We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably---the best waitress in Tenerife---and Glasgow”
Review of Restaurante Oliva

Restaurante Oliva
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mon-Wed 12:00-00:00Thursday ClosedFri-Sun 12:00-00:00
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Probably---the best waitress in Tenerife---and Glasgow”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Sandra with the smile! Lovely warm welcome and the only person in any restaurant to offer us a drink whilst we perused the menu which came to us very quickly.
A great welcome and so important in boosting the takings if you are going to go to the trouble to work so enthusiastically. Running a business is about making profit and this type of service is what both parties need.
So good to find a "different" menu which thankfully is limited and as for the quality, really excellent and so full of flavours. The house wine we found extremely tasteful, especially the white and as for the desserts............two would be NO problem whatsoever!
No rush between courses and "delivered" at your request, all at very reasonable prices.
3 visits in a week is somewhat unusual for us which speaks volumes so would recommend a look if you fancy a change from the "usual".

Thanks Sandra for your patience and lovely service--the smile ain't bad either!!
PS--Thanks also to the chef!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    92
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent in every way”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Hotel Botanico last November & spent a number of evenings here. The steak & pate starter was divine as was the main courses. The Scottish host was superb allowing us to try the red wine as my partner isn't very keen on Crianza or Rioja. Don't be afraid to try, prices very reasonable, food superb.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penelopeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth finding!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had lived in Tenerife for nineteen years and had never appreciated that a restaurant serving such good quality food at reasonable prices was available to us.Stand outside the Hotel Botanico with you back to the hotel,then right


face and walk up the road to the traffic lights.Turn left and walk about fifty meters on the left to reach the Avalon which sits right next to an estate agent.You lucky guys have just pinpointed one of the nicest cullinary treats of your holiday.The restaurant is small so it pays to arrive early or book a table in advance but the food quality will impress and,after all,what are we looking for in any restaurant?During our nineteen years in Tenerife,we had not been presented with such succulent steak and fresh salads.All food served to us had the stampaof freshness and good quality and one does not have to overeat because sharing any dish is no problem and the half portions are sensibly priced.Wines and beers are available at affordable cost
and there is no pressure on you to depart once the meal is over.We hope that only a few of you will find the Avalon in case we cannot get a table when we go again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reginald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nearby casual dining if staying at Hotel Botanico”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited here 23 December for a change from the more formal restaurants in Hotel Botanico. I arrived about 6.30pm and was told by the Scottish waitress (Who I understand from other reviews, is the owner) that the kitchen staff don't start until 7 pm so would I like to come back later or stay for a drink. I stayed and had a small beer and ordered grilled salmon with salt potatoes. The kitchen staff of three arrived just before 7 and several other diners who all appeared to be regulars arrived too. The fish was well cooked and seasoned and nicely presented, the potatoes were served in a separate small bowl on the table. I had apple cake for desert, this was served with ice cream and whipped cream on a long plate and arrived promptly after ordering it. Total of 17.20 Euro for the meal and two small beers was reasonable value. Overall no complaints, friendly service and pleasant atmosphere, noted that a table of diners moved inside because it was chilly outside, no heater under the awning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
2 reviews
“Love it!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The loveliest restaurant. Danny is an excellent chef and all round lovely guy. Had a great evening. Thank you. I'll be back. Probably tomorrow!

Helpful?
Thank Meath41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Oliva also viewed

Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurante Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing