We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Ticks Most of the Boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RF Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel RF Astoria
Ranked #31 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
522 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“It Ticks Most of the Boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Entrance to the hotel is via Hotel Bambi, as both hotels have the same owner. Our biggest problem was finding the place in the one-way system of downtown PdlC! The roads are not clearly signed, so if you´re only armed with a street map, good luck!!! The gate to the car park is not signed either, so I parked in the underground car park belonging to the building next door. Getting out again proved tricky, as the young receptionist had to get the remote control to open the gate again. She was very charming and helpful - what a laugh!!! The rooms are nice and spacious and have a kitchenette for self-caterers. WiFi costs extra. There´s a pool with sunbeds. The main negative point for me was the hard mattress, but we only stayed for two nights. The independently run BAMBI restaurant is also recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Astoria. We are happy to know that you like our hotel, and that you have spent two good days with us.
Your experience is very important for us, because it is the only way to know if we are working in a good direction. We always try to give you our best service because we would like to welcoming you next time.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to come back in the future.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    94
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
116
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed a week in Hotel Astoria mid-January and were very happy with our accomodation. the location was great - close to restaurants and shops. We would recommend this hotel if you are having a holiday in Puerto de la Cruz.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel. It is very nice to read so kind things. We are glad to know that you recommend our hotel to our future guests.

We would like to welcoming you in the future. If you are able to come to Tenerife once again, do not hesitate to contact us again.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I visited Puerto de la Cruz in January, 2012. Originally booked a studio in the Bambi apartments with a low cost winter holiday in mind, we were offered a 3 Euro per day upgrade to the Astoria which we took, and enjoyed a one bedroom apartment instead.

I would say it was worth the 3 Euros as the apartment was roomy, large bedroom, living room/kitchenette, though the absence of a toaster was a pain. We also had to boil our water in a microwave which slowed things down a bit. The French balcony overlooked the shopping street below which was significantly better than the room we were offered in the Bambi, though the view was still very limited.

Overall the hotel was very quiet, gloomy really, with a nice looking bar that was permanently closed. Hotel staff friendly enough and very willing if not always able. Location in Puerto was very central but not noisy.

Initially I thought Puerto de la Cruz was a really attractive town with plenty of shops and bars etc. The Lido is really atractive, right on the seafront, and at 5 Euros per day seemed okay though we didn't actually go in. I have to say my initial impression weakened as the days went by, as there was precious little in the town to get your attention. We like to do a lot of walking, but the promenade walk was pretty short, and it was impossible to walk into the countryside without getting the bus or driving.

In terms of walking in Puerto de la Cruz, you can get a bus up to the Oratava valley very cheaply and there is some nice walking up there. However after the first couple of times, the bus ride becomes tiring (about 1hr some mornings) and the walking gets a bit samey as well. It is possible to get a bus up to Teidi but we couldn't face it.

We used a walking group ran by a French couple called Pas a Pas - they have a website. I would recommend giving them a go if you prefer the services of a guide. Nadine took us on a beautiful walk in northern Tenerife which finished with a nice tapas lunch in a pretty location. Overall it was a nice walk, but it was spoiled to some extent by the bus journeys - I think we spent more time on the bus than we did walking.

My impression of doing a walking holiday from Tenerife is that there is quite a variety of good walks but you really need a hire car. Using their brilliant bus service is possible but its really very tiring and I wouldn't recommend it. Mind you, if you want some walking in the Winter sun, where else can you go?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lodclwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments about your recent stay at Hotel Astoria.
Our purpose is to make your stay with us an unforgettable holidays.

We are proud to know that you had a good experience and we believe your opinion will encourage other travelers to visit our Hotel and our City, Puerto de La Cruz.

We hope to welcoming you in a near future.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Clean, not too big, nice and near the centrum, old town and sea! Very good, I´ll come back..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Helena,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know that you like our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The good: very central location, two minutes from the harbour and Old Town,helpful, pleasant staff and 24-hr reception;clean, freshly painted room with French windows and small balcony;small greengrocer and large supermarket nearby; excellent cafes within walking distance. Try the beach cafe at one end of the promenade for fresh,grilled sardines, or a new chic cafe overlooking the harbour, by the ramparts at the other end for sangria and fish croquettas.Avoid eating on the promenade, unless you like Elvis impersonators and "international" food.
The bad: the junior suite, not that cheap for 5 nights, had only one bedroom. We had booked for 4 people, so two camp beds were provided in the lounge/diner. Not much privacy for two couples though. No iron, or hairdryer ( on request only, and to be returned)in the apartment, no armchairs or reading lights in the lounge.
The not-so-pretty: the whole of the avenida, near the hotel, is a building-site at present. The sound of drills can be heard from 8am onwards. We were not made aware of this when booking( not directky with the hotel). This is a temporary situation, but you have to choose a different route down to the promenade for now.
On the whole, a positive experience, and we would return.

Room Tip: The tiled floors and doors make the apartment noisy from neighbours coming and going, especially lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Arnold,
Thank you very much for your comment about your experience in our hotel. We see that you have spent a good holidays with us, but you think that there are some details that we should improve. That helps us to know your point of view, becasue we work hard for giving the best service to our guests.
The Council of Puerto de La Cruz is renovating one of the street that it is not directly to our hotel, and we know that now it is a little bit unconfortable for our clients, but it is temporary. They will finish soon and we will have a good conection to everything.
We are glad to know that you would come back, and we it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed a week and was very happy with Hotel Astoria. Location was great and the price was so cheap that you can't believe that they make profit. On the small negative side: Some noise in the morning from cleaning staff and other guests, A little "cold" light in the room. We recommend the hotel if you prioritize location and like to spend your money on other things.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kroghsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion of our hotel. It helps to future travellers for choosing Hotel Astoria for their stay at Tenerife.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Astoria.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Best Regards,
Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,037 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

not a 4 stars but for the price it is an excellent choice
3 minutes from the beach and 5 from Charco square.
Decide whether to eat at a restaurant or buy at the close supermarket and eat healthy food in your room.
Jessica and Esperanza were very helpful at the reception, always with a smile and worthy advice regarding what to visit, when and where, with always useful tips for a smart shopping.
I definitely will come back to the Astoria !
Thanks again
Dan

Room Tip: You have a cheap supermarket very close, on the main street, allowing you to prepare your own health...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel R, Community Manager at Hotel RF Astoria, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Dan,
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Astoria. Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience. It helps to future travellers for choosing Hotel Astoria for their stay at Tenerife.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#25 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#15 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel RF San Borondon
Hotel RF San Borondon
#34 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#36 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#29 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RF Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RF Astoria

Property: Hotel RF Astoria
Address: Calle Enrique Talg 15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RF Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel RF Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Astoria Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel RF Astoria Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing