We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing changed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Teide Mar
Ranked #47 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
mansfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nothing changed”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

went to teide mar way back in 2000 nice clean hotel with a couple of restaurants just outside and only one bar open pepitos which seemed to cater mainly for the germans kept being constantly asked to go to a half built hotel by a man outside hotel doors free taxi there n back but nearly three hours of hard sell to book your next five years holiday but got free loro park tickets which is well worth going to long way to town lots of steps but lovely when u there really good scottish pub that do a proper full english

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    113
    93
    41
    36
See reviews for
64
177
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was excellent. Amazing pool. Everythingclean and tidy, in fact beautiful! We had an absolute nightmare with our transfers but the hotel dealt with it brilliantly and sorted everything out for us. We didn't need to do a thing, even the staff at the hotel just told us to just enjoy our holiday. The best service we have had in a hotel since I can remember and we go on holiday several times a year. Would definitely recommend particularly if you want to feellike part of the family

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanneprestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were sold this hotel through onthebeach.com as a 4* hotel. It is not even close to a 3*. The rooms are shabby and the beds were falling apart. Don't expect your room to be cleaned during your stay either. The noise in the hotel was unbearable. I didn't get a single nights sleep during my week there with groups of school kids screaming, shouting and running/skateboard around the corridors throughout the night. The beach is advertised as being 300m from the hotel. That's true as the crow flies, but the reality is it is a good 20min walk. If you do want to pay for the TV bear in mind it works out at about £20 for the week and you are paying for a 9x9" box that only has 1 news channel in English. Without wanting to sound like a complete grump, the resort is actually lovely and there are much nicer hotels nearer the sea front that are around the same price. I've stayed in better hostels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took a change when we booked this appartment, see the reviews here. From the outside it is okay, and the garden is really an extra value, but the appartment is really out of date, with poor kitchen and beds, and if you don't expect any luxury in the bathroom is at its best okay.
But on the other hand the price is really cheap, so if you don't want any luxuries this a place to stay for the night. For everything else there is plenty of choice in the neighbourhood. And Puerto de la Cruz is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall, I was pleased with the Teide Mar. We booked late, so didn't have much choice of accommodation, so chose this place based on the slightly better reviews than the others that were available. I was slightly apprehensive as I have never stayed in this type of package apartment block before, but i was pleasantly surprised.

Good Things
The view of Mount Teide from my balcony
The cleanliness and size of the room
The location (I was on a cycling trip so it was ideally located for getting in/out of Puerto)
Parking (the parking on the surrounding streets is free of charge and i had no problem finding a spot)
The wifi (although it was €12 for 72 hours it was quick and efficient)
Location (there are a couple of nice bars in the area and it's a short and pleasant 10/15 minute walk to the main town area for dinner in the evening - there are restaurants on the streets around the apartments but i didn't eat in those)
Breakfast (I only had the breakfast once, but at €6 pp i thought there was a good selection of things - although the coffee from the machine is awful!)

Not So Good Things
The kitchenette was not brilliant - no oven/grill and no kettle, although I ate out every evenings and used a pan to boil water, so no major issue
No hairdryer in the rooms (although i have read below that these could be borrowed from reception.. bit of a pain to borrow one every night though)
Could do with a general bit of tlc, but for the price it was fine.
Wifi is only in reception - if it was available in the rooms I would have paid to have it all week.

These are all minor quibbles - overall, the Teide Mar was good value.

Room Tip: I paid £20 extra (for the week) to have a "Pool View" room. This was worth every penny as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calico_demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location with plenty of restaurants, shops and supermarkets nearby. Also, just a short walk to the botanic gardens. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Whole place felt a little tired and in need of a facelift but we had a nice balcony facing the quiet side road. The kitchenette was very basic (no kettle) but adequate to make breakfast and lunch.
For some reason sleep quality was not good. The room was quiet but we did not find the beds comfortable. No hair dryer.
The room had a safe for 9 euro per week, a small TV was extra, and wi-fi was extra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotels, Manager at smartline Teide Mar, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Peter,

We would like to thank you for your review on your stay in Teide Mar. We are glad to hear that you liked staying at the property except of some smaller inconveniences mentioned. Generally, our reception is happy to provide kettle and hair dryer to the guests if needed. As for the beds, most of our guests like it the way they are. Nevertheless, again, perhaps our staff could have helped you in some way. Indeed TV and Wi-Fi are available at an extra charge to be paid at the hotel. We sincerely hope to see you again whenever you decide to come to Puerto de la Cruz. It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

okay so their are pros and cons of the teide mar apartments.The location is great there is plenty on the door step.Restaurants,shops supermarket etc.If you want it a bit livlier then a 10-15 min walk away is all it takes-more restaurants more shops and you also hit the beach there too!The walk ack you do climb 257 steps so quite a chore but a cab is cheap.
The staff are great aswell and the pool area is nice and large with plenty of sunbeds and plenty of sun,very nice mature gardens.But we were never comfortable.....
The sun beds yes are a plenty but they are so hard.The beds in the room hard,the sofa in the room hard can you see a theme here!
Also as a self catering I agree with previous comments how you can you self cater with no toaster,kettle or oven?The room size is great shower lovely and the seperate bedroom is a nice idea-Also to have a balcony was nice!
So as I said pros & cons....Would I return? im not sure location yes comfort no

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOLIDAYBLUESKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#57 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RF Astoria
Hotel RF Astoria
#26 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos Teneguia
Apartamentos Teneguia
#44 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos RF Bambi
Apartamentos RF Bambi
#37 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marte
Hotel Marte
#42 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartments Pez Azul
Apartments Pez Azul
#61 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Teide Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Teide Mar

Property: smartline Teide Mar
Address: Calle Acevino 6, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos Teide Mar)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Teide Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teide Mar is located nearby center of La Paz, the most popular residential areas of Puerto de la Cruz with interesting sights, shops, bars and restaurants. Puerto de la Cruz is reachable within walking distance. A beautiful place with a fishing harbor an nice old town centre with colonial buildings- • 4,000 m2 of lush subtropical garden area • In the near of the centre of Puerto de la Cruz • Special senior activities and facilities • Adults friendly Accommodation Teide Mar offers 257 junior suites with a combined bedroom and living room. The junior suites are designed with senior guests in mind, with for example higher beds, long shoe horn and easy opening wardrobes. The hotel also offers store space for scooters and walkers. Room types available: • Junior suite (approx. 36,5 m2 including balcony) with standard view for 2-3 guests • Junior suite (approx. 36,5 m2 including balcony) with pool or garden view for 2-3 guests Room facilities: • Furnished balcony • Single beds (in most junior suites with duvet beddings and reading lamps • Double bed (grand lit) (in a few junior suites) (only upon request) with duvet beddings and reading lamps • Extra bed type: Sofa bed • TV with satellite channels (flat screen 32 inches) (free of charge; Remote control with deposit) • Safe (against charge) • Telephone • Kitchenette • 2 hot plates • Coffee machine (filter – German coffee) • Kettle • Kitchen equipment (basic) • Fridge • Dining place • Bathtub with shower (with small steps for easier access) • WC • Hairdryer Cleaning 5 times per week, change of linen 2 times/week, change of towels 3 times/week. Food & Beverage smartline Teide Mar offers a buffet restaurant and both inside bar and pool bar. Restaurant & bar facilities: • Buffet restaurant • Bar • Pool bar The hotel offers the following meal plans: • Self-Catering • Bed & Breakfast • Half board Breakfast (8 a.m. – 10 a.m.); lunch (1 p.m. -3 p.m.) and dinner (7 p.m. – 9 p.m.) are served in the buffet restaurant. Pool & Beach The hotel provides its guest a 100 m2 large pool, which is heated to approx. 22-24 degrees during November till March. Sun loungers by the poolside and parasols on the grass are available free of charge. The pool is equipped with steps, a ladder and a hand rail for easy access. Guests can additionally can relax in the 4. 000 m2 botanical garden, which lays 500 meters from the hotel or indulge theirself with a massage which is organized by Thomas Cook host (against extra charge). In the west of Puerto de la Cruz you will find the 260 meter long Playa Jardin with black lava sand. Next to the Lago Martianez area you will find an additional beach, "Playa Martianez", also with black lava sand which is typical for this island. Sports, Relaxation & Entertainment smartline Teide Mar has a special senior program, including walking tours, yoga and other activities - arranged by the Thomas Cook host in the hotel (all at an additional charge). Furthermore, guests have the have the choice between the following various activities: • Tennis court (against charge) • Pool table (against charge) • Yoga – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Nordic walking tours – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Afternoon coffee party in one of the local coffee shops - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Shopping tours - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Singing groups - organized by the Thomas Cook host • Weekly wine degustation – organized by the Thomas Cook host (against charge) • Game room to play cards or bridge* • TV room* • Reading room * *) Please note that the game room for playing cards, the TV room and the reading room is one sole room Internet • Free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel • Stationary computers available (against charge) Additional Information • Please note: Hotel is recommended for 16+ • Reception • Elevators • Mini market • Self-service laundry–against charge • Medical center – across the road • Dog friendly (up to 4kg) – upon request • Parking facilities available in the nearby streets of the hotel – free of charge Contact Teide Mar Calle Acevinos, Urb. La Paz 6 Spain , Tenerife 38400 Puerto de la Cruz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Teide Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teide Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Smartline Teide Mar Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing