin beds with separate bedding. The bathroom was nice and a good shower. It had a good size balcony with tabel and chairs. All-in-all perfectly nice. We asked for a sea-view and a double, but they sais there are no doubles in the hotel, which was a shame. We got a sea view though.
The hotel itself was very hard to navigate. It had an unusual layout with no clear signs of how to get anywhere. When we checked-in we were not given an instruction on how to get around, or what/wasn't included (we had no idea about using facilities in other 2 hotels - just found out by reading other reviews!). It took us a while to find the pool when we woke on the first morning! We found the dining room easily enough by following the smell of school dinners (I will get on to that). The interior was a bit shabby and out-dated, but so-so. The reception areas of the other 2 hotels looked much grander, but we couldn't actually find the recpetion desks there?!
Now, the food. Neither my husband or I are foodies by any means. We know that when you go to an AI hotel the food is going to be a bit repetitive and not all to our liking. But the food here was really below standard. With phrases like 'Fish from the Atlantic Ocean' it was all a bit vague. Very obvious recycling of the meal before. I'm all for no waste, but it was crazy some of the dishes they invented. We began to dread every meal. We ate out once (which was very nice) but couldn't afford to go out more than that - so we ate a lot of cold chips and spaghetti bolognese in our weeks stay! The food was definitely the worst feature of the hotel.
As others have mentioned, there was (what we thought to be) a power-cut during our stay. Since reading the reviews below I am shocked to learn it was a fire! We awoke to no power, no water and no idea what was going on. We got changed and went down to see what was going on. We overheard from other people that we were to eat breakfast in the Bonanza or Canarife. We went to Bonanza but so did the world and its mother! It was packed and hardly anything left (queues for everything). We ate and got out of there for the day. When we returned it seemed that everything had just come on (about 5 I think). We went to reception but they wouldn't tell us what had happened, only that it was fixed.
Overall we had a nice time away together, but this was despite the hotel rather than because of the hotel. We really like the Lago Martianez and Loro Poarque was brilliant. We would go back to Tenerife, but not to this hotel. We would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily1989_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#68 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#26 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#45 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa
Blue Sea Costa Jardin & Spa
#31 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Interpalace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Interpalace

Address: Calle Acevino, 21, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $55 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Interpalace 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Interpalace is the ideal place to turn your holiday into a truly unforgettable experience. Located near the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz on the island of Tenerife, one of the largest islands of the Canaries with its spectacular beaches, it is the perfect destination for couples and families alike. The quality of the hotel and its beautiful surroundings in a peaceful residential neighbourhood will allow you to relax and enjoy your stay. Tenerife offers a wide range of activities for both nature and culture lovers with the presence of the volcano El Teide and the black sand beaches and with the impressive Carnival de Tenerife celebrations. It is also worth visiting the beautiful city of San Cristobal de La Laguna which was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO during your stay. All of the rooms within the Blue Sea Interpalace are designed and equipped to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They have a separate bathroom and a terrace or balcony. There is also a mini bar and a safe (surcharge). During your stay, you can enjoy all the amenities of the resort such as the outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Interpalace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Interpalace Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Blue Sea Interpalace Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing