We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Spanish - good clean accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Perla Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Spanish - good clean accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is situated around 20 minutes walk (set in the hill) from the beach/centre. Good points: hotel very clean, staff pleasant, good budget accommodation, food was ok, bar area nice, pool area well maintained, plenty of sunbeds on roof terrace. Primarily caters for Spanish customers.
Bad points: unsuitable location for those with mobilty problems, the hotel is set a good 20 min downhill walk to the beach area (which means uphill return!), the pool area is on the 6th floor, sun terrace is on the 7th floor and reception is on 5th floor. there are 2 lifts, but we took the stairs (many!) if you have a room on the ground floor there is a constant thoroughfare of suitcases and other guests coming and going. The clientele were generally elderly people. There is no childrens pool.

Room Tip: 5th floor room would be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magsmurph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    139
    107
    42
    49
See reviews for
100
213
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am not going to repeat what other, better, writers have written. The Hotel Perla is off the beaten track and is a realistic 15 minutes DOWN to the town in Puerto. The whole of Puerto de la Cruz is hilly. You are either walking up or down, don't go if this is an issue for you, head to the Southern resorts. There is a regular free bus from the hotel and back throughout the day all day from Monday to Friday and Saturday morning. The slog back up the hill (and the several stairs involved) are good for the thigh muscles!

The Perla is authentic to what it is - a 3 star hotel in Tenerife (the key is it is in Tenerife, not Skegness or Bournemouth). The entertainment is Spanish (eventually the disco does include some English songs but not until the last half an hour or so), and they did call the bingo numbers in English. The food is ample but not outstanding and includes Spanish dishes. There are NO facilities for children (apart from a highchair in the restaurant).

The staff are amazingly friendly and everywhere is clean.

I would have no hesitation at going back, but with realistic expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth floor are on the same floor as the bar and subsequently the nightly disco. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A quiet hotel, a good 20 minute walk from the promenade.
All inclusive package was good value for money. Breakfast either hot or cold, plenty of choice.
Cereals, yogurt, bread/toast all freely available and always topped up.
Lunch and dinner were casual, again, plenty to choose from. Spanish food predominant but always chips/fries and new potatoes. Wine/beer offered with each meal, Water was always available.
Entertainment is for the more elderly, but dancing is encouraged.
Rooftop pool and sun loungers are both fine!
Staff are friendly and approachable.

Room Tip: The rooms start at 100, go down the left hand side of the corridor, then back towards the lift. try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipton, uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is built on the side of a Barranco (valley). This means that the first three floors and part of the 4th are below street level and therefore rooms on the street side of the hotel have very limited views (usually a wall). Bearing in mind the amount of time you spend in your hotel room (apart from sleeping), to many this is not a problem. The other side of the hotel looks across the Barranco. Because of this construction, reception is on the 5th floor (level with the road). Some Agents however drop their clients in the housing estate on the other side of the Barranco which involves a walk across a bridge to the hotel (100 metres) and leaves you on the ground floor searching for reception.

The hotel is clean and the rooms are cleaned daily to a good standard. It is situated on a quiet backstreet away from the town. A free coach is available several times a day to take you to town.

The pool on the 6th floor (roof) is clean and covered in poor weather. The sauna is extra. There is also a space to sit and enjoy the sun here. The bar area is also where the evening entertainment is held (usually a disco – the entertainment schedule in the reception area is in Spanish with some pictures so can take some imagination to discover what is on). There have been several reports on this site about one of the barmen being rude or offish. We found him to be very friendly and helpful having made the effort to be friendly to him.

At the other end of this floor is a conservatory and another space for sitting out. This gives views of the town & sea. The space between these area is used for rooms, the roof of these rooms forms the sunbathing area.

On the 5th floor is the lounge and Wifi area. The restaurant is also here and can at times be very busy, so you may have to wait for a place. The waiters are friendly and efficient. The food is good and caters for all tastes but we would have liked more roasts (one in two weeks).

If you want a kettle in your room you have to request one. If you don’t you are unable, even on full board, to get a free drink from breakfast till 11am. The fridge is free but there is a charge for the key operated safes. The rooms are adequately furnished but a little dark for us.

Puerto De La Cruz itself is very hilly. The shopkeepers can be quite pushy and you need to haggle. It is possible to walk to & from town – the best way is across the bridge. A taxi from town will cost 3 to 4 Euros and will usually drop you by the bridge. During the winter months the majority of guests are Spanish enjoying their subsidised holiday.

Oh, the cockerels are wild and were no problem during our visit. We would return but it seems that Mercury Direct have dropped this hotel from their destinations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had the pleasure staying in Le Perla this Christmas and new years holiday. The food was good, rooms clean,people friendly. Everything worked very well. When we decided to stay at the Le Perla we were conserned about some of the rather bad reviews . But it showed out that these people must have been staying in another hotel. We recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel October 2013 for 1 week. We have 4 kids between us so the lack of children (on our child free holiday) was fantastic!! It isn't suitable for kids as others have commented................but I would take the time to find that out before i booked so who is actually at fault??
I found the staff pleasant enough, English not fab but its not England. Hotel was clean and tidy. Rooms had new towels and were cleaned to a very good standard every day. Yes the Hotel was a little run down, not smack next to the beach etc but it charges budget prices, what do people expect these days? Want 5 star?? Pay 5 star prices. Food was lovely, yes a little repetitive but lovely all the same and I managed to have something different every day.
We really enjoyed our holiday at this location/hotel...............we were disappointed to read the reviews on here once we had booked it, please take NO NOTICE.......hotel is of a good standard, staff can seem a little 'offish' but because they don't speak English, in my opinion its the people who write these reviews who are rude and ignorant!! I would never take my children here, it is not child friendly but nor does it advertise itself to be! I would definitely go again!!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are better................lovely view of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Some of the reviews for La Perla are ridiculous, I mean it is a 3 start hotel and some people want 5 star. Me and my boyfriend have just come back from a lovely weeks stay, we paid £299 for 1 weeks all inclusive (hotel, flights and transfer) and I can say I was dissapointed.

The staff were very friendly, hotel is very clean the maids are in every day there is no mess around the pool or sunbathing area. As for the moody/angry barman everyone goes on about you must have been rude to him as we had no bother had a good laugh with him and he was very helpful. Yes there wasn't many english in the hotel, but for me that was nice, if I wanted to holiday with english I would stay in england!!

The restaurant was lovely, and at first I was worried being all inclusive incase I didn't like the food but I ate like a king three times a day and was never hungry, the choice was really good and I loved the fresh crisp salad available lunch and dinner, also ask for a glass of wine and they just bring you the bottle and beer on tap for him indoors what more can you ask for.

It is only about a 10-15 minute walk down into the centre and on the beach front, but maybe 30 minutes back as it is quite steep! But the hotel has a free shuttle bus and a taxi was only 3-4 euros.

The only reason I haven't give 5 stars for La Perla is because those cockrels and chickens need rid!!!

I would definatley go back and the view of Mount Tiede every morning was amazing!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the reception side to avoid the cockrels and chickens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#68 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
28.4 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
24.0 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
Gran Hotel Turquesa Playa
#21 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
28.4 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diamante Suites
Hotel Diamante Suites
#22 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla Tenerife

Property: Hotel Perla Tenerife
Address: Calle Isla de La Gomera 3 | Urbanización Guacimara, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla Tenerife 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Perla Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Perla Tenerife Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing