We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"A good value for money hotel"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diamante Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Diamante Suites
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Moscow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"A good value for money hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in March 2013. The hotel has both positive and negative sides. Speaking about the advantages, I should say that it is spotless clean. The room I had was a suite with a balcony. It was quite comfortable, cosy and quiet. There was an electric radiator ( which I used a couple of times on arrival because I found the rooms a bit cold), a fridge, a juice maker, a microwave oven, a lot of cups and cutlery. I was a bit astonished not to find a kettle and tea/coffee, but it was not a big problem as I bought tea and coffee in the supermarket not far from the hotel and warmed the water in the microwave oven. A TV set in myroom was rather old and didn't have any English or Russian channels. There was also a safe in the room but it wasn't free of charge. Tourists have to pay 3 euros per day plus 15 euros deposit, which is given back to them when they check out.The price for a week is with a discount - it's 15 euros plus 15 euros deposit.
The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the city centre on foot. Loro Park and Playa Jardin are within walking distance ( about 10 minutes). The hotel is situated on a rather steep hill and consists of several connected blocks. My room was 211 and it took me about 10 minutes to get to the reception or the restaurant.I found it a bit irritating as I had to change the lifts twice,go past the swimming pool and along rather long corridors). I think it's much better to stay in the main block.
Dinner is served at the restaurant in 2 turns. The first turn is from 18.30 till 19.30 and the second is from 20.30 to 21.30. I stayed on a half -board basis. The food was good, but the choice could have been wider.I found the choice of dishes at dinner rather limited in comparison with other Spanish 4* hotels. At the end of the stay I felt I was on a special diet - boiled vegetables and a bit of meat or a slice of fish. :-(
There is a free bus service from the hotel to the centre of the city. It runs every hour from morning till early evening except the siesta time.
On the whole, the hotel is good value for money. Most tourists at the time of my staying at the hotel were elderly couples mainly from Germany and France.So young people may feel a bit bored there, but the place is ideal if they want to spend most of their time exploring the island.
I'd like to come back to Puerto de la Cruz but perhaps I'll try a more centrally located hotel next time with more entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SephOraMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    143
    114
    35
    31
See reviews for
111
249
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashcott,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Positives: lovely big room, spotlessly clean with great views from top floor towards coast or volcano. Superb views from pool area. Very good value if you do all inclusive..lots of choice. Very spacious comunial halls, bar etc. Suit older couples who like peace and quiet but easy access to a town. Free bus down and back to town if feeling lazy. A variety of walks down. Beach within easy walk. Toaster, coffee machine, crockery and washing machine in "suite".
Negatives: Food not always hot enough. Walk back from town might be too steep for some, but many hotels would have that problem...Puerto has many hills! Bar area has lovely views and wide range of drinks on offer but lacks atmosphere due to lack of support from customers. There is musical entertainment and a few people danced but nothing like you get in town. Don't get a room on lower floors as I can't imagine they have views. May be lonely as most visitors are german!!

Room Tip: 601 was quiet and lovely views towards sea. No sun in day. Just 2 flights up from pool but longer wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a advertised 4 star Hotel it is now looking a bit tired to put it very mildley. The staff work very hard at and keeping it very clean. Dinning room lots of tables, but keep putting reserved signs on large groups of tables which were clearly not being used. The problem that this caused there became very few places for four people to sit together. They put on a special meal advertised in a separate restaurant. We booked it as it was our friend's birthday ( I have been connected to the catering trade ). The starters came up ham and cheese. Enjoy was said. Now well started came the salad, followed another 5 minutes or so with the dressings. We looked at each other and just smilled. Wine was poured, not a clue just run down the bottle onto the table cloth ( instead of the nomal twist ). Then came the main course. Steak as they would eat it no choice ie blue, medium well done. I am not going on any more but the service was pretty poor. However I did show the waiter the next day how wine should be poured.

Room Tip: Sea view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

It should be made clear that this hotel is on a very steep hill.
Also it says it is a suite. It does have a coffee filter machine, cups & saucers also teaspoons a kettle if you ask @ reception. A microwave oven. No plates or cutlery, neither is there a sink!
As regards English television, forget it! On approaching reception in this regard we were informed that English television is too expensive. Perhaps they should have stated to update the television sets (which are so so old) would be too costly. The adverts. for this hotel do state English television. It is nice to occasionally catch up with news when on holiday!

Positively the hotel is spotlessly clean!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Hotel Diamantes Suites All Inclusive for 4 nights. The Hotel is imaculate to say the least and most staff very friendly expecially the evening bar staff they were great.There are 2 forms of All Inclusive Normal and Gold all you get with the Gold is a bit better drinks at the bar and a bottle of wine in the Bedroom. Our Bedroom had no view or Sun at all and was underneath the pool bar on floor 1. Although very handy for the Pool and another exit to the Road and sea front which is downhill all the way you might need to get a cab back..The only food you can get between meals is at the Poolbar between 4 & 6pm and comprises of small square sections of Pitza and small cheese fries and thats it...They have a nice Pool Restaurant which only opens once a week on a Friday you have to book in advance. The wine on the Standard A1 package was good just topped up bottles from a Vat..The food was a let down not much choice and hardly warm they seem to have a lot of Pork,Veal and Fish..Plenty of Chips though which were nice..The Soups were very good. The cheese was Leadamer the one with the big holes tasted ok but that was it no choice at all.They run a Free bus Service into Town which is a nice touch.The bars along the front and in the square are very good and cheap plus a great atmosphere. Next time we go it will not be Fully Inclusive,you dont get much for you Money..
Hope that this is a help.Yours Sincerely Laurence and Linda Unstead. Residents of Tenerife

Room Tip: Floor 4 either side seems to be well locateed to get from the Pool to the Restaurant they are both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happylaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 3 weeks in February, half board for two of them. Situated in a quiet area on the western edge of Puerto. North facing, very spacious sea view room with good view overlooking (way below) a large area of waste ground used as unofficial running track and by dog walkers. Also used by kestrels as hunting ground for prey.

Buffet food good on whole. Plenty of choice, excellent range of salads, though roast meat option sometimes 'reconstituted'. Sweets rather dull but always plenty of fruit available. Breakfasts good with choice of freshly cooked omelettes or fried eggs. But coffee was diabolical, totally unrecognisable as coffee, even of the instant variety!

8 German TV channels ( 90% of guests were German) several Spanish ones, 1 french and 1 Italian but amazingly not a single English speaking one. Not a great problem, - we read a lot and got through 8 novels, but would have liked to have had access to at least a News channel in English. Given English is an international language now, it seems somewhat perverse of this (German-owned?) hotel to refuse to carry even one English speaking channel.

Purse with driving license and 50 euros stolen by pickpocket in the town. Had to be reported to police which hotel admirably dealt with for us by contacting on the phone a police interpreter, though the way the hotel dealt with this, it was clearly seen as routine! Be warned - don't carry a handbag with just a zip/s for closure.

10 minute walk downhill to local beach. But a stiff climb back up again!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms don't get the sun. Other side gets sun, looks inland onto Mount Teije, but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 6th visit to Diamante Suites and one of our best. The staff, especially the reception staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and most of the dining staff were fine. We feel the hotel could benefit with a re-furbishment but I think money is an issue.
The food was not too good, not sufficient choices and a little over-cooked. The sweets were not as good as previous years and there was an issue with the quality of wine.
Overall we were happy but glad we went half board to enjoy some welcome change to the diet.
The hotel is very clean and it is so good to have a suite and not just a bedroom, especially as we stayed for a month.
We certainly want to go back again, we love the walks, the hill is very steep, not for the faint hearted or those who are not 'fleet' of foot.
a great holiday.....lovely staff....

Room Tip: If you want sunshine during the day, chose a mountain facing room. The sea view in the winter months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#26 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.2 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
1.5 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#13 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamante Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamante Suites

Property: Hotel Diamante Suites
Address: Calle Manuel Yanes Barreto 13, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diamante Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Diamante Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diamante Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Diamante Suites Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing