We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartments Pez Azul
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here in january, the apartment was nice except no sun on the balcony which was pool side, the other side is better, for self catering it would of been difficult to cook full meals, no oven, microwave or even a grill, no kettle or toaster which you would think would be standard for self catering, staff were great, the only other dissapointing thing was, they advertise a poolside bar which was never open, just seems to be used for storage, also advertise pool table etc they dont have this either, on the plus side I had trouble getting wifi in the room which they sorted and even gave us 4 days free, all in all ok.

Room Tip: No sun poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 392 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went end of January for 2 weeks, as others have said Pez Azul is not wonderful but not terrible either.

However if going in winter like us you may wish to note.

The pool (which is very nice and heated!) loses the sun at 3.30pm

Half the balconies face the pool and get no sun in winter the other half face the sun all day and the rooms can get very hot.

The room lacks any form of comfy seating so if its a dull or cold day there is no where to sit either in the room or elsewhere in the hotel. (this was for us the biggest negative)

We went half board and while there was plenty of choice and quantity, the food was often warm and greasy, I would not chose to have the food again. but on reflextion I guess we got what we paid for.

Although it was good to have the little kitchen you only have two hot rings nothing else so I wouldn't plan on a lot of cooking in the room, no kettle either although there was a coffee maker which we used instead.

The location was great, right on the main bus routes, only a short walk from the front, staff were helpful and pleasant. and it was very quiet both inside and out, We had a great 2 weeks but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: In summer I would want the rooms facing the pool, with no aircon the otherside would be very hot, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice clean apartments with lots of space. The only problem was we did not get the floor/aspect requested on arrival. Having looked on this site we requested 3rd floor facing the pool for one apartment and third floor facing south for the other. We got ground floor facing a wall and noisy plant room for one apartment and the fourth floor (which have a very small balcony only as in the roofspace, unlike 1st-3rd that have a good sized balcony) for the other. Obviously not everyone can get a nice room, but we were there for two weeks and the staff were very helpful, so we were able to change rooms to third floor pool view for both rooms within 3/5 days....thus taking our share of the grotty aspect rooms, but getting better rooms for part of the holiday! Front facing rooms get sun most of the day and a view of the volcano Mt Teide. Pool facing rooms at the back get sun for under 2 hours in the morning at this time of year, as nearby buidings screen it from sun until midmorning.
Excellent buffet breakfast for 5 euros very good value and evening meal buffet for 9 euros good change from self catering, but might be a bit boring every night.
NIce location up the hilll, but near a great viewpooint over the bay. Good excercise walking back form town, but good bus service for those unable to walk uphill much.

Room Tip: Front facing Mt Teide for a good view and most sun. Third floor best chnace of good aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pez Azul is not charming or luxurios, but it is nice and clean and charge very low rates. We had a studio on the pool side. Another time I would only accept to the other side, with sun and view of Teide.
There was a functional kitchen, with plenty of cutlery, pots and pans. We did not do much cooking, but it would have been possible to prepare full meals. No oven or micro wave.
Ok bathroom with bathtub and plenty of hot water at all times. Room was cleaned and towels changed every day.
The pool was heated and the pool area cleaned every day.
Except for the main road the location was fine. Nice walk down to the city center and maybe a 3.50 cab back. On our first night - Saturday - there was an awful singer in the German sports bar across the road. We could hear it loud and clear. But it stopped before midnight and fortunately it was the only night.
A couple of the guys in the reception not very service minded.
The free WIFI (booking directly at hotel website) was only available in the reception.
We did not have any meals in the restaurant. We had a look at the evening buffet and were not tempted.

Room Tip: More sun and nicer view on the non-pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rejsende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pez Azul has a partner block called Chinyero across the road and over the ravine/river below. It's directly opposite the petrol station. Whilst it's not 5* luxury, it's great for what it is and the cost was just £80 for one 2-bed single room apartment for a week over the Christmas period. The corner apartment on floor 3 (rooms 300+) has a huge balcony and is well worth asking for as you get sunshine in winter from 9.30am until about 5pm. Great! The cleaning staff are friendly and are the same staff as at Pez Azul and I am surprised by the reviews there. Traffic noise is high as it's the main road into Puerto Cruz from the TF5 but can be tolerated. I'd imagine the summer is especially busy! Very good value for money and I have yet to understand why people criticise cheap accommodation. Get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Room 302/310 for the large balcony. But 302 is east facing and gets little sun in winter. 305-306 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dls1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our studio [422] was pleasant and airy with stunning views of a river valley, local goat farm, green mountains, Mt.Teide and the sunset but the balcony on 4th floor was impossibly small, so we asked to be moved, got our big balcony and lost our view to a nasty modern block. A lesson in be careful what you ask for. The studio kitchens were very basic and a bit tired but good enough for breakfast, including a coffee maker and had a large dining area with [potential] views.You might not want to eat the food provided by the hotel! Recommend self- catering.
We found our studios in Pez Azul homely and relaxing, clean and fresh, but with variable beds. The daily chamber-maids were helpful and cheerfully adaptable to our schedule tho, initially, the male receptionists were ALMOST amusing in their petty busy-on-the-telephone games and unhelpfulness, spoke no English or really tried to translate our awful Spanish. After a long journey we were made to work to prove we'd actually made a booking, but we got them on side eventually.
If you are just wanting a quiet base I would recommend it but it is definitely not suitable, or safe, for children, as the balconies are climbing frames and the door to the fire escapes always open, and party people can forget the whole area; all the other guests were elderly Germans.

Room Tip: 4th floor balconies are too small to sit out/lay on. Ist floor no privacy or views. Pool facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Why do Hotels always think that having a nice reception area, restaurant and bar is more important than the actual apartments when you are on a self catering holiday? because they want you to spend your money in their property and not go out, and although these area in the Pez Azul are very nice indeed, the apartments/studios are old and tired and in need of refurbishment. The management could do with teaching their reception staff some good customer service also.

Room Tip: Are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jsilverspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#53 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#65 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Alta
Apartamentos Alta
#35 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Candido
Don Candido
#42 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puerto Azul Hotel
Puerto Azul Hotel
#52 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Pez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Pez Azul

Address: Calle Rector Benito Rodriguez Rios 1 | Rector Benito Rodriguez Rios 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $33 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Pez Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio apartments Resort with 135 fully equipped studio with bathroom, kitchenette, balcony. Outdoor pool and children's pool heated in winter. Buffet Restaurant service for breakfast, lunch and / or dinner. 24 Hour reception. Car rental. Free Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Pez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Pez Azul Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartments Pez Azul Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing