We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pez Azul" nice, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartments Pez Azul
Ranked #63 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed April 14, 2012

It was our first holiday, and choosing Pez Azul was not a bad choice. It is nice and clean hotel. The breakfast area could be much cleaner such as fridges for desserts, tables, glasess... Not big variety of food for breakfast, but looking what are you paying staying in this hotel, it is a real value for money.

The room was big enough, with dinning area and very clean. Kitc had a small kettle, 2 ring hob and small fridge/freezer.

Room Tip: room with balcony to the street side has a wonderfull view and you could see a vulcano at day time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank heila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 369 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hotel: Me and my patner went here in August for 2 weeks before we where off to University. When we booked it we where told we would have an upgraded studio which we paid another €50 for, so when we arrived we expected a really nice room, it appeared there was no such thing. When we arrived, the hotel manager was on the phone and didn't acknowledge us, we waited paciently but the phone call did not seem serious at all. After about 15 minutes of waiting, he didnt even say hello or welcomed us, he just took our booking form and handed us a key, then he got back on the phone. I was really angry but what was the point of complaining when he will still be on the phone. We got to our room, it was alright for the price you pay but I would'nt recommend it. The kitchenette was very basic, a hob, a fridge and a sink. The cutlery was very limited and there was no kettle or microwave. At the end of the day, we only went ot go to the beach so we were not fussed about accomodation. The hotel staff where rude and did not make us feel welcome at all. On the last day of checking out, we had a late flight so we were told we would be able to have access to a room where we can put our luggage and we can freshen up i.e shower. We where put in a very run down room with no water, a broken balcony and no clean towels/bedding. Once we left that room, they would take the key off us so we had to ask them if we could go back in. It was rediculas! When we got picked up to go to the airport, no goodbyes or thanks for staying. Just really rude people! Would never go again. The pool was tiny and does not get sunlight for long. The bar was never open because they used it to store clutter. It wasnt wheelchair friendly either as their ramp was broken and you could not use it due to them taping it up with red tape. It was awful.
Location: Up the street, there was a huge supermarket that did loads of fresh food and bits to pick up. That seemed to be the only benefit. The hotel is up a very steep hill and it is about a 15 minute walk from the nearest beach... not to forget the 680 steps you have to use. We used to use it in the day but at night, we would get a taxi back which would cost about €4 so not bad. The beach, that is simply a very rocky, black sand and not very big. I would recommend going to the lagoon (that is what me and my patner called it). That was fantastic! It was about €3.50 pp to enter and you had access to all the natural salt water pools, their was a massive kids pool and it has loads of little bars for food and drink. It was great! We went every day.
Eating: Restaurants are really cheap and serve excellent food. I am a vegetarian and found something everywhere so I would definately recommend the resort, just not the hotel.

By the way, don't be decieved by the clouds, the sun still burns you as my patner found out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank rachaelmelling07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

After reading reviews here we were a bit concerned about what we had let ourselves in for. However, Pez Azul turned out to be a good choice. First, the negatives: cooking utensils are very limited - take your own kettle and small sharp knife for preparing fruit and vegetables. No microwave. (You do get a fridge and small hob.) There was no air con, which was not a problem in February. The TV is available only if you pay, which we did not, as it wasn't clear what English-language channels we would get. (Sky - which? BBC - which?) The pool area is small and gradually loses sunshine through the day. The positives: the room was spacious and clean. It was serviced every day except Saturdays. The beds were comfortable, though no double beds are available, apparently. We had very limited contact with the staff, but our complaint about noisy neighbours was dealt with promptly and effectively. The apartments are handy for the Old Town (about 12 minutes' walk) and for the Botanic Gardens. There is off-street parking round the back of, and beside, the building. Use of the internet computers is charged at the heavy price of €0.50 for 5 minutes

Room Tip: Rooms on the north-east side get sun only for a short while early on and are therefore cooler overal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OscarVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

just got back from tenerife went for new year stayed at these apartments not to bad overall although seemed to only cater for germans which to be fair was what the hotel was full of rooms were plenty big enough maid came in daily changed towels etc no kettle tho had to use saucepan to boil water 2 ring hob and a fridge no problem for us as we ate out not in resturant as didnt fancy cheese and olives prices arround resort cheap arround 2 euros for a beer from 6 euros for a meal we got 3 course for 6.50 euro weather was hot in the day went a little nippy arround 6ish but trackie top was enough no coats needed puerto itself is a little to quiet for us prefer south warning if ur staying at this hotel be prepaird for a up hill climb back to hotel from town centre god those steps although taxi only 3 euro so not too bad caught bus into santa cruze 3 of us cost 14 euro return so very cheap to travel so if ur looking for a cheap week away purto will suffice enjoy

Room Tip: had pool view no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

If you go expecting 5 star luxury you will be disappointed. These are middle range budget studio apartments and nothing more. That said they are good value. The accomodation is clean and staff were helpful. The beds were comfy but furnishings were merely functional. Bathroom was fine. Pool and outside bar adequate. Location was OK - about 10 - 15 min uphill from the lido or the centre of town. La Paz (shops, bars & restaurants) 5 mins away uphill. If you have a car parking on street is easy. We didnt use the hotels restaurant. Overall v. good value at under £30 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mikebrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Was really looking forward to our holiday, always book budget holidays, have had many cheaper than this and always try to be optimistic about the places we stay in. Was so disappointed however when we arrived. We paid extra for room upgrade as we have an 8 month old with us but all rooms are the same it seems ? Self caterig facilities are awful, got two tiny hobs, with pans that are barely useable. No proper kettle just a small coffee maker, no good when you have a baby! Can't even make a piece of toast in morning and found meals very hard to cook in here so ended up eating out most of the time which we didn't budget for. Didnt eat in the restaurant as didn't smell appealing and was more expensive than other restaurants. Worst of all was cleanliness, people said this hotel was clean... Would hate to see what their houses are like ?! We honestly can usually settle for anything as long as the hotel is clean but arrived to dirty room, found a used cotton pad on te bathroom floor. Dust everywhere and no way could walk bare foot. Pool side waste of time, bar not open, building work going on and again filthy. Luckily location wasn't too bad so spent our time down seafront and local pools which R great. Have tried getting flights home early bu no such luck. Ah well, only one night left ! Thank god. Seriously, even if you are on a budget like we always are, can get much better.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Spudjela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

just spent a week in pez azul i was worried as it is a budget but its clean and quiet and at those prices you cant ask for more. the only problem with the room was that it has no air con and being 30 degrees at night its difficult to cool down. when i first walked down to the main strip i was a little disapointed as theres quite a bit of graffitti on the walls which isnt very pleasant but this stopped when closer to the main strip. the walk down is fine but i never walked back up as its very steep i wouldnt recomend the resort to people with walking difficulties or wheelchairs as its very hilly. it is a quiet place and very relaxed. for anyone going to puerto de la cruz i would say go to loro parque its amazing for all ages and cheap enough for what u get in with the price. all in all a good relaxing holiday although not for me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#51 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Carabela Apartments
La Carabela Apartments
#61 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Apartments
Park Plaza Apartments
#67 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Plaza
Apartamentos Be Smart Florida Pl...
#54 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#50 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#41 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Pez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Pez Azul

Address: Calle Rector Benito Rodriguez Rios 1 | Rector Benito Rodriguez Rios 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Pez Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio apartments Resort with 135 fully equipped studio with bathroom, kitchenette, balcony. Outdoor pool and children's pool heated in winter. Buffet Restaurant service for breakfast, lunch and / or dinner. 24 Hour reception. Car rental. Free Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Pez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Pez Azul Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Apartments Pez Azul Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing