We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diamante Suites
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a advertised 4 star Hotel it is now looking a bit tired to put it very mildley. The staff work very hard at and keeping it very clean. Dinning room lots of tables, but keep putting reserved signs on large groups of tables which were clearly not being used. The problem that this caused there became very few places for four people to sit together. They put on a special meal advertised in a separate restaurant. We booked it as it was our friend's birthday ( I have been connected to the catering trade ). The starters came up ham and cheese. Enjoy was said. Now well started came the salad, followed another 5 minutes or so with the dressings. We looked at each other and just smilled. Wine was poured, not a clue just run down the bottle onto the table cloth ( instead of the nomal twist ). Then came the main course. Steak as they would eat it no choice ie blue, medium well done. I am not going on any more but the service was pretty poor. However I did show the waiter the next day how wine should be poured.

Room Tip: Sea view was very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diamante Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 584 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

It should be made clear that this hotel is on a very steep hill.
Also it says it is a suite. It does have a coffee filter machine, cups & saucers also teaspoons a kettle if you ask @ reception. A microwave oven. No plates or cutlery, neither is there a sink!
As regards English television, forget it! On approaching reception in this regard we were informed that English television is too expensive. Perhaps they should have stated to update the television sets (which are so so old) would be too costly. The adverts. for this hotel do state English television. It is nice to occasionally catch up with news when on holiday!

Positively the hotel is spotlessly clean!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Hotel Diamantes Suites All Inclusive for 4 nights. The Hotel is imaculate to say the least and most staff very friendly expecially the evening bar staff they were great.There are 2 forms of All Inclusive Normal and Gold all you get with the Gold is a bit better drinks at the bar and a bottle of wine in the Bedroom. Our Bedroom had no view or Sun at all and was underneath the pool bar on floor 1. Although very handy for the Pool and another exit to the Road and sea front which is downhill all the way you might need to get a cab back..The only food you can get between meals is at the Poolbar between 4 & 6pm and comprises of small square sections of Pitza and small cheese fries and thats it...They have a nice Pool Restaurant which only opens once a week on a Friday you have to book in advance. The wine on the Standard A1 package was good just topped up bottles from a Vat..The food was a let down not much choice and hardly warm they seem to have a lot of Pork,Veal and Fish..Plenty of Chips though which were nice..The Soups were very good. The cheese was Leadamer the one with the big holes tasted ok but that was it no choice at all.They run a Free bus Service into Town which is a nice touch.The bars along the front and in the square are very good and cheap plus a great atmosphere. Next time we go it will not be Fully Inclusive,you dont get much for you Money..
Hope that this is a help.Yours Sincerely Laurence and Linda Unstead. Residents of Tenerife

Room Tip: Floor 4 either side seems to be well locateed to get from the Pool to the Restaurant they are both a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happylaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 3 weeks in February, half board for two of them. Situated in a quiet area on the western edge of Puerto. North facing, very spacious sea view room with good view overlooking (way below) a large area of waste ground used as unofficial running track and by dog walkers. Also used by kestrels as hunting ground for prey.

Buffet food good on whole. Plenty of choice, excellent range of salads, though roast meat option sometimes 'reconstituted'. Sweets rather dull but always plenty of fruit available. Breakfasts good with choice of freshly cooked omelettes or fried eggs. But coffee was diabolical, totally unrecognisable as coffee, even of the instant variety!

8 German TV channels ( 90% of guests were German) several Spanish ones, 1 french and 1 Italian but amazingly not a single English speaking one. Not a great problem, - we read a lot and got through 8 novels, but would have liked to have had access to at least a News channel in English. Given English is an international language now, it seems somewhat perverse of this (German-owned?) hotel to refuse to carry even one English speaking channel.

Purse with driving license and 50 euros stolen by pickpocket in the town. Had to be reported to police which hotel admirably dealt with for us by contacting on the phone a police interpreter, though the way the hotel dealt with this, it was clearly seen as routine! Be warned - don't carry a handbag with just a zip/s for closure.

10 minute walk downhill to local beach. But a stiff climb back up again!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms don't get the sun. Other side gets sun, looks inland onto Mount Teije, but also...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 6th visit to Diamante Suites and one of our best. The staff, especially the reception staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and most of the dining staff were fine. We feel the hotel could benefit with a re-furbishment but I think money is an issue.
The food was not too good, not sufficient choices and a little over-cooked. The sweets were not as good as previous years and there was an issue with the quality of wine.
Overall we were happy but glad we went half board to enjoy some welcome change to the diet.
The hotel is very clean and it is so good to have a suite and not just a bedroom, especially as we stayed for a month.
We certainly want to go back again, we love the walks, the hill is very steep, not for the faint hearted or those who are not 'fleet' of foot.
a great holiday.....lovely staff....

Room Tip: If you want sunshine during the day, chose a mountain facing room. The sea view in the winter months...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just come back from a five day break at this hotel. I have never felt the need to write a review before this experience. Hotel room was lovely but everything else really poor. Food, fish and pork every meal time. Dining room set out in rows and small, standard of food not what you would expect in a four star hotel. Set meal times no snacks that I could find. One themed resturant only open one night a week on a Friday. Pools very small set in a concrete jungle. Staff in bar area extremely rude, ignored customers so waiting ages to get a drink. No tea, coffee or fruit juices avaliable for you to help yourself to bar doesn't open until 11am. Extremely long way from the airport so please ensure you book a transfer taxi 120 euros each way. This hotel did not meet any of my expectations and I was left feeling very disappointed with the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

went away for a relaxing holiday and we got it,nice food ,welcoming staff and all round lovely hotel, our room was very spacious wiyh plenty of storage space it was light and airey,it was a sea view room which faced the north west but this was no problem due to the day time temp was around 26c for 3 days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank joe485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#23 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#19 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,069 reviews
1.0 mi away
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
diverhotel Tenerife Spa & Garden
#29 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#39 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,070 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Sea Interpalace
Blue Sea Interpalace
#70 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamante Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamante Suites

Address: Calle Manuel Yanes Barreto 13, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diamante Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diamante Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diamante Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Diamante Suites Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing