We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel RF San Borondon
Nearby Hotels
Apartamentos Casablanca(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel El Tope(Puerto de la Cruz)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Best Semiramis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$218
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
$98
$93
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
$47
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
72
127
64
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
127
64
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice stayvery nice hotelswimming poolpushed togetherour room was spaciouscost eurosshort walkthe main squareother hotelsblack sandhotel is locatedbars and restaurantsbreakfast and dinnerstar hotelplenty of sunbedssun loungerssea front
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 294 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The best thing about San Borondon is it's position: close to the beach, the center, the bus station and Loro Parque. It also looks very good, with big rooms and it's very clean. The food is high-quality and varied. The hotel should consider adding more local dishes in the buffet. The service was good and the staff was very friendly.

The only problem was the heating: rooms were cold at night, the jacuzzi water was also cold and the pool is unusable in winter time - should be heated to be able to swim.
Overall, we had a nice stay and a memorable New Year's Eve in Tenerife!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace (balcony) and you'll be able see the sunrise and the beautiful luxuriant garden of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irina_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on this website. I am glad you are satisfied with our Hotel but I regret that you had a bit cold days during your stay. We are experiencing some pretty cold days this winter. I invite you to come back to Tenerife on summer, you will see what a wonderful holidays!
Regards,
Silvia G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The SB is a 3* hotel located equidistant - two streets up from the sea front road and two streets down from the bus station, therefore very well positioned.

The management charges a daily rate for WiFi access - something that should be outlawed. It is no longer an exotic/luxury/premium extra with which to fleece the guest. They are out of step with the many civilised countries and enlightened hoteliers that provide free BB.
Any hotel that charges these days should be boycotted!

The rooms are clean and basic. The TV has a number of German channels + BBC World. Reception staff are bi/tri-lingual usually helpful locals, with German being their foreign language forte.

The hotel consists of 3 adjacent buildings that have been incorporated over the last 30 years. There is a nice pool with sunloungers and an (out-of-hours locked) gym & whirlpool bath that does not open until after breakfast and before dusk, so an early workout before attacking the buffet breakfast or evening meal is not possible. Why?

In the quiet season, much of Puerto and this hotel is no exception, is popular with package tour budget septagenarian German hikers bristling with aggressive looking walking poles poking out from every back pack. Accordingly, it is quite possible not to hear English spoken from one day to the next, a blessed relief for some. However, the hotel's patrons appreciate the convenience of the hotel and its facilities.

The package tour boys take advantage of the hot and cold buffet breakfast designed to sustain long-distance walkers. Diversity is its name but quality sadly is not. A selection of bread rolls (all very dry, crumbly and tateless), croissants and sliced bread for toasting is available to accompany a hot buffet and ubiquitous cold cuts of processed ham, salami, sliced cheese and cold sliced tomato. The hotel's chefs display their virtuosity by somehow manufacturing a daily platter of an egg concoction that defies recognition, the flavour is even more mystifying. Hot sausages and bacon alternate in the bain marie, sometimes accompanied by grilled tomatoes. Yoghourt and cereals are presented along with local bananas cut in half - presumably to deter the hikers from making off with them in their back packs. This must be to maintain the local glut of the fruit.

On taking a seat in the restaurant, the officious staff demand your room card for them to tick off that you have taken your breakfast, we questioned this policy having eaten there. The guest is then greeted by a card resting on the table welcoming you with an open admonishment that food must not be taken out of the restaurant under pain of excommunication (disembowelment may be an involuntary option). Neither can food be brought into the restaurant - for fear of showing up the chef? The coffee dispensers have to be some of the worst we have encountered. It may be pushing assumptions too far to think that coffee is actually contained in the brown liquid that ultimately piddles into the cup. To the unwary, the coffee + milk option produces a nicely sweetened cup. Avoid at all costs and take your coffee at the plentiful local outlets in town. Down by the sea and in the main restaurant streets the price is x2 that can be had closer to the bus stops.

Puerto is a nice town, it is not geared to and therefore attract the bucket and spade brigade. The civic authorities are extending the new sea promenade to the west of the town, so aesthetically things are improving (Nov 2013).

The bus network is excellent, punctual and reasonable. Buy the Bono bus pre-loaded card from cafes - it is cheaper than paying cash on the bus. Not forgetting to validate as you board. If your card has insufficient credit, you pay the difference to the driver in cash. It all works very well. If you have time visit La Orotava - a quality town, lovely architecture.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you found some inconveniences during your stay. I regret that you do not agree with some of our policies (many of them common sense) and think that we have tried to deceive our customers by promising things we missed. For example, we have never said that WIFI is free, in fact, on our website it is clear that this service incurs an extra charge.
We are a small hotel whose employees make an effort every day to provide the best service to its guests. This includes our chefs, waiters, receptionists, chambermaids, etc.. We are a big family together with our guests/friends, whatever their nationality is.
Anyway, I am sure you appreciate the value for money of the Hotel, so we will be waiting for you if you decide to come back to Puerto de la Cruz.
Best Regards,
Silvia G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were in San Borondoin for the third time this September. We chose this hotel because of its location in Puerto, woith the beach (Playa Jardin), the restaurants and the bus station all within wlaking distance. The hotel is OK if you need basic accommodation, but don't expect anything more than 'just OK'. It's not had any improvements for some time and the rooms are quite dated. Bed, safe, chairs, balcony, that's about it. Bathroom needs attention. Old TV's with remote that is sticky and not properly cleaned. Staff is helpful. Pool is nice, good size (sea water) and clean. Bar and terrace on the property as well.

Room Tip: Select 'Superior' room (garden or pool view) if you want to be sure you are not overlooking the local cemetery.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matselekjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Friends,
Thank you for choosing us again as your Hotel in Tenerife. We look forward to welcome you for the fourth time!
Regards,
Silvia G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Room was good value for money - not luxurious but clean and functional.
Location was really central, only a short (flat!) walk to the city centre.

Double bed wasn't the comfiest, two large single beds pushed together with quite firm matresses. We got lots of traffic noise in the night, but suspect this was due to location of our room at the end of the garden area (room 25). The patio doors don't fully seal when closed, so this was unavoidable. Fridge and air conditioning would be a nice improvement to the smaller rooms.

Breakfast was nothing special, mostly standard continental. Good selection, particularly nice cakes/biscuits and fresh rolls. Juices weren't very good and the machine dispensed them into tiny glasses. There was lots of congestion in the dining room especially around the juice machine. Didn't try the dinner.

Bar and pool area were really good, we enjoyed spending time there.
Internet access was fairly expensive. Staff were helpful and friendly (for the most part).

Overall it's not very fancy, but it's great value for money on a budget trip.

Room Tip: Room 25 was very noisy at night from the streets; lots of traffic and rubbish collection in the night and early morning. This was at the far end of the garden area - suspect other rooms are better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GT_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your sincere review with the Tripadvisor users and with us. We will try to improve those little things you pointed so that if you come back again to our Hotel you feel that it has increased its "value for money"

Kind regards,
Silvia G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for the first 2 weeks in July. Its in a nice quiet location, yet only 5 minutes away from the town centre. I was bed and breakfast, which was fine with plenty to choose from. The hotel is clean and basic. The pool water is changed every so often and is salt water. Beware, after its been changed, the water is freezing and takes a few days to warm up. My only negative point is, the concrete around the pool needs repaired, but that did not spoil things.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammy_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia G, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Hotel San Borondón. I'm sure that TripAdvisor users will find it very useful.
¡We hope to take the chance of see you again back in Tenerife!

Kind regards,
Silvia G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews