We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU Garoe-Goes from Strength to Strength”
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Garoe
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“RIU Garoe-Goes from Strength to Strength”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

In these challenging economic times it is more important than ever to spend our hard earned cash on the right hotel when selecting our well earned holiday home in the sun.
We're therefore delighted to say that having just returned from the superb, RIU Garoe, in Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, that anyone looking for a relaxing, top quality hotel, with friendly, welcoming, professional staff, excellent amenities and delicious food will not be disappointed when choosing this accomodation.
We have made numerous visits to this haven of tranquillity over the last few years and honestly find that the Garoe simply goes from strength to strength with each visit.
This is truly an exceptional 4 star hotel where the staff are more like family and take great care to ensure that your stay is comfortable, welcoming and memorable.
Honestly, all staff, from chambermaids to the Director are dedicated and passionate in ensuring your visit to the Garoe will offer the best of experiences.
A huge thank you to hotel Director, Senor Figueroa and his highly caring and talented team for yet another memorable holiday.
We can't recommend the RIU Garoe highly enough.
10 out of 10....a brilliant hotel, marvellous staff, quiet, up market location and excellent value for money. Quality at it's very best and an hotel that is setting the benchmark for other's to try and reach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    180
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
160
498
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We chose this hotel as it is on the edge of the resort, it sounded quiet and it is within walking distance of restaurants. It was well appointed, with spacious rooms and balconies overlooking the tropical gardens and pool, or towards the sea. Buffet breakfasts were first class, with great choice of food. Outdoor pool was heated and clean, with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The gym facilities were modern, but there was no air-conditioning in the gym, which would be a big problem in the summer. There was a lovely lunchtime restaurant next to the pool where we could sit in our hotel-issue dressing gowns and pretend we were in a spa ( there was a beauty and spa service which we did not use). Lounge and bar areas were spacious and comfortable, with complimentary newspapers available.
The staff were particularly helpful. My husband was admitted to hospital on our fourth day and the reception staff helped with interpreting and organising appointments and prescriptions. They were also happy to speak to us in Spanish when we said that we were trying to improve our language skills. All staff were very friendly.
We enjoyed the fifteen minute walk into town- there was also a regular shuttle bus. Restaurants nearby were plentiful and varied and the town itself is full of fish restaurants, where it is usual to be "encouraged " by waiters to visit their establishment.
The resort and the hotel are predominantly frequented by German tourists, and many of the guests at this time of year were (mainly elegant) older people .This was OK for us, as we wanted a quiet place. There were daytime activities (all in German) and evening entertainments, usually of a local or Spanish variety, which were generally good, when consuming an excellent cocktail. There was Wifi in the foyer area, but internet access on their two PCs cost one Euro for 15 minutes, which I thought was a bit steep.
Overall, a first-class hotel, which we shall revisit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We came here based on some of the reviews and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a small hotel charm, but with the big hotel services. The buffets were well made with no shortage of food. Although the breakfast was the same each day, I was still happy with the food. And if you go, ask to be seated in the terrace or outside - it's much more pleasant there than in the main salon. The hotel is located in a quiet area of the puerto de la cruz, which for us was good because we didn't want to be in the centre of all the tourist action. Although the hotel was very oriented to German guests, the service was excellent even if you weren't German. However, do prepare for many German channels on the television and the announcements in German. My only disappointment was that you had to pay 2Euros a day for the safe, which in most 4 star hotels you have for free, and that the pools were a bit small.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

What more can be said of this fantastic hotel in the La Paz area of Puerto de la Cruz!

This is our fourth visit to this wonderful hotel and we are running out of superlatives to fully describe this amazing hotel and do it justice.

In these challenging economic times, this hotel, under the direction and leadership, of the marvellous and highly professional, Candido Figueroa, just seems to go from strength to strength.

As airline personnel who travel the world for a living and live in numerous hotels across the globe, we cannot recommend this hotel and it's personnel highly enough.

To us, it is run along the same lines and philosophy of the much acclaimed, Four Seasons group.

The RIU Garoe is presently only a four star establishment, although, in our opinion, should be in a much higher classification.

Everything from the greeting you receive from the welcoming and obliging reception staff through to the cleanliness and servicing of the highly comfortable rooms is all geared to the complete satisfaction of the guest. This probably accounts for the high number of repeat clients to this outstanding hotel, which is fast becoming our home when travelling to Tenerife on holiday.

The Maitre D'e, Ortega, will ensure that your every whim is catered for within the restaurant. He, and his, excellent, professional team will look after you from the start of your holiday to your very, sad, last day.

Augustine, the Head Chef, is always on hand for a chat and any dietary request can be discussed directly with him, or via, the marvellous, Ortega.

The food remains plentiful, appetising and beautifully presented with a huge selection to choose from.

Special mention should be made of our very friendly waiting staff, Fatima, Dani, Ana Maria and Malena, as well as Pedro, Juan, Suso and Monsie.

In the main bar within the hotel lobby you are in for a special treat, as Head Bar Man, Marcos, and his highly welcoming and trained team of Javier, Samuel, Fernando and Miriam will mix you the most delicious and exotic cocktails that will leave you with fantastic memories of a memorable stay at this brilliant hotel.

Marcos really is a huge asset to this hotel and is well respected and adored by the numerous repeat clients who rely on him to make your stay most memorable.

We have said it before, however, Marcos is truly world class at his job and we feel sure he could work at any hotel establishment, anywhere in the world. My wife would even give him a job within her airline, he's that good!

The low key entertainment is appreciated by the clients, who can relax in the wonderful, outdoor patio area of an evening, or by those who like to stay within the main bar area to enjoy the evening animation.

Special mention should be paid to pianist, Sergio, who never fails to impress us with his keyboard and musical skills. He may only play three times per week now. However, he is highly talented and deserves the recognition he receives.

Sports animation is provided by a super girl, Sandra, who speaks a variety of European languages. This is essential, as the hotel mainly caters for the German market.

This in itself is no bad thing as it ensures that standards remain high overall and we found it a pleasure to engage with our sociable European cousins.

The sports facilities provided at the RIU Garoe are excellent for a 190 room hotel. They include a tranquil pool area with jacuzzi, along with a small childrens pool and discrete, small playpark, plus pitch and putt, an outdoor tennis court, indoor pool, sauna, refurbished gym and indoor squash court.

The hotel also caters for for bridge players, table tennis fanatics, plus has a quiet area for reading and has table soccer for the children or grown up's alike!

If you fancy a massage then the hotel can arrange this for you too! As mentioned earlier, this hotel will genuienly attempt to cater for your every whim. Nothing appears to be too much bother for the excellent staff, all led and inspired by the hospitable Director, Candido Figueroa.

We could go on and on about this special Canarian hotel, but we won't. IWe'll simply say that if you are looking for a first class hotel, in the north of Tenerife, with dedicated, kind, courteous and professional staff, combined with excellent facilities, then please look nowhere else.

The RIU Garoe will more than satisfy the most demanding of customers requirements.

We love this hotel and it's people and can't speak highly enough of it and cannot wait to return to it's special ambience and magic.

Do yourself a favour...come and experience it's magic too....you'll never regret it and you too will become hooked.

Enjoy and a HUGE, HUGE, thanks to Candido, his staff and all our friends in the RIU Garoe for yet another fantastic and memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We staid here at the beginning of this month for a few nights, before heading south to the Riu Palace Tenerife (reviewed that place too). This is a nice hotel !! Check in went very smooth. We were offered a refreshing drink on arrival, very welcome after an hour drive from the airport. As the receptionist saw we were thirsty he filled up our glasses straight away with a smile. These are the things that make the difference! The staff at this hotel is very professional and made us feel welcome straight away. Asked two evenings for a bucket of ice at the bar and this was given with a big smile, nothing too much trouble! Reception explained us everything we needed to know, informed us about dinner, the health center etc.

The hotel has got a quiet location, close to the Botanical garden in a residential area, we never walked to town as we had a car, the hotel has got it’s own shuttle too. The interior of the hotel is classical, a bit fancy, but cosy and with colorful buildings. Gardens are beautiful and well kept. We got a room facing the gardens-pool, above the restaurant terrace. Very clean, spacious and with comfortable beds. The air conditioning was a bliss (opposed to the Riu Palace…), we slept like babies even though it was hot when we were there. The pool area is clean and quiet, perfect for relaxing!!

For breakfast and dinner you could sit on the outside terrace, a true holiday feeling! On top of that, the food at this hotel is about the best you can get in a holiday hotel buffet. Good quality choice of fish, meats and salads. There was also an outside section where they barbecued meat/fish and where they prepared dishes a la minute.
Drinks were very reasonable priced and staff was also very friendly here. I think this was our first hotel where they actually fried the breakfast bacon in front of you; leaving it nice and crisp, most hotels ‘prepare’ it in a steamer ‘yuk’ The only thing I didn't like was the coffee, but I like my espresso so maybe I'm spoiled...

I know this is not the cheapest 4* hotel in PdlC but it’s worth every euro and we would stay here again without any hesitation!! The place to get rid of all your stress!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

My wife and I, together with our 9 year old daughter, stayed at the Riu Garoe from the 8th to the 15th April 2008. Here’s our review of the hotel together with some brief suggestions for things to do.

SUMMARY
The Garoe is a well-maintained hotel with friendly, accommodating staff and a good standard of cuisine. Although situated on the outskirts of Puerto de la Cruz, getting to the town centre is quick and inexpensive. The hotel and the locality are ideal for both families with children and older travellers but not for young singles looking for an active nightlife. Also, look elsewhere if you’d feel uncomfortable with the prospect of being the only English guests in a hotel patronised almost exclusively by Germans.


1. THE HOTEL

1.1 Arrival
The coach journey from Tenerife South Airport to the hotel took just over an hour. Courtesy of Thomsonfly, we had been stuck at Gatwick airport for over fourteen hours and so finally arrived at the Hotel Riu Garoe at 4.00 am. The hotel entrance is bright and well-maintained but not particularly imposing (see photo). Although our party of three were the only guests alighting at this hotel, a receptionist and porter were waiting up for us and we were given a warm and friendly welcome. On entering our room, we noticed they had been thoughtful enough to leave a large buffet meal (protected by cling film), including a bottle of red wine and a fanta orange juice. The half bottle of cava and the basket of fruit, which other Tripadvisor reviewers had found on arrival, had been left too.

1.2 Our Room

1.2.1 Main Area
Our hotel room was spotlessly clean and looked like it had been recently refurbished (see photo). The room was a standard size and fine for two people. However, with the addition of the extra bed for our daughter, a minor gripe would be that it seemed a little on the small side for the three of us. Although I wouldn’t say the room was cramped, we have stayed in larger “standard size” holiday hotel rooms in the past.

On entering the room, the plastic, credit card-sized door key had to be pushed into a slot in the wall to turn the electricity on. However, we found that, if just one of us wanted to leave the room and take this key, the electricity could be kept on by using any cardboard or plastic card of this size.

We found that the air-conditioning system did not cool down to the temperature indicated on the thermostat. However, it worked fine when set onto both full fan power and the lowest temperature setting (5 degrees Celsius). Don’t be reticent about leaving it on these settings overnight, I doubt you’d get too cold. By the way, it appears that the cleaners are under orders to turn the air-con off; we had to turn it back on every day after their visit.

Before going to sleep at night, if you don’t want to be woken up too early, it’s advisable to use the white plastic “blackout” curtain which can be found hidden behind the fabric curtain. We didn’t do this on the first night and paid the price!

A safe is located in the wardrobe which, at the rate of 2 euros per day, may be activated for use at reception. (We didn’t use the mini-bar but a Tripadvisor reviewer from 8 months earlier had mentioned that this requires a 7 euros deposit).

Finally, it was very pleasant to sit out on the balcony in the evening, especially as it afforded good views of both the sea and the mountains.

1.2.2 Bathroom
The bathroom was in very good condition too. For example, there was no sign of mould in the grouting - or anywhere else for that matter - and the shower curtain (the thin nylon type) looked new. However, before a shower, to avoid the bathroom being flooded, a good tip would be to wet the near end of the shower curtain so that it “sticks” to the rim of the bath and to the adjacent part of the tiled wall. After a shower, another tip would be to turn the (conveniently located) hair-dryer on full blast to demist the main mirror and shaving mirror.


1.3 Meals
We stayed at the hotel on half-board. There was a reasonable choice of food at both breakfast and dinner-time; the meals were all self-service and were of a consistently high standard.

The hours for breakfast are officially between 8.00 and 10.30 am, but you can go as early as 7.00 am as everything except the fried food is available at this time. We found this to be particularly helpful when going on an excursion with an early start. However, on other days we tended to go to breakfast after 9.00 am, when it had become quite busy. At breakfast on the Sunday there was a self-service table where you could help yourself to a glass or two or cava, which was a very pleasant surprise!

We went to the late sitting for dinner at 8.15 pm rather than the early sitting at 6.15 pm. The meals at dinner-time were fine, but we were not happy to find that none of the drinks were self-service (and included at no extra cost), not even water or soft drinks. Instead, a waiter came to our table to take our drinks order, which we had to sign a receipt for, and this was then added to our room bill. Curiously, although we were given a copy of this receipt, it only indicated which drinks we had ordered, not how much they had cost.

1.4 The Bar
In our opinion, the most important thing to remember about the hotel bar is that Happy Hour is between 5.30 pm and 6.30 pm. We didn’t miss it once! In our ignorance, on our first evening we thought the drinks would be half-price. When our cocktails arrived we realised that you actually get double the number of drinks for the same price. I was happy enough, but my wife found it hard going! During the course of the week, my wife and I tried several different cocktails and I can honestly say that all were excellent, and our daughter loved the non-alcoholic cocktails. The service provided by the friendly bar staff was excellent too. My favourite cocktail was the Cobbler Cava Especial, which contains brandy, contreau, drambuie and cordon negro. Although, at 8.50 euros, it was a couple of euros more expensive than most other cocktails, it tasted great and really packed a punch!

By the way, we missed the welcoming cocktails at the bar because we were on the Mount Teide excursion. On our return, we found a half-bottle of cava in our room with compliments from the hotel. Very impressive!

1.5 Hotel Activities
At the hotel we played tennis, table-tennis, squash and mini-golf and for each activity the equipment provided by the hotel was in good condition. A big bonus was that we never had to wait or queue for our turn to play; in fact; during our stay we didn’t notice anybody else taking part in any of these games! The reason for this general lack of interest in games was probably linked to the fact that, apart from our daughter, we spotted only one other child staying at the hotel.

We found the water temperature too cold to use the outdoor pool but regularly swam in the indoor pool. It seemed rather bizarre that the indoor pool was so small yet was located in a very large room with lots of dead space around it. Luckily, though, few other people seemed interested in swimming; we often had the pool to ourselves and so overcrowding was not an issue.

1.6 Getting to Town Centre

1.6.1 Courtesy Bus
Although the hotel is located on the outskirts of Puerto de la Cruz, it was neither difficult nor expensive getting to the town centre. The hotel offers a courtesy minibus shuttling between the hotel and the Centro Comercial (Shopping Centre) Martianez. The minibus leaves the hotel at 9:30, 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 12:00, 13:00, 15:00, 16:00, 17:00 and 17:45 respectively on weekdays and Saturdays (on Sundays the last departure is at 13:00). The return shuttle to the hotel is timetabled for 15 minutes later. So, for example, the first return trip is at 9:45 and the last at 18:00. We used this shuttle a couple of times from the hotel and didn’t have any difficulty in getting a seat. But be aware of the fact that, like a lot of Continental Europeans, the Germans don’t queue for buses.

1.6.2 Taxi
By London standards, taxis are very cheap in Tenerife. The price from the centre of town to the hotel is only 3 to 4 euros. Be warned, though, that you’ll just get a blank expression from the taxi drivers if you pronounce “Garoe” in a typically English way, namely, as “gah-roh”; the correct pronunciation is nearer to “gah-roy-er”.

The main taxi rank in the town centre is in the Plaza del Charco. We found that a better place to catch a cab for the hotel was on the Avenida del Generalisimo near the crossroad with the Avenida de Venezuela. A number of taxis wait here, by the zebra crossing, and take the shorter (and cheaper) coastal road route back to the hotel.

1.6.3 Shanks’s Pony
There is a wonderful, scenic cliff-top walk down from the hotel to the Shopping Centre Martianez; it takes about 20 – 30 minutes but is well worth the effort. Here’s my idiot’s guide to the walk! Start by walking straight down the new public footpath on the right hand side of the hotel. At the end of this footpath, cross over the road, turn right, cross over the zebra crossing and immediately turn left to reach the cliff-top path. Turn left and walk along this path until you reach the Semiramis Hotel. Walk down the steps on the left hand side of this hotel, and continue the cliff-top walk whilst enjoying views across Puerto de la Cruz. When you reach a small square, turn right to walk down a pedestrian walkway and continue until you reach steps on the right hand side. Walk down these steps and at the bottom turn right to reach the Centro Comercial (Shopping Centre) Martianez.

1.7 The Germans
I cannot conclude this section of my review without mentioning the fact that there did seem to be an awful lot of Germans staying at the hotel. In fact, almost all the guests staying there except us were German! During the course of the week we did meet an elderly English man and his middle-aged daughter in the restaurant. On hearing my wife’s English accent, he made a beeline for her as if she were a long lost relative! At dinner time, our daughter developed a sudden and inexplicable interest in the major historical events of the twentieth century. In hushed tones, we had to furtively fill in the gaps of her knowledge. So, if you stay at this hotel my advice would be, to quote Basil Faulty, “Don't mention the war. I did, but I think I got away with it!”

Seriously, though, the Germans were fine and honest too. My wife had left her Panama hat in the bar after our first Happy Hour experience and it was promptly returned to reception. On the whole, the Germans seemed a civilised lot and we found the atmosphere to be very relaxed and easy-going. Most were middle-aged or elderly, although some were younger. However, if you’re British and the gregarious type, who likes nothing better than to chat and make new friends in the bar, then I suggest you stay elsewhere.

2. BEYOND THE HOTEL
In brief, here are some of the places we enjoyed visiting:-
• Loro Park. A very clean, impressive and well-organised park. The penguin tanks in “Planet Penguin” are amazing! To arrive by opening time at 8.45am, we took a taxi from the hotel for 6 euros. We had about an hour to enjoy looking at the animals in the peace and tranquillity of an almost empty park before the coach loads of tourists arrived. The first show of the day, with the sea-lions, takes place at 10.15 am. The park begins to empty out again after 4.00pm, when the coach crowds leave. We recommend going on the Discovery Tour, for a guided behind the scenes tour, which you book at a desk just inside the entrance of Loro Park.
• Mount Teide. We went on a coach excursion, booked through Thomson’s. Well worth the money as the views are amazing!
• Pueblo Chico. A charming model village in Orotava, showing buildings and scenes mainly from the Canary Islands. There’s even a large model of Mount Teide, which you can go inside to view an exhibition showing how volcanic activity has shaped the Canaries. We took the courtesy coach from the Avenida de Venezuela, just before the crossroad with the Avenida del Generalisimo (when walking from the Centro Comercial Martianez). Before lunch, the coach departs at 9.15, 10.00, 11.00, 12.00 and 13.00.
• The Botanical Garden. A few minutes walking distance from the Hotel Riu Garoe, this garden is officially known as the “Jardín de Aclimatación de la Orotava” (La Orotava Acclimatisation Garden). Planting began as early as 1792. We were particularly impressed by the height of some of the palm trees.
• Playa Jardin. A large and well-maintained beach area on the western outskirts of Puerto de la Cruz, near to Loro Park. We got there by taking the free yellow “Noddy train” to Loro Park from the Plazo Reyes Catolicos in the town centre.

  • Liked — Happy Hour!
  • Disliked — Paying 2 euros per day for use of room safe.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Richard_A4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Garoe in September 2007 and to be perfectly honest with you we would not return. We loved the rooms and the food was ok too but talk about the germans! don't even go there and some fellow brits can be snobs too. We are a normal couple in our 50s who like a bit of entertainment and also someone to share an evening with occasionally but the whole two weeks we were there we never spoke to no one other than reception staff who were lovely.

We much prefer to have a cruise because at least we would have everything that sadly this hotel lacked and not only that german fraus who were really rude.The hotel minibus driver took us into town when we wanted to but he expected tips after every trip and if he didn't get them he swopre at us in spanish. how do I know you ask? well it is because I understand spanish and he for one was a let down to all decent spanish people who work for a living. Thomson reps? don't even go there because there were none. Sadly a let down of a holiday in a truly beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — The hotel was spotless and couldn't be faulted.
  • Disliked — The lack of a Thomson Rep and no entertainment what so ever.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank kenwood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis-B-Hernandez, General Manager at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Dear Guest,

It has been a long time since you stayed last time at the Riu Garoé. However, I have read your review and I like to thank you for your feedback.

A lot of things have changed since 2008, and you may like to know that English is the second nationality in terms of numbers in the hotel. We have adapted our service to your demands and we have been very succesful since then. Also,we habe been awarded the Thomson Gold Award several times and we are sold as a Platinum Hotel in the English market.

I will be very happy to see you again, so please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any questions or requests.

Best regards,

Luis Hernández
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,609 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
800 reviews
17.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Property: Hotel Riu Garoe
Address: Calle Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * Sauna, Squash, minigolf, children playground * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 Km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing