We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean but rubbish breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RF San Borondon
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel but with some reservations. Our room was spacious, the staff kept it very clean and there was a nice big balcony overlooking the pool area. The room decor was a bit dated and basic but not too bad (the photos on Expedia are pretty accurate). We wanted a double room but the hotel apparently only has twins and pushes them together. The pool and surrounds are pretty (albeit not heated) - apparently there is also a jacuzzi but I think they charge for it. The location is really great - a couple of street back from the centre of the old town and waterfront. There is no hotel parking but there are two free public parking areas each about five minutes' walk away. The worst bit was breakfast - it really wasn't great at all. The breakfast area is nice and there is quite a variety but everything was poor quality - cheap meat, overcooked eggs, stale bread, tinned not fresh fruit. Another negative was the wifi, they had signs up for it but I don't think it is available in the rooms (or at least not in our room) but it also didn't seem to work in the common areas, at least for us. There is one computer available but they charged two euro for 30 mins or something equally steep. So overall I would potentially stay there again but wouldn't pay more for breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneInLondonStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Hotel RF San Borondon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is very pleasant, well presented, clean, not a typical concrete hotel, in a very convenient location - the beach and promenade are a short walk away, as is the main town square, traditional harbour and a wide range of restaurants. All of the above are within 5 minutes walk.
Our room was supposed to be self catering but in reality it was simply a bedroom with no fridge, cooking facilities or even a kettle! When questioned, the hotel management did agree that self catering should have the above facilities. We ended up laughing about it. An alternative room was offered however as it reportedly faced the side of a building, was smaller than ours, wasn't available for a day and would cost 4 euros extra per night therefore we elected to stay in the room we had been given. There were self catering rooms at the site, our room wasn't and this resulted in meal costs being greater than anticipated as we ate out for every meal. The hotel does offer buffet breakfast and dinner and whilst it all looked ok, inexpensive and quality breakfasts were available a short distance walk away at the town square where you could sit outdoors and enjoy the morning sun. The only downside of this was the place we liked didn't open until 10am.  
On the plus side the room was large, spacious, with a balcony overlooking the gardens and in the distance an exciting mountainous backdrop. 
The pool - well put simply it was freezing cold! But this didn't stop people using it occasionally. I am a keen and daily swimmer. Once you got used to it, the water temperature was ok. The pool was very clean - it is advertised that the water is changed weekly - and at one end it is very deep. It's says 2m on the wall but I am 2m tall and when I jumped in, I went down a long way. So I'd say it's more like 3m deep - great fun for occasional jumping in. The pool area is very quiet - we didn't witness any boisterous behaviour. On one occasion that I jumped in, it broke the silence much to the humour of a nearby Swiss couple. The pool is heavily salted - so much so that my legs floated like I'd image one would experience in the Dead Sea.
There are few English people in the area and I like that.  The more commercialised restaurants spoke English. It depends what you want. I prefer more authentic places with traditional menus and enjoyed fresh fish, rabbit, pork and a couple of fabulously tasty steaks. I would offer a word of caution - some of the Canarian restaurants seemed to be run by non-Canarians with mixed results. The 'canarian potatoes' served with red and green mojo sauce is must to try...but some of the restaurants just couldn't seem to deliver the right results - the potatoes are cooked in salted water and left to steam off leaving wrinkly skins that look like tiny baked jacket potatoes. But some of the restaurants efforts just looked like boiled new potatoes.
It seemed that most of the guests at the hotel and resort were German. 
There was hardly any of the 'reserving of beds with beach towels' charade. Only on a couple of occasions were towels left on beds but this was perhaps more a case of people nipping off for lunch. We did lunch at the hotel bar which is run by an extremely hospitable little lady, very friendly and although she didn't speak English, it was very easy to order and she helped us learn some Spanish words which was great as we both enjoy learning new languages.   
Wifi is available at a small extra cost but it only works in and near the main reception. A computer is available where you can buy time to use the Internet, I think 1 euro for 15 mins or similar and I found this useful for translating menus. 
The nearby football pitch was noisy for one night but I wouldn't say it was much of a problem. The hotel backs on to the local Police Station which was reassuring.
The nearby beach was lovely. Very rough Atlantic sea when we were there, getting in and out was fun and a bit tricky but a lifeguard was always on duty and a bit common sense is all it takes to decide when is safe to enter the water. I went in when others were in too.  There is a beach at one end of the resort that looks like it is dedicated to surfers - great to watch.
There are lots of little grocery shops in the area and a wide range of eating out options.  
We went during March 2012 and the weather was good - warm and sunny on most days. Only one day was overcast and on that occasion we went for a long walk up the hill and out of the resort, in the direction of the exciting looking hills and mountains beyond. We passed some of the other hotels we had considered and whilst they looked nice, many were a long way from the beaches, unlike ours.
I searched the internet looking for Tenerife hotels to spend a 7 day holiday away with my girlfriend. Having found 3 potentials, I then used Trip Advisor to research further and was not disappointed with my choice. Overall a lovely holiday in a very nice, unspoilt resort. 
(We were offered a shuttle from the airport or a taxi for a greater cost. We went for the shuttle (minibus). On the outward journey there were 4 passengers. On the return, just the two of us. Perhaps it might be different at busier times but knowing what I now know, I wouldn't waste the money on a taxi for this resort).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HonestRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you kind review about our hotel, surroundings and so on. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel San Borondón. Also, you help us to improve our negative aspects, because our purpose is to offer the best possible service.

We believe your opinion will encourage other travelers to visit our Hotel. Thank you!

We would like to welcome you in a near future. Do not hesitate to contact us, if you are planning to come back.

Kind Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed B&B at the Hotel as we wanted to travel the North part of Tenerife with Puerto as our base. It was ideally located in a quiet area within a very easy walk of beaches, Plaza de Charco and all the attractions. Perfect for our needs and with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 73 is a Studio but with a very small balcony. Didnt worry us as we were out all of the time, bu...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 603Fionaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for your comment about your recently stay at Hotel San Borondón.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I chose the hotel to be close to the bus station and the centre, to be quiet, and to have a decent breakfast. It worked for me on those counts.



The hotel is two streets down from the bus station. It is on the edge of the central shopping/restaurant district of the old town, and on the flat (Puerto rises rather inland to some of the hotels/districts). The hotel was quiet.



Reception was efficient. Internet access machine for guests, quite expensive (turn left out of the hotel, cheaper internet centre in first street on right).



My room was large, functional. Safe, but one needed to hire a key. No fridge/minibar. TV (BBCWS). Small balcony. Overlooked the hotel garden and tennis court. Quiet (other rooms overlooked the pool and children´s play area), I had asked for a quiet room on an upper floor (hotel is low rise - three floors only). Clean (rooms not cleaned on a Sunday, however). Thin curtains let in the light.



Large bathroom. One sachet of cheap shower gel per night. No shampoo. Bring your own toiletries. Clean



Breakfast offered a wide range of hot and cold food at reasonable quality. Served from 07.00 to 10.00, so good if you wish to make an early start to your walking. Staff seemed more concerned with checking tickets than making you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience at our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us, and even for the future travelers who are coming to Hotel San Borondon. With this nice comment, you will help them to know how is our hotel, and choosing it.

We are glad to know that you like our hotel and it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you next time. If you want to come back in the future, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We actually picked San Borondon on our last trip to Puerto, this because the hotel we stayed in then and whose name shall remain confidential had a neighbouring hotel that had all-night entertainment in the form of "Besame Mucho" and similar songs, played by a band until the wee hours of the morning. We spotted San Borondon and since it was in a quiet neighbourhood we went in, looked around and liked what we saw.

Got a surprisingly large apartment, considering we only booked a one-room apartment for three. The staff was very friendly and the maids cleaned our rooms reasonably well, albeit a bit unevenly and the one day the floors were not swept properly, we did find one cockroach in the morning. To be fair though, the apartment was on the ground floor and it had probably just wandered in under the door.

The patio was nice, apart from the fact that the guests above us were feeding the pidgeons....

Childrens channels were notably absent on the TV, but then again did we not travel to Tenerife to watch TV... Kitchenette was nice with an electric two-burner stove and fridge. The fridge was reasonably new as was the stove. Cookware, cutlery and china were adequate. The Apartment had a safe-box, but it was apparently out of order.

Location is excellent, in a quiet neighbourhood a stone-throw from Playa Jardin and from Plaza del Charco. Also close to the bus Terminus and postoffice.

Room Tip: Apartments on ground floor can be a bit cold and damp.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Dear Anders,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your kind comments about your recent stay at our Hotel.
We always want to provide our customers with the best service and we feel really proud when we receive such kind comments.

It will be a pleasure to seeing you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed here in February on half board. Quite quiet, but it clearly wasn't full. Breakfast was good. Evening meals were adequate, vegetables tended to be seriously overcooked except for some boiled potatoes that were virtually raw. Always a fish option, but salads and veg were often prepared with meat, not good for my non-meat eating wife. Our room was large and comfortable, daily cleaning was good, but the only access was up a flight of stairs. The staff were always very pleasant and friendly. If you hire a car and drive here, be warned, the hotel has no parking (except for a drop off area) and finding a place to park on the street can be a nightmare, on several occasions I had to park some 15 minutes away, having driven around in increasing circles. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the beaches and the town centre for restaurants.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility difficulties do not assume you can get to any room without having to climb st...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your experience in our hotel. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel San Borondón. We try to make you feel in our hotel as if you were at home.

We are looking forward to welcomingo you next time.

Best Regards

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were moved to this hotel when our original hotel could not accommodate us, and it was a nice surprise. Room (junior suite) was a good size. Some of the furniture a bit dated, but charming all the same and perfectly serviceable, with a large terrace overlooking the pool area. Pool is a good size and there are some garden areas and a pretty good tennis court too. Did not eat at the hotel, but the centre of Puerto is close by with lots of options. We were there for part of the Carnival and although this went on long into the night, the room was quiet. There are a lot of older people at this hotel which adds to the serenity. Hotel in a residential area, with parking on-street. All in all pretty good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayakerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF San Borondon, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We work very hard for getting the best result of our purpose, which it is to make you feel as if you were at home.

We would like to wecolming you next time.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#26 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#36 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
TRYP Puerto de la Cruz
#35 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Don Manolito Hotel
Don Manolito Hotel
#39 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#20 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF San Borondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF San Borondon

Address: Calle Agustin Espinosa 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $62 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF San Borondon 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RF San Borondon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing