We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Garoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Garoe
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from this lovely well managed hotel. The staff are great especially the bar staff. The food is of an extremely high standard and we were very impressed at the variety in the evenings. The room was very good with views of the sea and mountains. Have been to puerto de la cruz many times this was my first visit to the garoe. The weather for the first time was very cloudy so we walked all over and ate at 14 different restaurants at lunch time, but felt the garoe food was better in the evenings. Thank you for our stay at your lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our great food. Comments like extremely high standard food, very impressed variety or lovely hotel, help us that customers like you choose the Garoé hotel for their holidays.

Thank you.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 827 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Puerto a few times. We love this part of the island because it is greener and quieter than the southern resorts. We have stayed in other hotels but I have to say that this is the best. Yes it is on the outskirts of the resort in the La Paz district and walking to and from the town is via a lot of steps or a steep hill. Having said that, the hotel does provide a courtesy bus to take you down and back and to be honest we enjoyed slowly meandering down and back. And there are nice walks around the hotel. It gave us a chance to walk off the wonderful food. And the food is excellent! When we have stayed half board self service before at other hotels, the food has become repetitive after a few days. Not so at the Garoe! There was always a variety of well cooked food, often cooked in front of you. If you are health conscious there is a wonderful selection of salads, fresh fruits and vegetables and fish. The breakfasts have everything you would expect and more. The hotel is built in a Moorish design with some rooms around an enclosed courtyard which kept it very cool. The gardens are beautiful and well kept and the pool area is peaceful, clean and very spacious. We had no trouble getting a sunbed when we were there. The public rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. There are little areas like the small terraces where you can sit and gaze out over the sea. Our room was on the 3rd floor 321 and looked over the pool with a view out to Teide. It had a very private little balcony which caught the sun in the late afternoon. The rooms are modern, clean with good bathrooms. They even supply us Brits with tea and coffee making facilities! The flat screen t.v. gets British channels too. Until now the hotel guests have been mainly German, but the Director is very keen to attract more British and is going out of his way to make the hotel more attractive to us. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. Every one of them is a credit to the hotel. The cleaners, gardeners, pool attendants, waiters and reception staff, all courteous and helpful. The bar staff are wonderful. Do take advantage of Happy Hour 5.30 to 6.30. Two drinks for the price of one. Thank you to Xavier for his wonderful cocktails, "made with love"! To Angeles and Maria who helped to make our stay so special. We did have some cloudy cool days during our stay but having a lovely hotel to come back to helped to overcome any disappointment. Hi to the British and German friends we made there. Hope to see you again at the Garoe. We shall certainly be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxicanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent description on Riu Garoé Hotel.

I will personally give thanks to Javier, Ángeles y María, for their good work.
Thanks also for the positive comments about our beautiful gardens, peaceful and clean pool area, very spacious and clean rooms and for our excellent service in the restaurants and bars. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays at our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.


Yours Sincerely,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our third stay at Riu Garoe. Great Hotel, with great staff, in a great location. We go for the peace and quiet and the rest, and it's easy to find here. We are sorry to leave, but will return soon! We have no hesitation in recommending a holiday here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anzioman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our great staff. Comment like peace and quite hotel to rest, help us that customers like you choose the Garoé hotel for their holidays.
Thank you.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What more can we say about this hotel, that we've not already commented upon in previous reviews. To be honest, we just love this hotel & it's people. It has highly talented management & amazing staff! It's simply relaxing, low key & marvellous.
As airline personnel, whom adore this island, and, who look to be accommodated in the best of hotels with welcoming & caring staff, we always opt for the RIU Garoe, whilst visiting Tenerife on holiday. It's simply that good and feels like we're returning home. A bold statement to make, however, in our opinion, there is simply nothing to fault about this very special hotel. The cleanliness, quality of food, amenities, animation & fantastic staff, all led & inspired by the wonderful Director, Señor Candido Figueroa, are a credit to the Canarian & global hospitality industry. Other hotels should sit up & learn from the staff & Director at this hotel. This is our second visit this year & standards remain impeccably high. This quiet, quality, recently refurbished & traditional hotel deserves a higher classification. It is far superior than it's 4 star rating would suggest. We have just returned from celebrating my Sister's Birthday at this hotel. The staff & management could not have been more accommodating & welcoming to our small family party-thank you. You all made a special birthday celebration, even more memorable & special. Well done to the Garoe team. To us, the very best hotel in Puerto de la Cruz, possibly, even Tenerife, just got even better. Simply Fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished to a high & similar standard. Very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thanks for the positive comments about our great staff. Thanks also for the good comments about our high standard food. Comments like very good room views and well managed hotel, help us that customers like you choose the Garoé hotel for their holidays.

Thank you.

Let us know in your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our holiday; it was our first visit to Tenerife, stayed at the fabulour Hotel Riu Garoe, can't wait to go back again. Wonderful hotel in quiet location with stunning views. In every department all of the staff were amazing and did everything to make our stay so enjoyable. Buffet meals are something we try to avoid on holiday so we were a little apprehensive but the standard and choice of food at breakfast and dinner was impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the positive comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our highest standard service at the Hotel. Thanks also for the good comments about our large amount of choice at the buffet and for keep your room immaculately. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own.

For next time, let us Know about your next visit let us know to offer you a beautiful room with pool views.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Just back today. The hotel and its staff are a credit to the Riu brand. We stayed here for a week and were treated to the highest standards of service.
Staying on a half board basis can sometimes bring an element of repetitiveness to the food offering but hotel presented a vast and varied selection over the week that we stayed.
Our room was immaculately kept during our time there and again house keeping excelled. A note - our room overlooked the front of the hotel and although quiet we would maybe ask for accommodation that overlooked the pool area or with a sea view.
Entertainment was although professional - a bit on the tame side. Predominatelly the hotel is populated by Germain guests of a certain age who obviously have what can only be described as reserved taste.
If you want a place to completely relax then you've just found it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments about Riu Garoé Hotel in your recent stay.

Thank once again for your fabulous comments about our Staff and Hotel. Thank you very much for have perceived our good job and have seen great interest to satisfy our customers.
Comments like wonderful, peaceful hotel and impressive standard and choice at breakfast and dinner, are beautiful comments which help us to continue working at the same quality line.

Please let us know about your next visit to offer a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of Puerto, but close to the Botanic Gardens and several nice restaurants. Excellent rooms, interesting interior decor, good service and friendly staff. Dinner is buffet style in two sittings, but don't expect a romantic candle-lit meal - bright lights and efficient service are the style here. However there's a wide range of excellent food on offer, both at dinner and breakfast.

The hotel has a German management and most of the guests spoke German when we were there. The beer is good, the local wine less so. Some evening entertainment is provided in the lounge bar but it's not exceptional.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have nice views towards the sea and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candido-Figueroa, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent Comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff, good service and excellent rooms. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

A warm hug on behalf of all staff

Cándido L. Figueroa
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
25.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
25.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
24.6 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 61 in Costa Adeje
762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#10 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Garoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Garoe

Address: Calle Doctor Celestino Gonzalez Padron 3 | Puerto de la Cruz- Tenerife, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $110 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Garoe 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the La Paz district in Puerto de la Cruz * 4-story building * Sauna, Squash, minigolf, children playground * 300 m from the Botanical Garden * 1 km from the beach and the "Lago Martianez" salt water pools * 1.5 Km from the center of Puerto de la Cruz * Complimentary shuttle service to the center (weekdays and Saturdays until noon. Not available on public holidays) * 600 m from various shops * 110/28 km from the airports to the south/north * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Garoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garoe Hotel
Hotel Riu Garoe Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing