We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a holiday”
Review of Hotel Las Aguilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Aguilas
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Las Aguilas is in the perfect location overlooking Puerto de la Cruz
It has wonderful grounds that are suberbly maintained
The rooms are very large with a separate lounge and kitchen and are certainly not dated
The food is excellent in the resturant and pool bar area
The staff are excellent and extremely well trained by the hotel Direcor who ensures the hotel runs perfectly
There are seversl pools including a new children's one and many sunbeds- all new this year
The local town is 5 minutes away and the hotel has a free bus service
We have a 5* hotel on the U K so we know good quality
It is our third visit and we will back again next year
Do go as you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your evaluation and your recommendation on Tripadvisor – we are pleased to hear that you had a nice and relaxing stay with us and everything was as expected. We are especially happy that we had the possibility to welcome you again at Las Águilas.

Looking forward to receiving you again in Puerto de la Cruz.

Kindest regards,
your Hotel lasÁguilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We decided to spend our first 3 nights of a 16 night Tenerife holiday at Las Aguilas. We drove from TFS and found the hotel easily using our satnav. It is little more than a turn off the motorway, but as it is high there is no noise. We arrived in the late evening and didn't realise how good the view was until the morning. Our apartment was a 'promo' - supposedly on the ground floor with no view. I had requested a high floor and got it, with a fantastic view looking up to El Teide. Car parking was not a problem - plentiful and free.

Our apartment was roomy and clean - the Jacuzzi in the bathroom was most enjoyable, but it took AGES to fill the bath! In the living area was a fridge (great!) and cooking hobs, which I thought would be great for self-caterers, but there were NO utensils or crockery, not even a cup or a spoon! Having said that we were B&B so no problem. Breakfast was a pretty comprehensive buffet spread - excellent. Reception staff very helpful.

Any negatives? Well the only points worth mentioning were the free wifi which was only available in one area, and with a few users having bad manners and skyping loudly, it was a bit frustrating, and the courtesy coach. This ran (as far as I recall) 4 times a day to a stop near the shore, but the times are crazy! The last one returning to the hotel was about 5.30pm, so if you were eating in town, as we were, we had to taxi back. It is NOT a practical walk!

Overall I'm glad we chose this hotel, would use it again, and would recommend it to anyone staying in the north of Tenerife.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faedanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and are pleased that you are recommending our hotel to other guests.

We are very happy to hear that you had a convenient stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed your suite with the fantastic Teide view.

Your feedback helps us to constantly improve our service. Therefore, we also thank you very much for your comments with respect to the shuttle schedule which actually runs 5 times per day. Free Wifi connection is available in the lobby area. In case you would like to use it in all other areas it is with a extra charge. We work on the connection quality.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Puerto de la Cruz and are sending our best regards,
your hotel Las Águilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Have just returned from a short last minute holiday at this hotel and was extremely disappointed by our stay.
The hotel itself is a bit dated although our sea view was large and had a great view. The bed was like sleeping on bricks and the electric plug sockets were loose and a bit dangerous. The pool areas were spotlessly clean and the gardens were well maintained.
We had booked all inclusive and that is where the main problem lay. Food was extremely poor, breakfast was adequate although fried eggs were always overcooked but lunch and dinner were a disaster. Very unappetising, often cold and when they did have something decent on they ran out midway through the session. We used the free shuttle bus (one of the good points) to go into town for dinner in the evenings and got a taxi back. The evening entertainment is non existent, like a bad holiday camp from the 60's, and the lounge area was the most depressing place I have ever been in.
This is unfortunately a 3 star hotel advertising itself as a 4 star. A shame as the staff were very friendly and tried hard. Will not be going back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms avoide the traffic noise from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric49666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We have taken note of your criticism and will forward these points to the respective departments for improvement. At the same time we would like to thank you for your evaluation which reflects the customers’ point of view and helps us to continuously work on our service provided.

We do hope that the views and outdoor areas helped to have a relaxing holiday and that overall you enjoyed your stay on Tenerife.

Kindest regards,
your Hotel las Águilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just got back from 5 nights in Tenerife. My partner and I wanted a short stay away from the hustle and bustle and a nice place to relax by the pool and chill in the evening. The Las Aquilias and Puerto De La Cruz looked like a great option. Unfortunately it wasn't the winter sun break we expected.

The good points first. The hotel is clean, well furnished and the decor is classy. The staff are all very friendly, and helpful. 

Now the bad points. We booked a mountain view room, thinking we won't be in the room much, so no need to pay extra for a sea view...wrong move. The hotel is high up on a mound of volcanic rock, high above the town and the near by motorway. Unfortunately the height of the hotel doesn't protect the mountain view rooms from the constant hum and noise from the motorway. The noise is endless throughout the night, as the highway is constantly passing traffic, which makes your nights sleep seem like you are in a city centre apartment. Not what we expected at all. So to overcome this a sea view is the answer. Not the hotels doing, but the weather in this area in May 2014 was constantly cloudy. So relaxing by the pool wasn't much of an option unless you like goose bumps from the windy hill top site. When the sun does make brief appearances, it is a great poolside area, with fantastic views over the town and sea.

We were thankful we hired a car at the South Airport, as our original plan was to just use the car to get to and from the hotel/airport, and spend the whole trip locally, doing and travel on foot. Sadly that wasn't the case and we ended up seeking out the sun. This was achieved by days out to places like Playa de Las Teresitas (perfect white sandy beach), Los Gigantes (stunning cliffs and great marina). It seemed that every other place on the island was bathed in brilliant sunshine while Puerto Del La Cruz was cloudy city.

The town itself is ok, but again the walk from the hotel is a good hour walking, all down hill, and the actual path and roadside you have to walk along has very few pavements, and in my view is very dangerous. It isn't at all a pretty walk either. I wouldn't recommend taking children on this walk, and it's not for the faint hearted. We didn't try walking all the way back as it was uphill and the lack of walkways makes it even more dangerous in the dark.
That said the taxi ride is around €5 to €6 one way.

We drove into the town on one day, and parked along the sea front, which is a very busy large rough car park, but free. The old part of the town is nice but very small. Some very nice cafe houses and restaurants. We recommend Milka Cafe house, where we were tempted by a couple of fresh Mojitos. We also recommend Mamma Rosa's Italian restaurant. Great food and the owner and staff were very friendly and amusing.

The town was busy due to music festival and lots of activities going on, which made it an interesting walk around.

Back to the hotel. We were on half board accommodation, and the breakfast and evening meals are well catered for, however we soon tired of the choices, and started eating out and skipping breakfast. On reflection the main reason for us, was the total lack of atmosphere in the restaurant. To us it was like a canteen. It appears that approx 95% of the other guests were German, and although they may have exacting standards, which keeps quality high, they aren't the most warming of people when mingling around the hotel. The main area this was clear was in the bar area in the evening. We were shocked when we saw the bar and lounge completely dead of life by 11pm every night. The hotel put on entertainment every evening after evening dinner, and although we only saw three acts they did seem amateur. The magic act performed by two young girls was great for the few kids that were present, and great eye candy for the dads, but lacking in professionalism. I don't blame the acts, as the audience was probably happy in the main with this kind of thing. For them bedtime was looming and hanging around in the bar wasn't an option. My partner and I played a few games of pool on one night after eating out in the town, and we were the only people around after 11pm. The bar states it is open until 12, but the staff have pretty much wrapped up by 11. Not all the bar staff know how to make the cocktails on offer either, and had to rely on bar man Tomas, who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the drinks.

On the last night, we arrived back at the hotel by 10pm, and popped into the bar for a drink, and there was a queue at the bar for the all inclusive drinks, and the entertainment was a man on an electronic organ, signing English songs, poorly, with an accent I can't determine. The audience was the usual suspects, sat quietly with no atmosphere at all. We decided to just head up to our room and flick thought the TV channels which are mainly Spanish and German. The only English channels are Sky News, CNBC news, and BBC World News. So entertainment is something you have to make yourself. Saying that the German couple next door to us seemed to be making their own fun, as we learned how thin the walls are between rooms. Due to the tiled floors and the wooden furniture, the pushing and squeaking of furniture in rooms next to you and above you is very loud. My partner decided to pop down to the bar and get some drinks for the room, it was 11pm and the entertainer was the only person in the room, on his organ, still singing his reportoi to himself and the bar man.

The concept of the hotel on the hill is good but seriously flawed in cloudy weather, and a whole side of the hotel is ruined by the nearby motorway and view of the commercial shopping centre, and Lidl. The walk to the town and sea front is long, but worse than that, it's dangerous with large sections involving walking alongside the road with only a white painted line and a 12 inch path to protect you from the cars and buses. If you feel the urge to have a drink or snack along the way there are very few bars, but at least the drinks are a fraction of what you pay in the hotel bar.

On the whole we are sad that we have to give this hotel and it's location a not so glowing review. It is trying to cater for the majority, and I guess they are achieving this. Regrettably it wasn't our cup of tea, and although we wanted relaxed, we didn't want a lack of atmosphere or noisy highway in the deal.

Room Tip: Do not choose mountain view, pay for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your stay on Tenerife was not as you had expected it to be. As it is known, the weather in Puerto de la Cruz is cloudier and it is not as hot as in the Southern cities on the island. However, it is true that this season we are heaving colder days than usual at this time of year, and everybody is waiting for warmer and sunnier days.

Being situated on the top of the hill, two paths lead down towards the city centre. One is along the main road. As you have experienced as well, this way is not too convenient and you have to walk down next to a lot of traffic. Therefore, we recommend walking down the small pathway behind the hotel. This one passes housing areas as well as Puerto’s main park ‘Toaro Parque’ and you do not encounter a lot of traffic here. We are sorry if you did not try this route, as we are sure you would have enjoyed it.

Thank you for your evaluation regarding the restaurant, evening entertainment and the TV channels – your opinion helps us to continuously work on our service provided and we will consider these points as customer requests.

Once again we would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations.

Kindest regards from your
Hotel las Águilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice hotel, large and clean rooms. Staff is very friendly. Pools are clean and with nice view. Food in restaurant delicious. The kitchen is not equipped.
Wifi connection in the lobby is free of charge, but too slow and sometimes not working at all. I missed there a fitness room. The shuttle bus could go more often.

Room Tip: I recommend higher floor - you will get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iMilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your evaluation and your recommendation on Tripadvisor – we are pleased to hear that you had a nice and relaxing stay with us.

Thank you, too, for your comments with regard to the wifi connection, fitness room and the shuttle bus. We have taken note of your points of suggestion and will consider them for improving our service.

Kindest regards,
your Hotel lasÁguilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

It's an ok hotel, nothing special. The staff are very pleasant although the reception can be a little abrupt. We are into our third day of a seven day break so I will update at the end. For the first time in a long time we decided to go all inclusive and this has been good with food and drink available at just about all times.

My main criticisms would be the very poor quality WiFi that frustrates , and that's the free one in the lobby. Room WiFi costs and can only be used on one device and is even worse quality than the lobby.

Also, the room comes with a safe but to use it you have to pay.
These are services that you expect a hotel to provide as a matter of course and not as an extra that you pay for.

The tv in the room is very small, unlike the room itself which is quite spacious, and I am surprised that they still sell tv's with tubes. I'm pretty sure that a four star hotel would provide bigger , better, more modern.

Walking out of the hotel is rather limited. The impression we got when booking was that the hotel was set on a hill away from the hustle and bustle, with access to interesting walks. In fact, you are much better off taking the car.

So, at present I feel three stars would be the maximum I'd give...But I'll update at the end of the holiday.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our service and catering provided. We would also like to thank you for your evaluation with regard to the Wifi, safe and TV – we have taken note of your points of suggestion and will forward them to the respective departments.

It is right that the hotel is located on the top of the hill and therefore it is not possible to go hiking directly next to the hotel. Yet, a nice pathway behind the hotel leads towards the city centre, passing Puerto’s main park ‘Taoro Parque’ – we hope that you, too, have taken advantage of walking down this route to discover the hotel’s neighbourhood. We do, however, recommend hiring a car in order to have access to broader and more ample walks.

We still hope that you had a relaxing time in Puerto de la Cruz and would be pleased to welcome you back once again.

Best regards,
your Hotel las Águilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel does not meet a 4 stars to my view:
- no free wifi in the room had to go down in the lobby
- the food was not good, bad quality
- small tv in bedroom with limited channels
- pool was supposed to be heated but we found out that they stop after the 1st may but it was still a bit chilly this year so was clearly required
Positive side: staff was helpful, with a car it is well placed to visit the north

so overall ok to stay although it shoud not be rated at 4 stars - deserve a 3 stars

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank air1geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasaguilas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Las Aguilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time and evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your stay has not met your expectations of a 4 star hotel. At the same time we would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions as they help us to reflect our guests’ point of view and to continuously improve our service.

In spite of the points mentioned, we still hope that you had a relaxing holiday and send kind regards from Puerto de la Cruz,
your Hotel las Águilas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
642 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,163 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Aguilas

Address: Calle Doctor Barajas 19, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $103 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Aguilas 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Las Aguilas is located at the top of a mountain, surrounded by gardens of 10,000 sqm, with a spectacular view over Puerto de la Cruz and the Orotava Valley. It is just 3 km away from the city centre and from the beaches of Puerto de la Cruz and thanks to its easy accessibility this hotel is the perfect location for your holidays or your business trip. All of the suites dispose of one bedroom, one separate living room, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and a spacious balcony or terrace with wonderful views over the sea or towards the mountain Teide. Furthermore, all suites provide air conditioning, telephone, hairdryer, satellite TV, large beds, rental safe and refrigerator. Refresh yourself in the two swimming pools for adults (one of them heated in winter) and one for children, surrounded by ample gardens and areas with sunbeds. Try the variety of snacks and small dishes a la carte at our Snack Bar next to the pool and relax with the panoramic sea view. In our restaurant Amaltea you may enjoy the buffet with live cooking and theme nights and spend some time on its terrace with the amazing view over the Orotava Valley. The Vulcano Show Bar provides a large variety of drinks and international cocktails as well as an evening programme with shows and live music. During the day we invite you to participate in our activities for adults as well as for children (mini club for children between 4 and 12 years). You may reach the city centre of Puerto de la Cruz several times a day with our free bus service. WiFi is available in all rooms, the use of WiFi in the hotel lobby is free of charge. In 2005, the hotel was completely reformed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Las Aguilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Aguilas Hotel
Las Aguilas Tenerife
Las Aguilas Suites
Hotel Las Aguilas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing