We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good rooms, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masaru Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Masaru Apartments
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good rooms, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for a week, found the place to be immaculately clean and has lovely well kept gardens and large heated pool area. Our room was adequately equipped, nice to have a bath as well as a shower. The reception and dining room staff were excellent, buffet breakfast was fine and evening buffet good value, though there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Clientele seemed mostly elderly Germans at this time of year, and the evening entertainment not very inspiring. The resident musician seemed to have an audience of less than 20 when we looked in, what more need I say? Personally I like to have a break from TV on holiday so the tiny set in the room wasn't a problem, but outside the hotel every bar has a tv and they all seem to show football - all the time.

Good value and well situated accommodation if you want a peaceful time, if I went again I'd request a room overlooking the pool as they get more sun, though in high summer it might be preferable to have more shade! A high floor would be quieter perhaps, if you didn't want to hear the music from the lounge.

Plenty to do and see in Puerto and excellent bus service from a stop a couple of minutes walk away. The bus ride to the Teide National Park is not to be missed, allows plenty of time for walking and exploring but be sure not to miss the return bus! Also be aware that the Bonobus is not valid on that route so have cash ready.

Room Tip: High floor, facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    151
    75
    24
    15
See reviews for
124
152
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Although situated in the higher part of Puerto de la Cruz, this hotel offers the flexibility to eat breakfast and/or dinner in the hotel without pre booking and is also very close to numerous restaurants, the best of which we found were 'The Tiroler Alm' and 'The Magnolia'. Meals were probably only 60% of what you would pay in the UK.
The hotel cold breakfasts were fine but the hot breakfasts were lukewarm, bland and/or fatty. The evening meals were good, providing you wanted what was on the menu. You could eat as much as you wanted.
If you want a sunny balcony ask for a room facing the large heated swimming pool, but there is no guarantee you will get one.
The price for a self catering studio was excellant VFM and by mixing eating in the hotel and out this is a good choice, if you don't mind the high number of steps to get to the promenade or pay to take a bus or taxi.

Room Tip: choose a south facing room facing the pool if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorg1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed in Masaru mid-november for a week.
The hotel is a bit outdated and e.g. tv-sets are size 12" and bad quality.
I was given a room on the first floor just above cafeteria and dancehall.
Unfortunately there is music 6/7 days a week so my bedtime was always after 00:30---
As I paid quite a bit for the week so a bit disappointed...The breakfast is very standard but
acceptable.I had halfboard and ate 4/7 dinners at the hotel restaurant.My experience was that
you should go to have your dinner early,when I came in one hour before closing the selection was already poorer quality..still if you dont want to invest in "gourmet quality" , this dinner suits you.
I also experienced that the staff has quite poor english understanding and you have to repeat many times the things you want to say.Good is free WIFI which worked ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were staying at the hotel for 2 weeks and it was the most boring time of my life.It was just old people living there.The whole town was just filled with old people.The breakfast at the hotel was the worst,it had nothing.My advise is to buy some bread at the store and eat in your room.If you have kids,dont stay at this hotel,thats nothing to do for them.Its rains a lot in this town.Next time we wil go to the south side of Teneriffe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel.
We had a two-room apartment on the top floor facing the pool and it was very quiet during the night. The apartment was basic but spacious and clean.
The pool is big and situated in a very nice garden with palm trees given shade if you want to.
Breakfast buffet was included and it was quite good except for the juices (as is often the case).
The man that most often worked in the reception was extremely helpful.
The location is in a hotel area on a rise above the city center. It is not far to walk but quite steep so not for the physically disabled.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor towards the street has sea view. Rooms toward the pool are very quiet at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Malotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Honestly, we weren't expecting very much for this price range, but were pleasantly surprised. The appartments are located in a well maintained building. Very clean, good service. We stayed in a two-person studio and couldn't have asked for more. Clean bathroom, basic but well equipped kitchenette and a lovely view from the balcony on the beautiful gardens surrounding the pool area. Breakfast offered a wide choice and was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah_BE_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwood
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have just returned from 9days in this hotel on a half board basis with my husband - daughter - son in law and grand daughter aged 5 1/2 along with a group of 30 somethings gathered for a wedding in hotel botanica (amazing day) The hotel was perfect, view of ocean from our 5th floor apt was a lovely bonus, staff friendly, hotel spotlessly clean, pool area great with plenty of shade. food plentiful and varied, the bread at breakfast horrible. No A/C - however no mosquitoes so could leave window open all night. So many restaurants around area to choose from, all within walking distance. Could not have asked for a nicer break. Thank you.

Room Tip: rooms facing the ocean a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy_girlessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Parque Vacacional Eden
Parque Vacacional Eden
#6 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#30 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#32 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Noelia Playa
Aparthotel Noelia Playa
#39 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaru Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaru Apartments

Property: Masaru Apartments
Address: Calle Robles 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Masaru Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the residential area of La Paz, next to the Botanical Gardens, with views over the Orotava Valley, Mt. Teide and the sea, and just a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, the Lago Martianez swimming pools and the beach. It is a tourist complex built in 1974 and totally refurbished between 2001 and 2004. It holds the “Tourist Quality Q” awarded by the Spanish Tourist Quality Institute and it consists of over 240 units between apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Masaru Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masaru Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Masaru Apartments Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing