We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evaldas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RF San Borondon
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed January 6, 2013

1 week in San Borondon arrived in December 2012 excellent location good food,a staff was very friendly help me organize some thinks.Well located sun beds so no wind was blowing at us.Down sides my room had no fridge and kettle,gym no lights,and German guest everywhere.Nice hotel,but i try different next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
1  Thank Simona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Simona,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at our Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We always try to provide our guest with the best possible service.

If you want a room with kitchen, equipped with fridge and kettle, you have to book a Studio room. Only this room type can offer it. In the gym there is light, but you have to switch it on.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future, and give us the opportunity for getting your fully expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us, if you need it.

Kind Regards from Hotel San Borondón

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 286 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I bet they have given themselves two extra stars!

We stayed here first week of October 2012
First the positive things: the hotel looks nice from the outside, sort of old colonial style, the pool area is nice. The staff is friendly and the location is fine as well: close to the main square and one of the few beaches at the island. It is reasonably clean.

There are several things that makes this hotel absolute not one to recommend:
Main reason are the terrible beds and matrasses. If you like to sleep on bag filles with bricks, then go for it! They are old, very old! You feel the springs in your back and with every turn you wake up because of the noise. I slept much better on the sun beds at Waterpark La Martianez (go there!!!!) besides the matrasses also the pillows and bed linnen are in bad shape. It is all old, worm down and thin, very thin.
The towels must have been once nice thick fluffy ones, but this is lóóóng ago! We only got once clean ones during a week stay! Tenerife is a sun destination, so what do people need: towels!!!! They do not seem to get this. The ones we got smelled horrible after one day. Glad we brought some beach towels ourselves. 

If you have to go there, book it without breakfast! This is of no star quality! Old bread, no juice (sort of lemonade instead) and the cheapest of the cheapest cheese and ham to put on your sandwich. Did not dare to try the eggs. Coffee not fresh, only instant. You can also have your dinner there.... we checked it out one night, don't do it! Tenerife has got plenty of nice restaurants where you can eat and get great value for money! We also had our breakfast outside the hotel in one of the many places offering breakfast (with real coffee!). Much healthier and appealing!

The swimming pool was nice, but closed for two days: Monday and Tuesday (every week) they empty it and fill it up with fresh sea water. No idea why this takes so long.

We stayed at the back in a one room studio. We only needed a fridge, so it was fine for us, but if you are planning to cook yourself you will get disappointed. There is hardly equipment to do so.
Then last but not least: the noise! It looks like a nice quiet neighborhood, but it is not! The Spanish neighbors like to party! Two times till 7:00 am, loud singing, cars coming and going, shouting, screaming etc. There is no airco, so sleeping with the windows closed is not an option. It kept us awake the entire night (at least it gave me time to write this review). By the way, you have to go to McDonald's to upload it, since there is no wifi in the rooms.

So go to Tenerife, climb the vulcano Teide, visit Santa Cruz, work on your tan at La Martianez but avoid Hotel San Borondon!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OttoNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We would like to apologize if we could not met your expectatives. We are not happy reading this hard review. We could understand that you do not like some things of our hotel, but we do not agree with you in a lot of things.

The hotel has 107 rooms. If you do not find good in yours, you can ask for another one, in a different part of the hotel, avoiding noise or ... other things that you do not like. You should think that we are located in the city center of Puerto de La Cruz. It is normal the hear people, cars and so on in the sourroundings. It is specified everywhere that we do not have air conditioning. We provide towels for the room, but not for the swimmingpool or beach.

Refering to the food, a high percentage of guests enjoy our meals, and we never have not had such a bad opinion like yours.

Our swimminpool has sea water, and we changed it once a week, on wednesday. We inform all of our guests when they arrive.

Well, we just want to explain some things. Even if you did not like it, if you need to stay in our hotel in the future, we will be happy to accommodate you, and get the chance to met your expectatives.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

1 week in San Borondon in September. Perfect location and enough good food - only two good things. Staff NO English at all, rude and unhelpful. Tiered looking rooms. Spa and gym - turned out to be a huge disappointment ( no lights in the gym, poor facility). It wasn't very bad hotel, but never come back here.

Room Tip: didn't choose a room with view sea, cause you will see other hotels windows and very far sea cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. You help us to understand your point of view and to know the things that we should improve.

We apologize if you do not met your expectatives.

Our purpose is to make you feel us if you where at home, but we do not got it with you. Day a day, we are working hard for improving our service.

We hope you have spent a good holidays. We think so.

If you need to stay in our hotel in the future, do not hesitate to contact us. We will provide you with the best service.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I arrived at the hotel on the 10 of September. Greeted by a staff memeber with poor level on english. Was not shown to my bedroom neither was I explained about the facilites other then the breakfast and pool. (there is mentioning of a spa and gym) which turned out to be a huge disappointment ( no lights in the gym, poor facility) The room i had been given looked nothing like on the web page and looked rather dated. I went to reception and was offered a different room. Nobody showed me the new room or helped with the luggage.the new room was more pleasant that the old one however i almost got hit by the wardrobe doors which were not fixed properly. Furthermore there was building noise which came from accross the street. Regardless I used the bar faclilty were an older staff memeber "welcomed "me and my partner rudley and seemed rather annoyed in preparing a drink for us. poor language skills, and very rude. When wanting to book a tour with the night receptionist who spoke NO english at all and was not willing to help I gave up on this hotel. the breakfast was ever chaniging and acceptable on one ouf of seven days.
My advise if you book this hotel: if you like a good location, are german and dont want to be surrouned by any other nationaily ,want poor quality of food, tiered looking rooms and RUDE and UNHELPFUL staff then visit this hotel otherwise there is surely better places to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oothy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for let us know how you have spent your holidays at our Hotel.

We apologize, if we could not met your expectations. We always want to provide our clients with the best service and always want to know if we have not met their expectations. Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality standards.

There are some different kind of rooms. If you want one of the best available room, you should book exactly this kind of room. If you book a standar one, you know that it do not offer the best equippment of the hotel. Anyway, in the reception desk, we always help our customers for choosing other kind of room if they need it.

We accommodate people from many different nationalities, not only german people. And nobody feel bad if you are not german.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and get the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

San Borondon is just one of those small scale, good price-quality comparison, family hotels. Recently been the lucky one to have returned for the 10th time, and it was no different then other times....except for the swimming pool being repainted which was great.
Still the same cosy atmosphere, friendly people, great location, 10 mins from the centre walking, 5 mins from Playa Jardin with a lot of parking space there if you rent a car, 5 mins from the bus station. It s not your 5 star fashion hotel from the mass tourism sites, but from my point of view one of the best options in Puerto de la Cruz. Testing hotels regularly, but for me in Puerto everytime I go back i choose the San Borondon, even having tried some others in the area

Room Tip: My only advice is that it is not the room that makes the holiday, if not the experience outside it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidPunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear David,

Thank you for kind feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel RF San Borondón.

It is a pleasure for us to welcoming you each time that you stay with us.

We always want to provide our customers with the best service and we feel really proud when we receive such kind comments. Thank you for recommending us.

As you already know, Hotel RF San Borondón is your home, and if you need something, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

this little hotel near from the seafront is located in a very good area of the city. The staff is polite and always take care of the customer.
english, french, dutch, german and spanish fluently spoken in the hotel. I recommend this hotel if you want to spend lovely and quiet holidays

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice report. We really appreciate when our guest let us know about their experience as we can know how we are doing in it. We are glad that you have enjoyed your holidays.With this rewiew you have provide a good tip to future travelers.

We hope you can visit us in the near future, it would be a pleasure to receive you back. If you are planning to come back, do not hesitate to contact us, and we will help you with your reservation.

Thank you for recommending us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We loved our stay, the hotel is close to the beach and old town and we found it very quiet and the staff friendly, helpful and very chilled. Our rooms were simple but adequate, upgrading to a pool view room with a balcony would be a good option if you plan to spend much time at the hotel. Everything was clean, the gym was a bonus and it was a treat to swim in the pool surrounded by the low level, balconied rooms and palm trees. This hotel is popular with Germans and the food is definitely slanted to German tastes. The inclusive meals were 0k and reasonable value, but when we go again we'll just do bed and breakfast and eat at one of the many great bars and restaurants close by. This is a very Spanish town with lots of character; it was a great place to be. We did some day trips south (its hotter in the south) and the hotel worked well as a base for exploring different parts of Tenerife. Thanks to all at the San Borodon.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have the best position, back rooms appear to be more basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louis2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Louis,

Thank yoy very much for letting us know your recent experience at Hotel San Borondón.
It is a pleasure for us to read such a nice comment like yours. We feel very happy to know that you have spent a good stay.
With your review, you will help future travelers for choosing our hotel as first option for staying in Puerto de la Cruz.

We would like to welcome you again. If you are planning to come back to Puerto de La Cruz, do not hesitate to contact us, and we will help you with your hotel reservation.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife
Sol Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife
#33 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#25 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#30 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Don Manolito Hotel
Don Manolito Hotel
#43 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF San Borondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF San Borondon

Address: Calle Agustin Espinosa 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $54 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF San Borondon 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel RF San Borondon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing