We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

if like us you book on line or a late deal to this hotel please be aware that you will not have a balcony and will more than likely be placed on the ground floor where there is very little day light in the room. If you have an even numbered room you will overlook dark gardens,however an odd numbered room will have a poolside outlook which is considerable better.A room with a balcony will cost 17euros per day this, you are not told when you are booking your holidays HAVING said this the beds are extremely comfortable and the restaurant is superb,plus if you are all inclusive,the selection of branded drinks is exceptional Now I would also like to point out that IF you have a problem that may need medical attention the hotel will point you in the direction of a private clinic or doctor in which will have to pay and your EHIC card will not be accepted! . There is however a medical center (urgencia) near the Bus Station( any chemist near will direct you there), and with the most minimum of Spanish required.you will receive excellent free medical attention with your EHIC and your passport !!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with even numbers are to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor and all the suggestions you give to other travellers.
We have different room types at the hotel, and we are always willing and pleased to give all kind of informatios by mail or telephone to any Guest who intends to book in our hotel.

Thank you again

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    536
    226
    97
    36
See reviews for
316
763
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is in great location and is good for couples and those with mobility problems. Not so great for loan female travellers tho as most staff tend to favour you less than couples or people with kids. The Maetradees at the restraunt were loverly though and were extremely helpful throughout. Rooms are a good size and very clean with a range of pillows for comfort.
I was extremely ill after eating the paella and spent two days in my room. I was unable to venture anywhere!!! I ordered room service but had difficulty communicating my needs/requests to the staff on duty which was extremely frustrating. Without taking this fiasco into account , i found the rest of the amenities to be good. Maybe needed more info for loan travellers on where everything is located .. Eg Towel Station and pool toilets (which i only found on the last day!!).
Despite all the aforementioned , this would not put me off returning to this hotel .... but only as a couple !! Need to brush up on some areas regarding English and loan travellers though. And like i said .... Avoid the paella !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grovesy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for coments in Tripadvisor, which we will share with our staff.
Regarding the paella, we are sorry about what happened to you, but we must inform you that this is really surprising for us, as we have an official health and safety system in the hotel, and nobody else reported having had problems of this kind.

Thank you again, and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the hotel and can only speak good of our experience. We read the reviews beforehand and were conscious that some reviews were mixed. I can assure anyone who has booked, that this is a special hotel with a warm, welcoming feel.. I was sad to leave. The room was clean and the balcony overlooked the pool which was very pleasant. We had a junior suite and the third bed was broken. We advised reception who sent a maintenance man up within a few minutes which was impressive, however the maintenance man never came back to fix it and I had to fix it myself. Although one could find faults with the decor I think this is irrelevant and nitpicking and missing the point of the hotel entirely.
Special mention must go to the beds and especially the pillows which are so, so comfortable.. Where do they get those pillows from!
Food was varied, plentiful and catered for all tastes. At breakfast you could have champagne and caviar if you so desired, but the bacon and omelettes were gorgeous! The restaurant is beautiful with amazing wall to ceiling glass which gave incredible views.
The bars were stylish and offered a range of cocktails.. All the waiters and bar staff were polite, friendly, helpful and happy. We stayed all inclusive and it was a joy not having to worry about what to,eat and where.
The location of the hotel is ideal, the wide pedestrianised promenade is filled with cafes and shops.. Perfect for the shopaholics!
Special mention must go to Miranda for her enthusiastic and welcoming animation. Daytime activities were fun and included Archery, pétanque, rifle shooting, and aqua aerobics. She also runs entertainment on alternate nights and we enjoyed bingo, quizzes and a "You Bet" games night. Being multi lingual meant she was able to bring together residents of all nationalities and. By the end of the week you felt you had made a family of friends.. This was what really made the stay enjoyable and, in my view, makes the nit-picking and fault finding irrelevant. It was the staff, the fellow residents and the happy feel of the hotel which made my holiday enjoyable and I can forgive the wood chip wallpaper, broken bed and the poor wi-fi.
In summary: comfortable beds, clean rooms, good restaurant, good bar, friendly staff and fun activities.. Would definitely recommend and would happily go back :)

Room Tip: Personally I would prefer the room facing the pool rather than the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cromerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel, ehich we will share with all the staff, especially with Miranda. We are pleased you found a good atmosphere and that you had a pleasant and relaxed holiday. We apologize for the incident about the bed, and will find out why the maintenance did not come back to you.
We hope to be welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHolland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. We booked through first choice and expected a very nice modern hotel. Unfortunately when we arrived we were placed in a ground floor room due to not booking a balcony. On speaking to reception the following morning we were gladly moved to a room in the main building which looked over the pool which was lovely.

Great location with idyllic views at the front, plus lovely walk along the promenade in the evening.

Rooms and hotel in general are very dated and could do with a modernisation, although hotel itself is nice and I would recommend.

We went on an all inclusive basis which was nice, food ok although I didn't feel too much choice especially at lunch. Drinks good.

Pool area lovely and picturesque.

All in all a good hotel although with a little t.l.c it could be better. There is not much to do in Puerto De La Cruz however if you want a relaxed week away then this is ideal

Room Tip: If you want a balcony then you need to do this when booking and pay a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconvenience about the first room, and we are pleased you liked the one you were allocated when you asked for the change. We are working days after day to improve in the details you indicate, hoping to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we stayed at the tenerife playa28th may till 4th june.the weather wasnt brilliant but hotel very good.our room was spotless cleaned everyday.the pool area very good.infact the whole hotel very clean.bar service spot on.we were on all inclusive and all main brands on alcohol.staffvery good good from cleaners barstaff towelmen round the pool to management.meals very good and plenty of variety.we would definately stay here again..my only moan is dress code for men long trousers should be worn for dinner.everynite there were a few men in shorts and they were never told.management need to sort that.or no code should be in force.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. We will consider your suggestion about the dress code.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just got back from a week at the Tenerife playa, we were really disappointed with this hotel, have stayed in better and cheaper, we requested a high floor room, and we're given one on the ground floor, no sun at all because of the trees and shrubs around the pool area, only one plug socket behind the tv, our room was very dark and very cold, we had to put the thick blankets on the bed, the staff attitude was unfriendly, even on reception, the food was plentyfull but repetitive, if you like pork, French fries, and packet mash, you are ok, the same soup was on at lunch and dinner for 4 days, breakfast was ok there was bacon eggs baked beans if you wanted them. The entertainment was ok, lots of dancing, the resident duo were good, and the professional acts good. The hotel itself is in a superb location, but there are lots of steps along the promenade if you have walking difficulties, the loro parc is a must do, a fantastic day out, and is free to get there on the little train, and if you buy your tickets before you go you don't have to queue to get in, we really enjoyed our holiday in puerto de la cruz, and would go again, BUT, not to this hotel. This hotel would benefit from a make over, it is a bit shabby, corridor carpets not fitted to walls, and glasses a crockery left hanging about in corridors for days before anyone moved them, and there were quite a few cockroaches about the corridors,

Room Tip: Avoid the ground and first floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurasgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are sorry you did not find the facilities at the hotel as you expected. We will consider all the indications in order to improve our service. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences we might have caused.

Best regards

Alfonso Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tenerife Playa is a wonderful hotel with very friendly staff, great location & sea view, delicious dinner made by very apt chefs. taxis and buses right next to it... I'm totally a fan! I've stayed there more than 10 times already and definitely will stay there next year as well. The cuisine in the restaurant is getting more and more exquisite from year to year (dinner especially!), the room is always clean, the ocean is literally 30 steps away. You can enjoy a great view from the terrace on the 10th floor in the night or enjoy some very nice cocktails in the bar with the live music and artistic shows.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the garden and pools are quieter, those on the 2nd floor can be a bit damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comments in Tripadvisor, that we will share with all the staff.
We are pleased you find our hotel so comfortable and and we will always be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Aguilas
Hotel Las Aguilas
#8 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Property: H10 Tenerife Playa
Address: Avenida Colon 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing