We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Hotel”
Review of H10 Tenerife Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Tenerife Playa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large Hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a short week early in October 2012, we (in our 60s) found this hotel to be all that it said it was: clean, comfortable, good location, clean pools, plentiful food. However, they did not stick to their own rules about "abandoned" towels on sun-loungers being removed if left un-attended, so sun beds were difficult to find later in the day. The food, although plentiful, was all rather bland: variously labelled soups tasted all the same. It all got a bit repetitive after a few days, although there were, technically, variations in the food on offer. In my opinion, they could well cut down the choice and up the actual quality of cooking. I'm sure it's difficult to cater for several hundred diners of several nationalities but well cooked, tasty food is acceptable to anyone; bland, boring unimaginative food is just boring and unimaginative. And the tea and coffee - from a machine - and the cold drinks, from another machine, were poor. And no kettle facilities in the rooms... so we went out for a decent coffee. All-in-all, it wasn't bad and we would consider going there again but, enjoying better food at different restaurants, we missed.

Room Tip: Twas handy having room on the ground floor opening onto the pool area, although it was booked (for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7Wins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    631
    271
    110
    46
See reviews for
363
915
67
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we recently had a ten day holiday at this hotel, we arrived at 10pm, at checking in the receptionist was very rude, curt, and arrogant, no cava for us, we were given room 127, ground floor, we had requested a high floor, were told the hotel was full, and told her we wouldn't unpack and ask to be m0ved the following morning, she said and i quote "the answer will be the same, the hotel is full ", the room was 10yards from reception area, and ten yards from the bar and outside seating area, but only a short walk to the pool, to which the paths were not very clean, nor the pool area, in our room the bathroom needed refurbishing, rather tacky, the dinning room was very busy, seated 340, not enough for the number of guests this hotel has, the food was not what you expect for 4*, some of the waiters were misserable, but also some were lovely, it goes without saying we will not be paying another visit to the H10, but resort was very good, and we found lovely places to have a drink and cup of tea, the Cafe de Paris excellant, evening music v good.

Room Tip: not the ground floor, ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris190739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just returned from 7 days in beautiful Puerto de la Cruz staying at the wonderful H10 Playa Tenerife. Never having visiting Puerto before, we were thrilled by the hotel and the warm welcome we received. Small touches like a glass of cava on arrival really make the difference. We were delighted by the room - a double with a sea facing balcony. The room was well-appointed, clean and airy with a lovely en-suite bathroom.
Staff throughout the hotel were friendly, professional and efficient. We stayed half-board, which we probably wouldn't opt for - largely because there are so many lovely places to eat in Puerto. All meals are buffet options, which could be a bit hit and miss. It was fine for breakfast though - with omelettes etc being cooked fresh to order.
The pool area is wonderful - clean, well-maintained and sun-drenched for most of the day. Comfortable loungers are plentiful and hotel towels are on loan throughout the stay. Some reviews have said that the hotel is past its best - we saw no evidence of this. From the very impressive reception/foyer, through to all the communal areas and our room - everything was first rate.
In addition, the location of the H10 is a massive draw - directly opposite the Lago Martianez, a simply beautiful sea water lido, which feels like a luxurious addition to the hotel's facilities. The view of the beach and crashing waves was a delight and a treat to listen to as we drifted to sleep.
We adored Puerto, on this our first visit, and will return many times. And having H10 as a perfect base is ideal...

Room Tip: The sea facing room was fabulously relaxing and a balcony is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

very impressed considering adverse comments.staff very helpfull hotel spotless,Room 418 great view of Lago martianez and sea front.My first visit too Puerto de la cruz with H10 hotels.Previous H10 holidays [ 7 times] in the south , this holiday rates better.

Room Tip: room 418 ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

enjoyed week here 13th oct 2012.beutiful central location.breathtaking views. we had 3 choices of rooms on arrival.2 with balcony-decided not to have as extra cost-plus balconies not private-could see through to meighbouring balconies.
our room 8th floor overlooking pool. could lie on bed and overlook breathtaking views of sea.
room spotless, cleaned daily.lovely ,maid nena.yes, room dated but no probs.all inclusive- food absolutely fantastic. always fresh plenty of choice.hot, tasty, fantastic variety-something for everyone.well done to chefs and restaurant staff.all inclusive drinks- smirnoff vodka-strong measures. excellent. cockatils etc.amazing.never done all inclusive before-really glad we did.had expected to eat out a couple of nights but didnt need to.only had lunch once-in poolside bar area.restaurant beautiful-huge-spotless.linen napkins at dinner.self service drinks wine, sangria etc all inclusive, or waiter service drinks off menu-at cost.took long linen trousers for my husmand to wear but no problems wearing long smart shorts for dinner(was worried about this)
we used sun bed terrace on 6th floor.plastic sun beds and shaded area-excellent.went for swim in pool about 5pm as all sun beds taken-or rather sel;fish folk using towels ,taking up beds all day-this needs to be addressed-free towels to use.
outside hotel amazing waves to right side of hotel=surfers nice to sit on benches and watch-
to keft lovely walk along prom area right up to old town,bars restaurants etcmost picturesque area we've ever visited.the lago-lido area opposite amazing too.11e for 2 for the day-beds brolly. biggest swimming area i have ever seen. lovely.
all in all fab area and hotel. spent weeks looking for this and glad i chose h10.best located hotel in puerto de la cruz

Room Tip: chose high floor overlooking pool.we emailed manager before going asking for sea view with balcony.h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Overall a pretty good choice! Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean and overall the hotel is in good shape. Fantastic view of lago martianez and the ocean from my room. It's true that it is not like the resorts in the south of the island, but that was better for me. Weather had periods of cloudiness (which can sometimes be a nice break), but the sun broke through every day. I didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment. It's at one edge of the boardwalk so perfect views and ocean noise without lots of bar/tourist noise, yet near enough to all the action. It's location in front of Lago martianez really makes this a good choice (pic attached). I got a good price and I think early June is not the most expensive so it was great for what I paid.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice hotel located right on the seafront promenade.Stayed here 30/09/2012 to 14/10/2012 on half board basis as we thought the extra cost of all inclusive was not worth it as we are not big drinkers and were not bothered about the lunchtime meal.Booked room overlooking the pool as that is where the sun is in the evening and nice to sit out on the balcony in the evening.Rooms are a good size with plenty of storage room and can have a fridge if you want to pay for it.Food was good in restaurant on second floor overlooking the sea but can get really busy at times.Exchange rate in hotel was 1.04 euros to the pound but you got 1.20 euros to the pound in the town.Went for walks in the evening so cannot really comment on the entertainment that was laid on.We had no issues with the hotel and would have no problem staying here again some time in the future.

Room Tip: If you want the sun in the afternoon and evening then choose a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#12 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tenerife Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tenerife Playa

Property: H10 Tenerife Playa
Address: Avenida de Colon, 12, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tenerife Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in northern Tenerife along the coastal town of Puerto de la Cruz, the H10Tenerife Playa stands in a prime location on the pedestrian promenade in front of the famous Lago Martiánez, just 50 metres from the sea. The hotel’s complete facilities include swimming pools, a varied array of dining options and meeting rooms for any type of event. In addition, the hotel now offers Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your H10 Tenerife Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tenerife Playa Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa Puerto De La Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing