We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weeks break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Las Vegas
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Melton Mowbray
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great weeks break”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned home from a great weeks break. This was the first time we had visited the island.
A good hotel, right in the centre of things. The pedestrianised promenade outside the front door and the beach a very short walk.
A good spacious reception area, the staff were friendly when we checked in and answered all our immediate questions. The room was on the back of the hotel on the eight floor with a great view of surrounding area and mount Teide. The night club across the road didn’t cause any noise problems. The room was cleaned every day with a change of towels when wanted and the cleaning staff were friendly too. The shower looked a little aged with a few black bits of grout between the tiles otherwise very clean. The restaurant delivered a good choice of food breakfast and dinner. Yum Yum! The staff and service were OK but need to be a bit more cheerful and a smile will go a long way. In the show bar there was entertainment every night with some thing for every one. The pool area is well looked after with free towels (a deposit required) sun beds and parasols also a bar to stop dehydration. It must appeal to a lot of people as a lot were returning more than once. All in all an excellent stay and would go back.

Room Tip: High floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon_600_yam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Jon_600_yam:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    718
    339
    105
    81
See reviews for
423
1,063
83
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We returned last month from another excellent holiday at the Catalonia Las Vagas. Reception manager and resturant staff were friendly and helpful, food was excellent with a huge range to suit every pallete. Our room was on the 8th floor looking out to the sea, beautiful view. It was cleaned satisfactorily each day and clean towels provided daily. My wife and I are looking forward to November 2013 when we will be returnin for 6 weeks.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnandlesley1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear John and Lesley:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Las Vegas with my parents in October. They were returning after first going there 30 years ago! Obviously things had changed drastically but the hotel still has the same values- welcoming helpful staff, well equipped rooms, decent food ( when you find out where things live!),a brilliant Maitre D' in the dining room!! Entertainment is there too, if you want it,not exactly for the youngsters but the older clients loved the music and dancing. Pool is lovely and not at all busy. Plenty loungers for everyone. Activities during the day were OK too and all nationalities were made very welcome when you joined in. My 79 year old Dad won French Bowls and the other guests were really lovely to him.

If you are considering Puerto De La Cruz this hotel is so central that you cannot miss anything. Well worth putting on the list of hotels to stay in. I believe they have great offers if you book directly with them too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the 2 discos in streets at the back of the hotel. One is called "Joy&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intrepids15c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear intrepids15c:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO DOWN NORTHERN IRELAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from a week spent in Las Vegus hotel it really is one of the best locations in the resort we where on the 8th floor over looking the lido and sea was a bit noisey afew nights with a disco but all you need are ear plugs, the room was clean and had good air conditioning, the only downside was the bathroom which really needed a makeover tiles on floor cracked and walls needed regrouted.The evening meals where good and always plenty of choice if anyone comes away hungary its there own fault ,breakfast could be better lots of choice but boiled eggs looked and tasted like they had been boiled an hour also a few rubbery fryed eggs,juice seemed to be powdered ,and why can't these hotels get proper bacon ( if you want a good bacon sandwich try theWelcome cafe) .There was always plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day with all day sun .( we had great weather all week) also the drinks are very reasonably priced .All in all the hotel offers good value for money had a great week and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 752ELLEN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear 752ELLEN10:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We returned to the Las Vegas last December for 2 weeks during New Year and was our 1st time back at this hotel for 15years.The service and meals were as good this time around as it was all those years ago.We enjoyed the relaxing break that much we have booked for 2 weeks again on 30 December to see in New Year 2013.The last twice we have been at the Las Vegas we had sea view overlooking Lido with fantastic views but this time due to time of year (sea view dont get much sun in December) we have opted for mountain view so we get sun on balcony.New Years Eve in Puerto is a fantastic evening with fireworks and dancing into the wee sma hours.Really looking forward once again to this friendly hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Sea view better in summer and quieter.Mountain and pool view get sun in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Brian:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were a large group of 53 ramblers and booked this hotel because of its location and proximity to the wonderful walking areas of the northern part of Tenerife. The hotel is situated right on the promenade with fantastic sea views on one side and views of Mount Teide (and late afternoon sunshine) on the other. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, even allowing our group to use their large meeting room to have a quiz. There was a huge range of choice at the buffet breakfasts and dinners with a different 'theme' each evening. Bread and pastries were baked in the hotel and each evening a chef would cook a 'speciality' as an added treat. The wine and drinks were very reasonably priced and the waiting staff friendly and efficient. The only small negative point was that it could be a little noisy in the evenings with the entertainment from local bars but this was never excessive. There is a nice swimming pool and a quiet garden area to enjoy. On arrival, the sight of a large McDonalds on the ground floor was also a little off-putting but again, this did not detract from the holiday. On the whole, I would gladly visit this hotel again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor is an added bonus because of the marvellous sea views. The Mount Teide view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncanrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. Duncanrig:
Dear guest:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,031 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel matches up to its own description and gives value for money. The location is one of the best in this resort, right on the sea front with a nice long promenade to walk on. The rooms are more than adequate and clean. The restaurant meals had plenty of choice for most diners tastes, however as most of this hotels guests are Spanish, you can expect some dishes you would not normally get back in Blighty. The grill bar has a choice of fish or meat that the chef cooks fresh for you and there is also a carvery about three or four nights a week. The meals served each evening are "Themed" ie Spanish night, Italian night, Chinese night etc so if you are an adventurous diner then you'll love it. The pool area is well secluded and a nice place to sun bathe ( if you get any sun ..... this is the north of the island) and the patio garden is nice to relax and have a drink in either daytime or evening. The entertainment was nothing to shout home about with the exception of a couple of evenings when there was an acrobatic troupe and a dance troupe, the concluding disco was a bit naff, loudish and awful music but the Spanish seemed to like it, no accounting for taste eh! To conclude, having stayed at other catalonia hotels I would say this is on a par with their standard and would have no hesitation in saying worth a visit, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have balconies, try make sure you get either a sea view or pool view with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear dnowland_12:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#15 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#11 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Tope
Hotel El Tope
#27 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Vegas

Property: Catalonia Las Vegas
Address: Avenida Colon 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Vegas 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Vegas could not be better situated: directly at the sea, in front of the Martinez Lakes and with views of Teide mountain. Furthermore, it is located in the very centre of the city of Puerto de la Cruz. The hotel was recently renovated in 2004 and has 261 rooms on its 13 floors. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, children's swimming pool, miniature golf, table tennis, pool, petanque, sauna, beauty salon, coffee bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Catalonia Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Vegas Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Catalonia Las Vegas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing