We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a lovely location”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our second stay at the Tenerife Playa and once again we were not disappointed. The choice in the restaurant was excellent and you could always have a different choice morning and evening. We loved looking out over the ocean at a window table - although it was very busy when we stayed it was still made enjoyable at meal times by good waiting staff alongside the buffet facilities. Our room was on the 9th floor and had lovely view over the pools and the to the ocean and lidos on the front. We did miss having a balcony but new from previous times that rooms are set out without these on standard room basis, there is a balcony you can use at the end of each corridor. We shall be back maybe paying a bit more for a junior suite with a balcony!

Room Tip: A high up room has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays, and we will be pleased to be welcoming you again in a next visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    631
    271
    110
    46
See reviews for
363
915
67
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

we had 2 weeks from 13th june found everything about hotel very good except towells on sun beds and people not showing up to use them for hours this is not a good practice.Special mention for miranda she is brilliant and we joined in with activities and enjoyed them as her enthusiasm rubs off on everybody.Location is perfect and the food was very good with plenty to choose from we will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: we asked for high floor and we liked what we got on 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anderson1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for you kind comments in Tripadvisor, that we will share with all the staff, espcially with Miranda.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays, and we are pleased to know you intend to come back next year.
We appreciate your suggestions about the pool organization, and we will consider them for next improvements.

Best regards



Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel and cannot fault it at all. From check in to check out all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Miranda who runs the animation is nothing short of amazing, although it must be said that she needs more staff ( how she keeps going ). The restaurant was fantastic with lovely views out over the bay, as for the God. . ..WOW!!! So much choice!!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Maybe a pool view room would be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, which we will share with all the staff.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays, and we hope you will soon come and visit us again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Lovely hotel with really good food. Unfortunately only got two days there as I had to return to England as my daughter was suddenly taken ill. Natalia on reception was great, booking our flight and taxi back to the airport. We both agree that we will go back as soon as we can and have the holiday we wanted. This time we will take the girls too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We hope your daughter is feeling better, and we hope you will soon come back and spend a whole holiday here with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

arrived 17th june for another 2 lovely weeks at the tenerife playa. It started with a phone call to Snr Isidoro to request our favourite rooms - thank you sir. Sandra and rosie and all the reception staff are so helpful and are always a pleasure to see. Delphina our maid always greets us with a hug - Fantastic. The restaurant managers are just brilliant. The changes they have made in the year since they took over are a clear improvement, even considering how good it was anyway. The bar waiters take the trouble to give superb service. Too many to name but a big "thank you " To all of you . Miranda does a great job on entertainments.
The hotel manager is clearly a devoted, service driven man. He heads a brilliant hotel. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: pay the extra for balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alanandanneowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, which we will share with all the staff.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holidays here with us, and we will be pleased to be welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited 17th June 2014 for a week.

This is an excellent Spanish hotel, situated right on the promenade front as close to the Atlantic Ocean as is possible. With very little noise from either street noise or hotel guests (after midnight).

The hotel has a high standard of cleanliness, the staff are friendly and helpful at all times. The two pools (one colder than the other) are excellent. A minor irritation is hotel guests putting their 'towels' on the beds at 8am, and then not using them until well after lunchtime. This needs reviewing by the hotel staff, with a strict 2 hour non-usage removal to give fairness to guests.

The restaurant has stunning views of the bay whilst eating, again the staff were very helpful. The food could do with 'country themed nights', or at least variation rather than the bland non variety presented of paella, chips, pork or veal. Very little chicken was cooked whilst there (for example).

We stayed in a room on the third floor with a balcony. I would recommend a balcony. The air conditioning worked, which was a pleasant change, and the cleaners were excellent.


Overall no complaints at all, I will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind opinion and suggestions in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in general, and we will consider your suggestion to improve in the aspects you indicate.
We are happy to know you intend to come and visit us again, and we are looking forward to welcoming you.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Spent a week here in early June and after a delayed start, ( 7 hours at Bristol airport due to a fire!) things were on the up after arriving at 1.30am. We were given a Junior suite on the 4th floor which after waking the following morning revealed a view of the corner of the bay to the left and the street to the right. We didn't have a balcony but our own sun deck which was very nice although it was overlooked by the 4 floors of the hotel on the left hand side and the hotels on the right on the other side of the street, so would probably put a lot of the older folk off as there was no privacy. After breakfast I spoke to Sandra at Reception about our late arrival and questioned her about whether or not I was in the right room as I had joined the H10 Priveledge Club after booking. After consulting Thomas Cook on the phone (no rep on site), and the "Management", Sandra offered us a Priveledge Suite on the 7th floor positioned right on the corner of the building which not only overlooked our previous room with the sun deck but had panoramic views over the beach, the rocks and out to sea as far as the eye could see.
The room itself had been refurbished and was very comfortable with a huge bed and lots of living space. On our return from breakfast each morning we were greeted by the smiling Delphina, the maid for our corridor. The restaurant itself was very varied with food for all tastes and was never seen to run out of anything. My personal favourite being a sea food lover, was the local Paella with Prawns, mussels and squid in abundance. The local fish however, although being very tasty, was also very bony! Half board fare was plenty for us, if we go again we would probably go breakfast only food wise, as there are plenty of nearby restaurants within a stones throw of leaving the hotel and turning left. This included French and Chinese as well as the local fare.
The pool area has two almost identical pools, one heated and gets the sun from 9am until 4pm. The other pool is in the shadow of the hotel so that doesn't get the sun until about 1pm. The towels for the sun loungers are distributed by the pool attendants from 8.30am but this doesn't stop the all inclusive guests getting their "pitch" at the crack of dawn so that they can get the sun all day long! We were quite happy to play to the rules and wait for the sun to peer over the rooftop at 1pm on the "other" side of the pool. Until then the wife would go and do her shopping up the promenade and I would listen to music, do a few crosswords and swim in the cooler pool, which wasn't cold, just not heated.
On the entertainment side, we missed Bingo on the Friday night due to our late arrival! Saturday night was a good nights entertainment and the rest of the evenings we missed as we were either out for a walk or too tired after a hard day's people watching by the pool. A special mention to Miranda the day time entertainer looking after the all inclusive guests and the kids with her many sports and leisure activities from dawn till dusk..... what energy!!
On summing up; there are a few rooms that run along the street, which can sometimes be noisy from neighbouring bars and disco's. However, from talking to other guests, if you do get a room that is not to your liking, then a polite word with Sandra or one of her colleagues and they will do their very best to find you an alternative room. One fact not mentioned in any reviews that I have read so far. If you can't get your "pitch" by the pool for all day sunbathing, there is a sun deck that runs east to west for 30mtrs on the 6th floor and hardly anybody uses it! Happy days.

Room Tip: Ask for either a poolside room or sea view. If you don't you will probably get one by the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodside455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for your kind comments and your very good description of everything, which will be very helpful for other travellers. We will share your comments with all our staff, especially with Miranda, and Delfina and Sandra, as you kindly appreciated their service with nice words.
We really hope you will visit us again and hope you will enjoy our hotel again as much as this time, or more if possible, as we are always working to improve our service.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Property: H10 Tenerife Playa
Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing