We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Las Vegas
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to leave the rain in the UK and head off to hot and sunny Tenerife. We didn't want to go to the typical English resorts in the southwest of the island so decided on Puerto de la Cruz. After reading so many bad reviews for hotels included in package holidays, we decided to book the hotel and flights separately, but with the same online travel website. We were on a tight budget of around £400 each for the flights and hotel, and this hotel was one of many that ticked that box; what was different, however, was the shinning reviews people had given Catalonia Las Vegas in comparison with other hotels in the area.
They were right.
The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to help us with any problems - such as finding somewhere to park the hire car (not easy in P.d.l. Cruz - recommend the large free car park at the fairground, an easy ~10 min walk along the coast through the old harbour town). Both the communal areas and rooms where very clean. But the best part was the evening meals: themed every night with choice for even the fussiest of eaters (i.e. my boyfriend)- French, Spanish, Oriental, Italian, Eastern Mediterranean, Canaries, Tex Mex.... it was all delicious and still hot (a bonus for a buffet). The breakfast had a wide range of choice too. There is a nightclub poolside of the hotel, but we didn't really notice it and the views to the Teide on a clear morning were more than worth it.
Overall, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and if we ever return to Tenerife in the future we know where to stay.

Room Tip: Poolside room has a one nightclub opposite but didn't really notice the noise and you get sun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Kate:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 03-07-2012 to 10-07-2012. Third time in Puerto de la Cruz but first at this hotel. Cannot praise the hotel high enough - booked through Jet2.com and everything went like clockwork. 3 of us went, myself, my wife and sister in law. We were put in 2 rooms next door to each other on the 5th floor overlooking the pool. No noise and extremely clean. Food was different every day with a large choice. Entertainment every evening, centrally located, staff very helpful and appreciative. Excellent value for money. SUPERB.

Just a comment on Jet2.com. Not travelled with them before. But everything was so easy all booked on internet - flew from East Midlands no reps in resorts but all on the end of a phone through local agency. Advised through hotel reception on transfers 2 days before we came home and everything was done all as requested.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Ian:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

4 of us have just returned from a weeks half board holiday in Puerto de la Cruz Tenerife. We booked flights & hotel with Monarch Airlines (fantastic value for money), we stayed at the Catalonia Las Vegas hotel. It has a prime position on the pedestrian area next to the Lido Martianez. The food choice at all meals was fantastic, something to suit everyones tastes, each night was a different theme (Canarian, French, Italian, etc). We have stayed at this hotel 5 times over the last 30 years, we are always warmly welcomed by the staff some of whom have been there each time. We hired a car from Auto Reisen at the airport and drove the 1hour 10 minute journey to Puerto. We had free upgrade on the car and free room upgrade which we assume was because it wasn't too busy (low season). The hotel does not have any parking spaces, the car has to be left in the free municipal car park by the harbour (15 minute walk away). We drove to fantastic places during the week, Mount Teide, Las Gigantes (Whale & Dolphin watching), Les Mercedes mountains, Jardin Botanico, Icod de Vinos (600 year old Drago Tree), La Orotavo (Jardin Victoria) and Garachico. Weather was hot & sunny every day. We can highly recommend this holiday in every way, our friends couldn't believe how cheap the whole holiday was.

Room Tip: North facing rooms noisier but overlook the sea, South facing rooms look towards the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Mr. David:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have just returned from a mid week, all inclusive, break to Puerto De La Cruz, where we stayed in the Catalonia Las Vegas.
Hubbs had booked us a superior room, with tea and coffee making facilities, but unfortunately, when we got to our room, it was not as we had booked, and actually was rather on the small side. However we reported this matter to reception and were told were told to wait for the managers return. Upon his return, we were allocated a super room on the top floor (thank you, to the manager), with a kettle to follow, the next day. The beds were very comfortable and the room itself, spotless.
The food was good, with plenty of choice for everyone. A slight disappointment that Hubbs couldn't have an omlette for breakfast, but he didn't starve.. The dinner buffets, we found very imaginative, with themed nights,.
The all inclusive drinks package was not as inclusive as some hotels that we have stayed at, for instance, you had to pay a small price for sherry,Malibu and, some other drinks that at other hotels, would be included in the package.
It was very quiet when we were there, but, the staff were very friendly and made time for you, especially the restaurant staff..
There was just one thing that we didn't like. Outside, there are a couple of stalls set out on the patio, that sold bric a brac. We would have liked to sit and have a quiet drink, but one of the stalls made very annoying noises, which made that quite difficult ..
Apart from there being nowhere to park, (made worse, for us, by us arriving on a 'fiesta day) the hotel is a good choice we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PaulaValleSanLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear PaulaValleSanLorenzo:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is central to the resort, great if you have any walking difficulties restaurant times are great and the food is good and varied, plenty to keep anyone satisfied. The staff are always helpful and pleasant even the Real Madrid supporter! The sunbathing area has plenty of sunbeds, though they could do with upgrading, and the pool is large and the water is warm. We do not stay in the hotel at night-time but there appears to be plenty of entertainment. My wife and I have been quite a few times and have already re-booked for next winter. The clientel are generally of the older variety during the winter so the entertainment is tailored towards this age group. The rooms are comfortable, modern and are cleaned daily. The receptionists are always helpful and all the staff, cleaners, waiters etc are always pleasant and greet you with a smile.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Zaragossadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear guest:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
It is also time to inform you that we are upgrading the sunbeds. All the materials are already arrived.
Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned from Tenerife after staying at the Hotel Catalonia, The hotel is fine its been around for a long time and its a little tired, could do with a good tidy up round the stairs area and dont get hold of the hand rails or you will trap your fingers.
The food is OK and the rooms clean and tidy, also the staff are first class and friendly.
Please note there is no fridge in the rooms or a kettle, we asked if we could have a kettle at the desk but got a grunt from the elderly lady at reception. the men at reception are great but the lady needs a wide berth.
The main problem with this hotel and its not their fault is the night time noise outside the hotel it goes on till after four a.m. two disco's and very tall buildings around the hotel causes the noise to echo, and when I say noise I mean very loud noise, ear plugs are required but may not work.
On the good side it is in a prime spot for ease to the old town, which is in shade on an evening caused by all the tall hotels around.

Room Tip: Dont have a room looking over the pool its very noisy in the early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Goadsbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Goadsbarrow:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just spent a week at the Catalonia Las Vegas. Overall the hotel was very good. I found the food to be varied and plentiful and of good quality, especially the grill. Mealtimes were calm unhurried affairs. The room was clean, comfortable and modern. We had a terrace sea view room on the 9th floor and the views were fantastic. The pool area was a perfect sun trap (when the sun came out) and had sunshine for most of the day. With the easy access to public transport the location was great for excursions to places such as Loro Parque and Mount Teide and for strolls along the coastline. Staff there were always helpful and friendly especially at reception. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasonlindop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, Gerente at Catalonia Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear guest:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,

Juan Carlos G. Marín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#8 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
Be Live Adults Only Tenerife
#37 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#9 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Vegas

Address: Avenida Colon 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $78 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Vegas 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Vegas could not be better situated: directly at the sea, in front of the Martinez Lakes and with views of Teide mountain. Furthermore, it is located in the very centre of the city of Puerto de la Cruz. The hotel was recently renovated in 2004 and has 261 rooms on its 13 floors. The hotel has a heated swimming pool, children's swimming pool, miniature golf, table tennis, pool, petanque, sauna, beauty salon, coffee bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Vegas Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Catalonia Las Vegas Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing