We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but definately aimed at the older generation”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

As a couple in our 30s we were looking for some reasonable rest and relaxation in early sept, but still in a resort with a bit of life.
The hotel itself is in a good seafront location and is well presented, clean and comfortable. Food was plentiful and varied. Our room was spacious but at the back of the hotel above the bar and looking out onto the road which was disappointing and noisy. (A room with a balcony was another £200, excessive given the already costly weeks half board price tag) Our double room was two very uncomfortable single beds pushed together n the shower wasn't the best. Cleanliness was to a good standard. The pool area was nice, although a bit of background music wouldn't have gone a miss. Towels provided and lifeguard always present. Pool was a bit chilly n weather overcast thought our stay (apparently this is typical for northern tenerife) but still pleasant enough.
The thing that really let this place down was the entertainment. There is a strong 'saga' feel to this hotel and everything is clearly geared to the older guest..the organ and ballroom dancing in the evening was tedious to say the least and the professional shows very poor. Daytime was French bowls and archery and had the same following day after day.
Thomas cook were non existent..even on the 70 quid transfer to the resort to which they jus put us on a clapped out minibus and said if we needed anything we would need to ring the office. The driver spoke no English and we had to change to another bus half way on the journey that would make it up the steel hills.
Overall, it's a great, clean, well maintained hotel but a little too quiet for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that some aspects of the hotel did not meet your expectations, and we will consider all the points ti improve our service. Thank you for your kind opinion about the food and the cleaning service.
We hope to be able to receive you again in the future to offer you an improved service.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited this hotel with the confidence that most of the reports on this site were good. Our experience was not! On arrival we found that the hotel was badly in need of refurbishment. It appears that the walls have been recently painted, but all the fixtures & fittings are old & shabby.
we had booked 2 rooms. one had air con which was not working properly & the other unit leaked. Our bed had a horrific creak every time you moved & the bathroom & balcony had paint peeling & black mould. The curtains fell down when we tried to close them & one of the wall lights was hanging off the wall.

We tried to change rooms, but were told the hotel was full & there were 10 other requests for room changes.We did get the bed changed but were told the air con was working ok which it was not.

On the plus side, the pool area seemed to be well kept & the staff in the restaurant & bar did a very good job. The bar area is pleasant & the drinks were well presented.
There is the usual fight for sunbeds around the pool area, which is not large enough, & most of the sunbeds only get sun for part of the day, due to the high buildings surrounding the area.

We were placed on a higher floor & had to use the antiquated lifts which smelt of sewage on many occasions.

We have been to many hotels all over the world & rate this particular one as one of the worst.
I should also mention the food, which was quite limited & would not want to have stayed longer than a week.

During our stay myself & my wife suffered with bad stomachs & this has continued on our return. This was our first visit to a H10 hotel & probably our last!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms having a pool view get late afternoon sun on the balcony. Take plenty of imodium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonoffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your opinion in Tripadvisor.
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, and we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We are always trying to improve our service, and we will keep into consideration all your comments.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peiando
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been to this Hotel on Numerous occasions over the last 15 years, and we went again for the first week of October 2012 after a Break..As the Title Says we weren't disappointed, The Hotel was as Good as ever, Great Location, The Rooms were good, The Buffet Restaurant was good, with plenty of Choice and the Staff were very Friendly, My wife and I were so pleased we are returning on the 22/09/2013. Lets hope we will be as pleased, I'll will update

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a few days.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two weeks here in April 2013. Good position. The Hotel is right on the Sea Front Promenade, and overlooks the Swimming Pools complex for which Puerto de la Cruz is famous, Spacious rooms, complete with all facilities. Immediately offered free White Sparkling Wine when booking in. Porter quickly available to handle baggage. Buffett Meals in a superb large light & airy Dining Room. Absolutely everything you can think of on the buffett. Vodka & Caviar always available for breakfast. Two outdoor pools in good gardens, but a little cramped for sun bathing. However, a good sun bathing area on the roof (6th floor) of one arm of the hotel. 10th floor for nudists
The swimming Pool Complex - 7 pools built into, say, 100 acres of a rocky beach - well worth a visit. Minimal charge for sun-beds, and lots of food & drink outlets..Port & town within walking distance.. Take a day out and visit Mount Teide. Take another day out at the Zoo. A great place to stay. I am an Octogenarian, and will return. John. S. G.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor and for the good descriptions which will be very useful for other travellers.
We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel in general, and we are really pleased you are thinking of coming back.

Looking forward to welcoming you, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week in August. I have chosed it mostly because of its location near Lago Martianez and that was actually what I was most satisfied with.
The room was quite big with nice balcony and great view at the ocean and Lago Martianez. It had a/c, tv and safe box (at extra charge and with the key, which is not very convenient).
For the 4 star hotel, however, I would expect it to be better kept. It was clean, but clearly the rooms and the hotel need a refurbishment. Stafff seems quite tired and bored.
I was very satisfied with breakfast and dinner. The hotel restaurant is quite nice and the choice of the meals was very good.
Free WiFi is available, but only in the lobby.
With Lago Martianez so close, I didn't spend time at hotel pools, since they are quite small and really nothing special.
There is also beach near the hotel,it doesn't have sunbeds or umbrellas and since it tends to be quite windy, the ocean is not always suitable for swimming. If you would like to spend time on beach, Playa Jardin is better choice, although it's 15-20 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank January27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor, which will be very useful for us.
We are sorry you did not find the hotel and the surroundings exactly as you expected, and we will consdier your suggestions in order to improve.
We are really pleased you liked the breakfast and dinner food and service.

We hope we will have the possibility to receive you again as Guests in the future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel it's only downfall was it enough sunbeds, just a good job the was a brilliant place just over the promenade with 4 salt water pools and hundreds of sunbeds. All this was at extra cost but you could pay in advance.

The rooms were very spacious but the ones in the main building had no balcony. We love on a night to have a drink and a game of cards on the balcony. The food was very nice an varied and the service was excellent. Very limited night time entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are sorry you did not completely enjoy your holidays here with us, and we will consider your opinion to introduce some imporvements in these matters.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I spent Last Christmas and new year at the h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel We had a very nice room over looking the lido which was serviced every day by friendly staff, The restaurant Manager and staff were very efficient and the choice of food could not be faulted. There was entertainment every night. I would also like to mention the reception staff I found all the receptionists and concierge most helpful and I would recommend this hotel. We are looking forward to returning for this Christmas and New Year
Malcolm T

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments about our hotel in Tripadvisor, which we will share with all our staff. Our mission is to make our Guests enjoy their holiday , and we are very pleased that this has been successful in you case.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next Christmas.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#23 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $95 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing