We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel, good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were here, for 7 days(15-22 Iune 2011), together with 2 friends. Everything was excellent: hotel's services, staff, location, trips around, weather, our guides (Stephan).

Room Tip: Best rooms with view over the street, not over the pool (my room was 475).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank romanianBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday with my partner at this Hotel, as you arrive you are greeted outside by a member of staff, he took our suitcases for us which was very nice, the receptionist was very helpful and checked us in very basically as she didnt speak much english, however she was very polite and welcoming.
The reception area is Spacious, Clean and very Modern. The room was again spacious, clean and had all the facilities you needed other than the lack of English tv channels, if your into your News then well suited for you, it overlooked the Swimming pool that lit up in the evening which was beautiful. We spent many nights sipping wine on the balcony, also the beds were very comfortable and your room gets cleaned every morning, you walk in and your bed is made perfectly, it felt like you checked in every time you returned for no extra charge, you can also request for your room not to be entred.
If you go to the roof the views over Puerto De La Cruz are outstanding.
The staff were very pleasant. Even tho most did not speak english they knew basics and understand most queries.
Breakfast - Not the best but a wide range of choice. We never started our day hungry. Same food on offer every morning.
Lunch - Freshly cooked the same day. Again wide range and tasted delicious. Always different meals every day.
Supper - Basically the same as Lunch. Different choices every day.
Outdoor Swimming pool was brilitant. A little cold but after 5mins of being in the pool its warm. Plenty of sunbeds. English Music being played all day in the pool bar (Lady GaGa, Beyonce ect....)
Didnt use indoor pool, Gym, Entertainment, Activities because we were busy doing our own thing.
Bad Points........
The staff in the indoor bar wernt that helpful, they didnt speak much english so therefor we could only order basic cocktails which drinks were too strong to drink (may just be me) everyone else seemed to enjoy them.
We had no information on excurtions so therefor nearly missed all oppertunities to venture out and explore local attractions. Luckily Loro Parque was a short walk away, But Siam Park was a bus that you needed to book for, the reception gave us the wrong time and then said we were too late to book. After all that we decided to wait and ask the bus driver instead. Luckily the bus driver was kind enough to let us pay there and then.
One thing about Puerto De La Cruz which was very dissapointing was the amout of clouds that hung over above. As you drive down to the South the cloudes seem to dissapear and the blue sky shines through.

Other than that we had a fabulous time and would definatly recomend other people to use this hotel. All you need to kno is 'Ola (Hello) and Gracias (Thankyou) to get by :)

Hope this has helped........

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rose_bud19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This hotel is fantastic for food cleanliness and near a beach, however, the staff at this hotel were beyond rude! receptionists are sharp and ignorant and some of the bar staff dont like it if ur all inclusive and are really rude, The pool in this hotel can only be used at certain times of the day and the outdoor pools are freezing like ice cold!!!!
The positive thing about this hotel is the food is amazing the chefs are friendly but beware this hotel has hardly any brits so noone is particulary friendly, I found the German people unbearable as this is obviously a high class hotel for them they literally think they own it! The rudeness of the staff ruined the whole tenerife experience for me and i would never go back!! so unless ur a foodie this would defo be a no for the average working class british family good luck!! also the weather seems to be cloudy at all times as the hotel is so near the mountains x free wi-fi ?? its nil its 1 euro for ten minutes

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshmel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Clean with sports amenities and near sea but no beach. Self service restaurant - pay for water. Clean bedrooms but needing repairs in a few places. Old style small TV. Helpful staff in many languages. Parking at any time is virtually impossible unless you use the local waste land or pay 18 euros per day to the hotel. Hairdressersand small souvenir shop on site. Concerts and karaoke never seen. Temperature about 21 degrees C. Local seaport is fine. Internet at a very, very slow speed. Loro Parque costs 32 euros. Taxis cheap for short distances. Hotel recommendations, in foyer, stopped about 3 years ago. Would go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GHTP_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I wanted to write this review because of how much I used Trip Advisor when researching hotels for my recent last minute trip to Tenerife. I have been all over the world and used Trip Advisor to gauge hotels before but never felt inclined to write a review until now, perhaps I will write reviews of other hotels when I have the time.

Anyways

I have just returned from The Gran Hotel Turquesa and have to say I had a great time. I went all inclusive and only paid £260 for the previlage. The food and drinks on offer were both good, excluding breakfast, which was by far the worst meal of the day. Lunch and dinner were both really good with many different dishes to choose from. My girlfriend, who has been to other hotels all inclusive, said it offered the best food and drinks she had seen. The surrounding area is beautiful, the hotel is around 10-15 minutes walk from the town centre where you can catch a bus to the local animal park. The outdoor pool(lido) area in the town is amazing, (a must for only 3.50 euros) it is huge with mini islands you can swim to and a casino in the middle. However I feel the quality of the pool is only there to counter balance the complete lack of beach areas available. But don't let that put you off because the pool is world class.

Back to the hotel :)

The staff were really friendly after they got familiar with you, there is a bit of a language issue as only one member of staff could speak good english. So, my advice would be brush up on some Spanish to help when ording drinks (una cerveza por favor) lol. The hotel is clean, the staff are hard working and polite( for the most part). Some points that the hotel needs to improve on are

Entertainment(quite poor)
English T.V channels(sky news and bbc world news)
All inclusive(stops at 11pm)
Indoor Pool(was not open on a Sunday)
Themed Restaurant Night(bit of a joke really, stick with the main buffet)
It caters more to French, German and Spanish tourists(Not a bad thing but they could brush up on their english)

All in all this is a good hotel for the price. It is very nearly a four star in my opinion, so if you can get it for a good price I would recommend it. The surrounding area is beautiful and the transfer from Tenerife South only takes one hour ten minutes. One thing I regret not doing while on the island was visiting Siam Water Park, just looked at some reviews and it looks great, hope this helps anyone thinking about staying at The Gran Hotel Turquesa.

Buenos Dias

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MarvelatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here at the end of Feb when the temperature was just beginning to rise. We were surprised how few of the staff spoke English so it was difficult to build any sort of friendship. We stayed all inclusive which for the price we paid was a very good deal. The Hotel we found to be clean and well run with a good choice of meals at all times apart from breakfast when there was no English cereals available though if you are looking to be pampered you wont find it here but again for the price I wouldnt expect it. Entertainment is purely Spanish and the regular announcments over the tanoy can be a bit intrusive when trying to sleep round the pool. It is convenient for the sea front and the Town Center with the Animal park close by. If you want to use the internet take your laptop/netbook and you can connect up free WiFi in the Atlantic bar for at least 2-3 hours connect to Bar Chill Out in th afternoon.

Stayed: February 2011
2  Thank LaurieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We have just returned from a week full board at this hotel. We were very impressed when we arrived as the Reception area is very smart with a glass lift and lots of space, as there is all over the hotel. Our room was large with a good sized balcony overlooking the sea which was only a short walk away. It was spotless. We enjoyed the food every day as every nationality was catered for. It could, however, become very noisy when full. We were lucky in that our room was a long way from the reception area and bars - I don't think it would have been so quiet otherwise.

Unfortunately the outside pool was cold but the jacuzzi was hot. We didn't get to use the indoor pool as it was closed when we wanted to use it. Who wants to swim between 9 and 10pm? I think it was also open during the morning but we were always out.

You only had to walk along the road to catch the buses, without walking up or downhill. The buses were also very good and very cheap, especially if you buy a card for 12 or 30 euros (30 euros covered both of us for the whole week and we travelled all over the place - you just enter the card twice into the machine on the bus)

My only complaint was for the surly staff on the reception who only seemed to speak Spanish and German. The staff in the restaurant were very good.

We would certainly stay in the same hotel another time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#37 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,150 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,792 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa

Address: Calle Antonio Ruiz Alvarez 7, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz and located almost 100 metres from Playa Jardín, one of the last projects by Canarian artist César Manrique. The Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa offers a wide range of services which cover the needs of all our clients. Our Welcoming facilities, including our Wifi spot, will satisfy all kinds of clients, adults and children, since we have all the necessary qualities to make your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gema Turquesa Playa Hotel
Turquesa Playa Hotel
Gran Turquesa Playa Hotel
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing