We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, right on the sea front”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Tenerife Playa for a week in January and found it to be very comfortable, clean and welcoming indeed. The champagne at Reception on arrival was a very welcome touch, especially after a long plane journey, then a mini-bus from the airport. I have noted some negative comments about one particular receptionist who seemed rude, but I found her very helpful. Her manner was indeed a little 'brusque' but she had very good English and had a good knowledge of her job. I don't think she intended to insult anyone, it is just her manner. Certainly a smile here and there would have been welcomed especially by new arrivals. The male receptionists were cheerful and the older one (I didn't get his name!) was more than helpful when we needed to visit a dentist late on a Saturday evening. He made various attempts to contact a dentist but none available at this time of a weekend. He did, however, contact a chemist and explained what we needed, called a taxi and we eventually got sorted.

We found the people of Puerto de la Cruz to be very friendly and this also applied to the staff in the hotel, from the waiters to the cleaners. There was a wide range of food available and sometimes we had to queue for a table, but not for more than a few minutes. The restaurant is buffet service, so it is to be expected that people will be wandering around from place to palce, deciding what to choose. Those who do not like this system might be better to opt for hotels with waiter service. We did not have a problem, everyone got fed in the end and it was easy to talk to other guests on either side of us, if the language was not a problem. The waiters do a very good job here also, they are very busy as it is quite a large dining room. Quite a mix of nationalities catered for in the hotel, amongst them German, French, English, Irish, Scottish and Welsh.

The pool area is beautifully surrounded by lush gardens, and there are plenty of sunbeds
both around the pool and in the little areas in the sections behind the garden area. Towels provided free, just keep the little cards you get at Reception on arrival, and present them to the staff at the pool.

The bedroom was a sufficient size for two people. The beds were very, very comfortable, firm (the way we like them!) and extra blankets were also available in the wardrobe. The shower had great power, so no complaints there. Only negative side was the balconies were not 'screened', no privacy from either side balconies. We had a gorgeous view out over the lido and the sea, which was rough and was enjoyed by lots of surfers. It was a lovely scene to watch. Pity the weather was not so kind to us. But the town of PdlC is lovely to walk around and the old town in particular provided lots of character and atmosphere.
We found a great Irish pub up near the harbour gates, Molly Malones - great music and songs and full of all nationalities.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is in great position, opening out onto the promenade which has pedestrians only.

Certainly a very relaxing week was had by both of us and a big Thank You to all concerned at Tenerife Playa!

Room Tip: Sea view/lido view rooms do not catch the sun, pool view rooms do catch the sun. But the sea view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ballinascreen93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for writing these nice comments in Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your holidays and the hotel. Our main objective is to improve our service day after day.
We hope you will be soon back at the hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this hoteI.t is in a lovely position on the sea front. We were given our room(601). with no balcony only a window. It was like a premier inn.We love to sit on the balcony on an evening and somewhere to dry our swimsuits etc. We Went to reception to be told it would be another 8 euros pppn to move.The receptionist was very miserable and just said NO. We saw the Thomson rep the following morning and she went to reception and said sorry they wont budge. We asked for the manager who was on days off and told no relief manager was available. Eventually they rang the managers receptionist at home and I was on the phone about 30 minutes with her. It was Thomson and reception blaming each other. They said the hotel was full, but when we said if we paid would they have a balcony she said yes, so they were contradicting themselves. I even threatened to move hotels, I was so upset. After about 2 hours they offered us room 552 a lovely room with a view and a balcony. At last we moved at no cost. We had E. mailed the hotel and so had Thomson to ask for a balcony after reading a review before we went. We booked the holiday last August and a couple of girls who arrived with us booked 2 weeks before and got a balcony. The hotel, food cleaners and rooms were great but reception were very rude and didnt even acknowledge people when passing or waiting for any querie. I felt no respect and other nationality clients were treated better and prioratised.So beware if going to this hotel and make sure the small print on your booking forms are clear. We have had many hotel holidays for over 30 years and never experienced this problem.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in dark and dingy places. Rooms ending 01 to 07 on all floors have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happy736833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a lovely hotel right on the seafront. Rooms are well kept but bathrooms tired now.Public areas eg pool area bright & pleasant..The staff are very helpful.
Good choice on buffet menu at breakfast & dinner but the queues at dinner were sometimes trying..& the waiters had to rush around.
The hotel opens on to the promenade where ther's a nice walk to town or beach.The town square is lively at night-always some music or entertainment to enjoy.
The bus service is good too.

Room Tip: Choose away from the front as no sun there on yr. balcony[rooms220etc.] Those on a higher floor ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spender49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dera Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor about our hotel, and all the useful information about the area you gave the readers who might be interested in coming to our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfosno E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

beautifull hotel lovely rooms very clean shampoo and shower gel replaced every day. No queing to go into dining room food excellent so much choice .one little complaint waiters dont smile very much. the rest of the staff wonderful cant do enough for you.THe position of the hotel is gt .We have stayed in H10 hotels before and allways been happy we had a gt holiday with all the little extra treets they spoil you with like champange on arrival and fresh fruit on reception.the reception staff cant do enough for you will be returning next year hoping to do week in North and week in South. We did lots of great walks even though we are pensioners.Thankyou so much to all staff especially Michia sorry if I spelt it wrong Colin and Maureen North WalesA

Room Tip: we were on 8th floor we requested high floor not dissapointed sea and pool view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaymakerwales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased you liked the hotel and that you spent a nice holiday here with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again, we remain

Yours faithfully

Alfosno E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

just ret from a week in this hotel, although booked in august it was not my first choice, but all the other hotels i looked at were fully booked.

this was meant to be a break after the xmas rush, and it was my birthday the day before we flew out. however an hour before we landed my partner took ill, and as this is an existing condition , we knew he would be bedridden for 3-4 days!! just what we needed for a relaxing break.

so for a few days, whilst he was recovering, a friend who lives in puerto, used to come round and have dinner with me on an evening, the food was varied and of very good quality, the only thing was the restaurant was very busy and at times was like a cattle market. this was also the first hotel ide stayed in that you have to wait to be seated for breakfast, however despite a disastrous start went on to have a good holiday.

the reception staff were not very friendly, but otherwise staff were good.

the room wasnt the best either (339) it was at the end of a little walkway, so your patio was overlooked by the walkway, and the entrance door to this corridor was right outside our room, and it was a fire exit door, so when people were closing it, it just banged.

to top off the holiday, the day we came back, our flight was cancelled due to the snow, but to thonson credit we put up in a lovely 5 star spar hotel at the sensatori resort , read about that one in my next review

Room Tip: dont have room 339 lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
We will consider all the suggestions you gave in order to improve the service of our hotel.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the above hotel and enjoyed every minute.
My wife is disabled suffering from M/S so walking is difficult,but the staff were so kind and helpful it didn`t seem a problem,well done everybody,we will certainly return

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your kind comments in Tripadvisor.
It will be a pleaseure to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from the Tenerife playa this is a nice hotel in a good location the rooms & (especially the bathroom) are in need of renovation. The food was lovely with plenty of choice, we chose to upgrade to all inclusive but was very disappointed to find we couldn't have a bottle of sprite with our brandy we had to have the draught wich was very flat & spoiled the drink. We would have bought a bottle but at €2-20 after paying for all inclusive we didn't bother it was the principle of it

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank donnyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife P, Director General at H10 Tenerife Playa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for writing your opinion in Tripadvisor.
We apologize for what happened at the bar, and we will consider the suggestions you indicate in your comments.

Best regards

Alfonso E. Peinado
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de la Cruz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,896 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,757 reviews
25.6 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
Hotel Puerto de la Cruz
#18 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $91 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing