We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my lovely 2 weeks in tenerife.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RF San Borondon
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed May 25, 2012

well had a great holiday, wish i was still there, wee arrived late on saturday night, and the hotel front was all lit up looked so nice, went in got our room on ground floor, right next to the pool, loved it, the room was nice and clean and everything that you need was there, the only thing was i would have liked a fridge, but coped without one. wee went half board was worth it, the food was good, just ordered wine with evening meal cost 6 euro lasted 2 evenings if you had some left they put it in the fridge for the next night, the staff were really helpful when asked how to get to places to visit, toured most of the holiday on the local buses, cleaners were in everyday except sunday, i thought the hotel and all the staff were brilliant, and would like to thank them for a wonderful holiday, and the other guests who where from different parts of the world, like to thank them for being so nice and really friendly, and i also learned some more spanish aswell from the waiters, and had a great day in the sauna & jaccuzi, now the night life was good, so romantic listing to spanish music in some of the bars and resturaunts, also went to karioki that was brill sorry about the spelling not so hot with it, the weather was great, every morning after breakfast wee went a walk along the beach to tne harbour, watched the people selling there catch of fish & eels and other stuff at the harbour, then went walk abouta around the town, wee really enjoyed our holiday and cant wait to go again, thank you to everyone for a wonderfull holiday.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments about your experience in our hotel. Our main goal is to make your stay an unforgettable moment. We are very gald to know that you have enjoyed your holidays. We believe your opinion will encourage other travelers to visit Hotel San Borondón.
We always want to provide our customers with the best service and we feel really proud when we receive such kind comments.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back next time. If you need help with your reservtaion, do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards from Puerto de La Cruz,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

During three years now I have been visiting this hotel regularly, mainly because of its perfect location near Playa Jardin and the centre of Puerto de la Cruz. It is situated near places you keep going to every day like the Plaza del Charco, where you will meet friendly local people, good restaurants like Rias Gallegas, and in the evenings a very nice bar with very good live music: Las Tejas Verdes. And of course not forgetting the friendly, hardworking staff in the hotel. Always friendly and helpful. Although they are all helpfull there is one camarera which always makes you smile for her "sonrisa" and cheerful character. She amazes me by working so hard. I also do have to mention the breakfast. You seldom find so much choice. It is possible you may encounter small problems, but if you mention them they will be resolved as soon as possible. San Borondon is one of the reasons I keep going back to Puerto de la Cruz.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriatene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've just had a lovely stay at this hotel, it was nice and quiet, clean, well maintained, friendly helpful staff, nice pool and good buffet breakfast. The hotel is also located near lots of places to eat and drink, a nice central square and the seafront. It is all within walking distance and there is plenty to do in the resort. We don't often say that we would return somewhere but we would definitely stay here again! Great holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Nina,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We really appreciate it, when people let us know about their experience as we can know how we are doing in it.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacations and have provided good tips to future travelers.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future. If you are planning to come back, do not hesitate to contact us, and we will help you with your reservation.

Best Regards from Tenerife!

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in a self catering room which had everything we needed but no microwave. We did not eat in the hotel but we did have a drink in the bar and were pleasantly surprised by the prices!
Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms cleaned every day, bed nice and comfortable.Pool area good, very quiet, did have a swim but water a bit cool but you get use to it once in the water.
Plenty of places to eat and drink and lots to do in the resort, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Self catering room large, plenty of storage space, room got late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Karen,

First of all, we wish to thank you for sharing your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel.
Our main goal is to make your stay an unforgettable moment. We believe your opinion will encourage other travelers to visit our Hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Considering this is a 3* hotel, it is a wonderful well kept establishment, great location, minutes away from everything. We originally booked a superior room, but wasn't impressed, so we upgraded to a suite.Suites are well worth the money,we had room 123, over looking the pool, largest balcony of all the hotel. cleaned daily, very good service.
Downside, if you book self catering, DONT expect a cooker, tea, coffee making facilities in any room, superior rooms are room only...You have a fridge in the suites, but again no facilities otherwise.
Pool is a large one, always empty,very clean, very very cold,so be warned :)
I personally ate once & wasn't very impressed with the food, so we ate out every night, family of four with drinks, averaged around 80 euros, which i thought was good value for the standard of food we ate. Lunch was Mcdonalds, or light salads at various eatieries in the town square.
We would recommend the hotel,but take a travel kettle & iron, very pretty part of Puerto Del A Cruz, but it is more for the elderly person, i felt quite young compared to the rest of the residents.
Lore Parque is a must to do, kids loved it.
Lovely hotel, in an ideal location.

Room Tip: This is advertised as s/c but its room only or half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel San Borondon. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have several kind of rooms, and you have choosen one of the best. In case you want self catering, you should have choosen the Studios. They are full equipped for cooking.

Thank you for recommending Hotel San Borondon.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again. Do not hesitate to contact us if you want come back.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel but with some reservations. Our room was spacious, the staff kept it very clean and there was a nice big balcony overlooking the pool area. The room decor was a bit dated and basic but not too bad (the photos on Expedia are pretty accurate). We wanted a double room but the hotel apparently only has twins and pushes them together. The pool and surrounds are pretty (albeit not heated) - apparently there is also a jacuzzi but I think they charge for it. The location is really great - a couple of street back from the centre of the old town and waterfront. There is no hotel parking but there are two free public parking areas each about five minutes' walk away. The worst bit was breakfast - it really wasn't great at all. The breakfast area is nice and there is quite a variety but everything was poor quality - cheap meat, overcooked eggs, stale bread, tinned not fresh fruit. Another negative was the wifi, they had signs up for it but I don't think it is available in the rooms (or at least not in our room) but it also didn't seem to work in the common areas, at least for us. There is one computer available but they charged two euro for 30 mins or something equally steep. So overall I would potentially stay there again but wouldn't pay more for breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneInLondonStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is very pleasant, well presented, clean, not a typical concrete hotel, in a very convenient location - the beach and promenade are a short walk away, as is the main town square, traditional harbour and a wide range of restaurants. All of the above are within 5 minutes walk.
Our room was supposed to be self catering but in reality it was simply a bedroom with no fridge, cooking facilities or even a kettle! When questioned, the hotel management did agree that self catering should have the above facilities. We ended up laughing about it. An alternative room was offered however as it reportedly faced the side of a building, was smaller than ours, wasn't available for a day and would cost 4 euros extra per night therefore we elected to stay in the room we had been given. There were self catering rooms at the site, our room wasn't and this resulted in meal costs being greater than anticipated as we ate out for every meal. The hotel does offer buffet breakfast and dinner and whilst it all looked ok, inexpensive and quality breakfasts were available a short distance walk away at the town square where you could sit outdoors and enjoy the morning sun. The only downside of this was the place we liked didn't open until 10am.  
On the plus side the room was large, spacious, with a balcony overlooking the gardens and in the distance an exciting mountainous backdrop. 
The pool - well put simply it was freezing cold! But this didn't stop people using it occasionally. I am a keen and daily swimmer. Once you got used to it, the water temperature was ok. The pool was very clean - it is advertised that the water is changed weekly - and at one end it is very deep. It's says 2m on the wall but I am 2m tall and when I jumped in, I went down a long way. So I'd say it's more like 3m deep - great fun for occasional jumping in. The pool area is very quiet - we didn't witness any boisterous behaviour. On one occasion that I jumped in, it broke the silence much to the humour of a nearby Swiss couple. The pool is heavily salted - so much so that my legs floated like I'd image one would experience in the Dead Sea.
There are few English people in the area and I like that.  The more commercialised restaurants spoke English. It depends what you want. I prefer more authentic places with traditional menus and enjoyed fresh fish, rabbit, pork and a couple of fabulously tasty steaks. I would offer a word of caution - some of the Canarian restaurants seemed to be run by non-Canarians with mixed results. The 'canarian potatoes' served with red and green mojo sauce is must to try...but some of the restaurants just couldn't seem to deliver the right results - the potatoes are cooked in salted water and left to steam off leaving wrinkly skins that look like tiny baked jacket potatoes. But some of the restaurants efforts just looked like boiled new potatoes.
It seemed that most of the guests at the hotel and resort were German. 
There was hardly any of the 'reserving of beds with beach towels' charade. Only on a couple of occasions were towels left on beds but this was perhaps more a case of people nipping off for lunch. We did lunch at the hotel bar which is run by an extremely hospitable little lady, very friendly and although she didn't speak English, it was very easy to order and she helped us learn some Spanish words which was great as we both enjoy learning new languages.   
Wifi is available at a small extra cost but it only works in and near the main reception. A computer is available where you can buy time to use the Internet, I think 1 euro for 15 mins or similar and I found this useful for translating menus. 
The nearby football pitch was noisy for one night but I wouldn't say it was much of a problem. The hotel backs on to the local Police Station which was reassuring.
The nearby beach was lovely. Very rough Atlantic sea when we were there, getting in and out was fun and a bit tricky but a lifeguard was always on duty and a bit common sense is all it takes to decide when is safe to enter the water. I went in when others were in too.  There is a beach at one end of the resort that looks like it is dedicated to surfers - great to watch.
There are lots of little grocery shops in the area and a wide range of eating out options.  
We went during March 2012 and the weather was good - warm and sunny on most days. Only one day was overcast and on that occasion we went for a long walk up the hill and out of the resort, in the direction of the exciting looking hills and mountains beyond. We passed some of the other hotels we had considered and whilst they looked nice, many were a long way from the beaches, unlike ours.
I searched the internet looking for Tenerife hotels to spend a 7 day holiday away with my girlfriend. Having found 3 potentials, I then used Trip Advisor to research further and was not disappointed with my choice. Overall a lovely holiday in a very nice, unspoilt resort. 
(We were offered a shuttle from the airport or a taxi for a greater cost. We went for the shuttle (minibus). On the outward journey there were 4 passengers. On the return, just the two of us. Perhaps it might be different at busier times but knowing what I now know, I wouldn't waste the money on a taxi for this resort).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HonestRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you kind review about our hotel, surroundings and so on. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel San Borondón. Also, you help us to improve our negative aspects, because our purpose is to offer the best possible service.

We believe your opinion will encourage other travelers to visit our Hotel. Thank you!

We would like to welcome you in a near future. Do not hesitate to contact us, if you are planning to come back.

Kind Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife
Sol Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife
#33 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#26 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#30 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Don Manolito Hotel
Don Manolito Hotel
#45 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF San Borondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF San Borondon

Address: Calle Agustin Espinosa 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $54 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF San Borondon 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel RF San Borondon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing